We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free hot chocolate pudding and ice cream”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hostel offers free unlimited Wi-Fi, unlimited Wi-Fi is very very good. Many hostel is charge for wireless network in NZ.except Tasman Bay Backpackers.hehe. We can swim the Internet anytime and anywhere in it. Another is very very enjoy for free hot chocolate pudding and ice cream for everyone.The staff is very friendly & patience in answer any questions about all activities and facilities.We will stay there again for more nights at the next time.

Room Tip: Free Wi-fi is very good.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for Tasman Bay Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 243 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a very nice ensuite room with a lovely courtyard and a table so we were able to sit outside and enjoy the sun. The chocolate pudding at night was really good. There is a large well equipped kitchen ,huge lounge ,friendly hepful people. We would go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

A busy friendly place to stay,great kitchen,and the chocolate padding at night was a real treat. Free wi-fi is a big plus along with close walking distance to city,or beach. Lots of help in directions and things to see. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Call early,there seems lots of workers live there,but very friendly
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hostel stood out from the rest of those I visited in the South Island. Really homey, breezy feel and you can't beat the unlimited free WIFI. Nice big lounge areas that felt very communal. Close walk to the pubs and supermarket.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klalala60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for about three weeks whilst looking for work in Nelson. Everything about the place was quality from start to finish - the staff are real friendly and happy to help, free wifi, free chocolate pudding every day (!), free downloads of movies, free tea and coffee, free salt/pepper/cooking oil (these things matter!) and decent free breakfast.
They even refunded us a nights accomodation when we left earlier than planned!
Overall the best hostel we have stayed in anywhere in NZ (by a mile) - will definitely be recommending it to everyone we know.
Awesome.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJLowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Initially we were booked for two nights. However, our connecting flight was delayed, causing us to miss the long-haul NZ flight only offered once a day. I quickly called Tasman Bay Backpackers making them aware, on short notice, that we would be a day late. The gentleman was EXTREMELY accommodating about it, easing an otherwise unnerving start to a vacation. When we finally did arrive at the hostel, the host again was even more friendly in person. Great atmosphere at this place!
The hostel itself is nicely laid out. We had the private ensuite, which is locating just to the back of the property. My only complaint was the space heater in the individual room turns off by itself after about an hour or so. While temperatures are usually pretty warm to not need a space heater, we happened to be there at a time where the nights got a bit chilly - especially by 2am, after the heater had turned off by itself. The private ensuite also provided towels and individual bars of soap, which was a nice plus. I am sad we didn't make it to the free pudding offered at night, but jetlag sometimes interferes. :)
Overall, this property is very good and not too far out of the main city center (roughly an 8-10 minute easy walk). The walk there was extremely pleasant and very straight forward. I'd recommend this place!

Room Tip: Private ensuite room is in the back corner of the hostel. Keep in mind, there may be a little noise...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in a double room for two nights in winter. They do a late checkout in winter. The facilities were clean and the showers worked very well, the room was nice and the hostel is in a good location (near the highway and the town) and has a few parking spots, but might run out in summer. They do a hot chocolate and cake in the evening, and the communal areas are well organised and cosy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quidity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
673 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 41 in Nelson
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
152 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bug Backpackers
The Bug Backpackers
#5 of 42 in Nelson
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tasman Bay Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasman Bay Backpackers

Address: 10 Weka Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range: $38 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tasman Bay Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fire is roaring, the atmosphere's relaxed, the hostel's warm, spacious yet homely. Just like your favourite café - great music, friendly, genuine people. Free Hot Chocolate pudding & ice cream served every night of the year. Inner sprung mattresses throughout the hostel. Free All you can eat Winter Breakfast (May to November). Free Wireless internet (April to November). Free use of bikes for exploring. Off-street parking. Central but quiet location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tasman Bay Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasman Bay Backpackers Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing