We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy environment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2011

+ value for money
+ within walking distance to the centre of NZ (around 20 mins)
+ FREE nice warm choc pudding and vanilla ice cream nightly
+ FREE 50MB Wi-Fi pax
+ Free bike
+ clean and tidy kitchen, cooking utensils, bathrooms, dorm
+ friendly staff
+ nice mini fruit and herb garden
+ stable wooden double-decker bed (not squeaky :)
+ free all-you-can-eat breakfast (milk, cereals, oats, bread, jam)
+ cosy lounge
- mattress too soft for me

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 248 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2011

That's where you have to stay if you stop in Nelson.
Nice people, rooms are clean, quiet, comfortable, and value for money !
Free pudding after dinner ;)
You can leave your luggage at the reception, if you have to move for a few days.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stayed here for one night and our room was on the ground floor and was really great room and bed. Whom ever was staying upstairs summed up our humor with really good chilled music. We forgot about the pudding so no idea what that was like. Only thing I feel is odd that you don't get free wifi. Nice location free parking huge kitchen. Its a nice place

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annemariejl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

We had booked this place for New Years eve and as expected it was crowded. Some people had organized a party that night and the kitchen was full with people preparing for the evening but it was all cleaned up the next morning. We stayed for two nights but missed out on the chocolate pudding both times ;-(
Heard it was delicious.
We stayed in the double ensuite room which is round the back of the building with its own little patio. This is just perfect because even so to place was full noone bothered to walk that extra 2 meters to use this patio and we had it all to ourselves. The room was nice and clean and had enough space to have one double bed and one single bed, the bed was comfy (soft) and the bathroom (attached) was handicapped friendly and accordingly spacious but basic. It was as per expectation.
We had a car and even so it was difficult to park at there provided parking, there is free parking on the street, and with a car it is easy to reach the grocery shops.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica-Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Usually not a fan of backpacker places, but this place made us change our minds. Nelson as a city is absolutely lovely, and the hostel i located only a five minutes walk from the centre. We stayed in a double room, which was located on the first floor. On ground floor you have a very big and well equipped kitchen, and lots of space for just hanging out.

The room was clean and pretty decorated, with a bed, table and chair. Towels were provided. On the first floor we had two toilets for ladies, and two for men. There were three showers. A laundry room was located on the ground floor with several washing machines and dryers. Free bike rentals and help with different bookings.

The hostel has a little garden were herbs are grown that you can use for cooking. The reception staff/owners are very nice. Uli, who was there when we were there was really helpful and nice. You always feel like you can come to them if there are any problems what so ever.

8 o'clock every night, they serve home made chocholate pudding with vanilla ice cream!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Egus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

One of the best backpackers I've ever been. Clean, new rooms. Delicious free pudding in the evening and very friendly staff. It takes about 15 minutes walking to the city center and around one hour to the beach. No free internet (which is the most usual in NZ, in any case). Anyway, this is a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepitopulpito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

we got a room with private bathroom. room was very clean and well maintained. room was located at the back of the facility and wasnt very easy to get to with our bags. other than that no complaints. was a bit noisy at night and in the morning, but thats was expected.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soakuptheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.3 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 42 in Nelson
508 reviews
0.7 mi away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
1.6 mi away
The Bug Backpackers
The Bug Backpackers
#5 of 44 in Nelson
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Prince Albert Backpackers
0.2 mi away
Paradiso Backpackers
Paradiso Backpackers
#15 of 44 in Nelson
195 reviews
0.6 mi away
YHA Nelson by Accents
YHA Nelson by Accents
#18 of 44 in Nelson
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tasman Bay Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasman Bay Backpackers

Address: 10 Weka Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range: $19 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tasman Bay Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fire is roaring, the atmosphere's relaxed, the hostel's warm, spacious yet homely. Just like your favourite café - great music, friendly, genuine people. Free Hot Chocolate pudding & ice cream served every night of the year. Inner sprung mattresses throughout the hostel. Free All you can eat Winter Breakfast (May to November). Free Wireless internet (April to November). Free use of bikes for exploring. Off-street parking. Central but quiet location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Tasman Bay Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasman Bay Backpackers Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing