We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy, cafe style asian food”

Mango Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #71 of 175 Restaurants in Nelson
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: Indian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in the heart of Nelson CBD. Mango Nelson offers the perfect venue for a quick lunch, gathering with friends and family, corporate dinner or dinner just for the two of you.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, cafe style asian food”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Food ok. Not much of an atmosphere in the restaurant (feels more like a cafe) and to me ambiance is as important as the food for the whole eating experience. Curry ok but a bit bland despite asking for medium hot

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dolly070759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    23
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“unimaginable flavours”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This place has some of the most unique and unimaginable flavours of ice cream. Without tasting them, I would never think they would taste anything but "yuck' mixed in ice cream, but somehow they come across as divinely inspired. Truly amazing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lunchtime”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have had the naanwich from here a few times and it is a great quick lunch to have in or takeaway. Also the lunch curry deals are a good option too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NixieGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Mango Chicken-licious”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

loved the mango chicken, butter chicken average, perfect naan. look forward to trying a new dish next time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank nAndyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Mango - Richmond branch”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We went here on a weekday night and used a grabone voucher which meant the standard menu was not utilised. There were several other tables in use and also customers were turning up for take aways. The curries were great and correctly labelled as I had a medium one and my wife had a mild one. We also had a garlic naan bread which was huge - one was sufficient for 2 people. Overall a good dining experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LandN449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Mango Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing