We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly, Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, Friendly, Highly Recommended”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My Girlfriend and i shared a double room, it was very clean and comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped and well presented, the living area had lots of tables and some comfy couches, also there was a fire which really gave the place a warm homely feel. The staff were very nice and friendly, we were provided with free breakfast and a free chocolate cake with ice cream at night. We would defintly come back again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    59
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
86
72
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for about three weeks whilst looking for work in Nelson. Everything about the place was quality from start to finish - the staff are real friendly and happy to help, free wifi, free chocolate pudding every day (!), free downloads of movies, free tea and coffee, free salt/pepper/cooking oil (these things matter!) and decent free breakfast.
They even refunded us a nights accomodation when we left earlier than planned!
Overall the best hostel we have stayed in anywhere in NZ (by a mile) - will definitely be recommending it to everyone we know.
Awesome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJLowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Initially we were booked for two nights. However, our connecting flight was delayed, causing us to miss the long-haul NZ flight only offered once a day. I quickly called Tasman Bay Backpackers making them aware, on short notice, that we would be a day late. The gentleman was EXTREMELY accommodating about it, easing an otherwise unnerving start to a vacation. When we finally did arrive at the hostel, the host again was even more friendly in person. Great atmosphere at this place!
The hostel itself is nicely laid out. We had the private ensuite, which is locating just to the back of the property. My only complaint was the space heater in the individual room turns off by itself after about an hour or so. While temperatures are usually pretty warm to not need a space heater, we happened to be there at a time where the nights got a bit chilly - especially by 2am, after the heater had turned off by itself. The private ensuite also provided towels and individual bars of soap, which was a nice plus. I am sad we didn't make it to the free pudding offered at night, but jetlag sometimes interferes. :)
Overall, this property is very good and not too far out of the main city center (roughly an 8-10 minute easy walk). The walk there was extremely pleasant and very straight forward. I'd recommend this place!

Room Tip: Private ensuite room is in the back corner of the hostel. Keep in mind, there may be a little noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, new zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in a double room for two nights in winter. They do a late checkout in winter. The facilities were clean and the showers worked very well, the room was nice and the hostel is in a good location (near the highway and the town) and has a few parking spots, but might run out in summer. They do a hot chocolate and cake in the evening, and the communal areas are well organised and cosy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quidity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2012

As the title already says... best backpacker in NZ...
Free wifi, chocolate pudding and ice-cream (at 8pm), great and huge kitchen (they have salt and pepper and oil which doesn't seem to be common in nz-backpackers...) nice showers and toilets with the worst jokes i've ever seen. ;) Breakfast is also free (with cereals, milk, toast and jam). We had towels in our room. Walking-distance to the city centre is about 5 minutes. We even got picked up from the bus stop on our arrival. Everything was clean. We've only been there 2 nights in a double bedroom but there was nothing more that we desired.
Awesome!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We liked Tasman Bay Backpackers and would come back. There is free wifi with a large selection of movies available to watch on your computer, a book swap, fireplace, candles on the table at dinner, delicious chocolate pudding (hot fudge chocolate cake w/ ice cream) at 8, towels and soap for each person, etc. etc.. There has been a lot of attention to little details when decorating the hostel and they were appreciated. No loud groups at night, pretty relaxed crowd.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caymantiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

One of the best BBH we've stayed.

Clean shared bathrooms & toilets, clean & neat made bed, tons of kitchen utensils but everything is clean & shiny! Cozy common area with fireplace.

What's the best about it, the owner himself even offer us a lower rate of stay than the one stated on the notice board and us without the BBH card!

In winter, they offered HOT CHOCOLATE and BREAKFAST for free!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ic3_amethyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 41 in Nelson
477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
4.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1.6 mi away
The Bug Backpackers
The Bug Backpackers
#5 of 42 in Nelson
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tasman Bay Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasman Bay Backpackers

Property: Tasman Bay Backpackers
Address: 10 Weka Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tasman Bay Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fire is roaring, the atmosphere's relaxed, the hostel's warm, spacious yet homely. Just like your favourite café - great music, friendly, genuine people. Free Hot Chocolate pudding & ice cream served every night of the year. Inner sprung mattresses throughout the hostel. Free All you can eat Winter Breakfast (May to November). Free Wireless internet (April to November). Free use of bikes for exploring. Off-street parking. Central but quiet location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tasman Bay Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasman Bay Backpackers Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing