We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimberley House

Kimberley House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kimberley House
Ranked #26 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

After 3 weeks in New Zealand, the Kimberley House is the location we look back at as having been the nicest place we stayed. James was an extremely helpful and responsive host. The apartment was perfect. Each of the 2 bedrooms had its own bathroom with heated floors and towel warmers. There was a landline we were able to use for our calling card to call overseas, a balcony with a view of the ocean and a great place to catch some sunshine in the afternoon. We would stay here again in a heartbeat! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockon83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

There are three good rooms in this completely self-contained appartment, but the outstanding feature is the breathtaking view from the lounge and balcony.

The entrance to busy Nelson harbour is directly opposite and provides constant interest. Some of the properties on the main road below will be noisy, but Kimbery House is sheltered from this and is quiet at all times

Good food is a short walk away, although the exceptionally well set up kitchen and lovely eating area invite dinning in.

The approach road is steep, but the off-street parking, although tight, is on the same level as the property; making loading and unloading luggage or provisions a simple matter.

Nelson, itself, is a great place to visit and we found plenty to occupy ourselves during our four night stay.

Try it; you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRCOxton_Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Firstly I would like to take the opportunity to say thank you to James who was understanding and flexible regarding the necessary change in our booking.
My mother and I stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment (Kimberley House) for six nights.
We arrived to flowers on the table and spectacular views.
The apartment was fantastic with a large furnished balcony overlooking views of the sea and local bush.
The location is a short walk (15 min) into Nelson city and very convenient, alternatively a nice walk on the espionage to the beach (30 min)
The location, size and quality of the apartment are terrific, really spacious. We had plenty of room to spread out and enjoy the evening after a day of sight seeing
The apartment was nicely furnished, spotlessly clean and with all the amenities we could possibly need. The views from the bedroom and lounge windows were spectacular.
I would recommend Kimberley House as a first choice if somebody was thinking of staying in Nelson and I will definitely be returning there myself in the near future.
This is a beautiful property and we had wonderful experience.
Thank you very much James.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karinhalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

The Nelson area is perfect for those who like outdoor living combined with quality local facilities & the 3 bed apartment is an excellent base with marvellous viewing.
The apartment is well equipped but one oe two things need 'refreshing'.
I am sure James & Richard will be attending to these in their usual friendly & efficient manner.

Joy & Andy Pearson

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank andyp7982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TePunaWaiLodge, Manager at Kimberley House, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Many thanks to andyp for his feedback. It's true there were things which needed to be attended to, especially carpet & window cleaning. Back to back long-term bookings had given us no opportunity to have things done between parties &, once they'd arrived, the guests preferred to have their time - in the apartment - undisturbed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

Amazing views and a very spacious apartment.
Extremely well appointed and providing everything you require for a self contained holiday.
Would recommend to family and friends and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChCh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We were originally booked in another apartment however access was compromised due to the floods and slips and the managers very kindly accomodated us at Kimberley House. It was an excellent apartment, well sited with everything we needed. Absolutley fabulous views over the harbour and close to town and all amenities. Very clean and well stocked.We couldn't wish for more and really appreciated the hosts going out of their way to ensure we had a place to stay over the holiday period. Thank you James and Richard.We will definitley return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KayPChCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

We were upgraded to the 3 bedroom apartment and were extremely pleased once we arrived and saw the view - WOW!. The apartment was huge and has everything you'll need for a short or long stay. We will return and will recommend it to all of our friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.0 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Te Puna Wai Lodge
Te Puna Wai Lodge
#1 of 59 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Apartments
Harbour View Apartments
#17 of 43 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Customhouse Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley House

Property: Kimberley House
Address: 25 Victoria Road | Stepneyville, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimberley House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimberley House offers three apartments (1, 2 & 3 bedroom) superbly located in a quiet, tree-lined street within a minutes walk of Nelson’s excellent waterfront dining and a five-minute drive to the town centre. The 3-bedroom apartment has panoramic views of Tasman Bay. The property is managed by James and Richard of Te Puna Wai Lodge, Nelson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kimberley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing