We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best NZ hostel I've stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Extremely clean, well equiped in the kitchen (free breakfast currently), good showers and bathroom facilities, heaters in the bedrooms if required, friendly staff. Free choc pudding and ice cream at 8pm - while you won't be looking for the receipe this is a nice touch. Internet terminals and wireless available for purchase. Outside seating. Very close to town.
Loved Nelson, loved this hostel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danzy-Eire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 251 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed here whilst on the Kiwi Experience and without a doubt was not only the best hostel we stayed at in New Zealand, but also the best out of the hostels we stayed at in the last six months! The rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and the whole hostel seemed like a house. We got sick of staying in the chain hostels like Base and Nomads and this was a welcome change, the kitchen has ovens; this doesn't sound too impressive but for the number of hostels that don't, this was a major plus point! Free breakfast (and all you can eat at that) and free chocolate cake at 8pm as well as free tea and coffee we found it impossible to find a thing wrong with this hostel. Games and comfortable sofas in a homely living room too - the best hostel we have stayed in hands down.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We really enjoyed staying in our double room for 3 nights. The room and hostel was comfortable and clean. Very friendly guests as well, chatting and sharing information. My biggest joy was the conversations with the reception staff who answered all my tour questions and questions about life as a Kiwi. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcgilly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This was a lovely little hostel out of town that makes you feel very welcome and relaxed. Free wireless internet (100mb), free chocolate cake with ice cream at 8pm, free bike hire and a big clean kitchen. We would have loved it here but we may have picked the wrong time to stay here. I don't think its often you get 17 teenage girl basketball players staying in the dorms next to our room though! I can't say I blame the girls cos when your that age staying quiet and being considerate is just not an option. I blame their guardians for not keeping them under control. The girls ran riot, running up and down the corridors, shouting and screaming at 11pm while their guardians sat downstairs ignoring them.
Is the owner to blame for allowing them all to stay here at the same time as other backpackers?
I certainly recommend staying here but if your really looking for somewhere quiet then perhaps check there isn't a bit team of teenagers staying at the same time!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fruitloopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My friends and I all really enjoyed our stay at Tasman Bay backpackers in the off season! The "free" breakfast during the winter season isn't much, but it is free. It typically included white bread for toasting, a few cereals and jams. An added bonus is they also have free tea and coffee. They're kitchen was also in pretty good condition. A little crowded around dinner time, but all around decent. The room we stayed in was also quite cozy. It was always warm and the beds were adequate. The icing on the cake was the caring staff! Oh yeah, that, and the free pudding.

Room Tip: The dorm rooms give the best value for your money! They also give you a chance to meet some amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aeroa29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This is a really cool hostel. Probably our favourite in NZ so far. It has good facilities and has a homely feel to it. The free internet is great and a lovely fire too to keep everybody warm. The owner/manager was very helpful and seemed an all round nice guy. Definitely recommend Tasman Bay Backpackers.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Best hostel we have stayed in. Pete and all the staff extremely friendly and helpful, nothing is to much trouble. Pick up from the coach stop too. Large clean room, comfy bed and clean towels. Kitchens, sitting room and bathrooms all spotless. Great atmosphere among the guests. Nelson is probably the most chilled out city in a chilled out country. Free cereals and toast etc for breakfast and the famous chocalate pudding and ice cream on an evening. Overall a fantastic place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteandchris46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.3 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 42 in Nelson
517 reviews
3.3 mi away
Greens Motel Nelson
Greens Motel Nelson
#33 of 42 in Nelson
78 reviews
0.7 mi away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Prince Albert Backpackers
1.6 mi away
The Bug Backpackers
The Bug Backpackers
#5 of 44 in Nelson
222 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Palace Backpackers
The Palace Backpackers
#11 of 44 in Nelson
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tasman Bay Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasman Bay Backpackers

Address: 10 Weka Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range: $20 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tasman Bay Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fire is roaring, the atmosphere's relaxed, the hostel's warm, spacious yet homely. Just like your favourite café - great music, friendly, genuine people. Free Hot Chocolate pudding & ice cream served every night of the year. Inner sprung mattresses throughout the hostel. Free All you can eat Winter Breakfast (May to November). Free Wireless internet (April to November). Free use of bikes for exploring. Off-street parking. Central but quiet location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tasman Bay Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasman Bay Backpackers Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing