We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It has extensive views”
Review of Te Maunga

Te Maunga
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Te Maunga
Ranked #47 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“It has extensive views”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Te Maunga could be quite difficult to find but the directions are reasonably comprehensive with only a little confusion at the very end. Our greeting gave me pause for reflection when we were asked to remove our shoes. I was wearing crocs. Then we were told we had the wrong walking gear on - "expensive merino like I have is so superior" and that the landlady does not need the amount of luggage we had when she travels to Europe but old English people don't know what to pack. I found it difficult to make an effort to like the place after that.
Our room did not have ensuite facilities but we had an acceptable private bathroom.
The house is a bit out of the town centre but it's possible to walk, partly along a steep dark track, if you are reasonably agile and have a torch for your return.
Breakfast was fine with a choice of cereals and fruit, and home-made yoghurt, but you do feel under pressure to eat items specially made - we did not.
It does have extensive views and is modestly priced.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank united33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

This is a grand dame set on 1 imperial acre, on the highest hill, overlooking Nelson. The views are stunning. It can be a bit tricky to find, but our GPS handled it well, even though we ended up going up the more difficult way (one single lane, with 2 way traffic). Anne works very hard at keeping this place up and it shows. It is very clean and well cared for. She was very helpful recommending restaurants and things to do in town. There are a few things that may put some people off. Anne doesn’t allow wine upstairs in the rooms, and you have to take off your shoes before going upstairs, so, if you are bringing in more than one trip of things to your room, you may want to bring everything to the front porch first, and likewise, bring it all down to the landing, before carrying it out to your car. Otherwise, you end up taking your shoes off and on several times while coming and going. Anne is decidedly left wing politically, and makes it known rather quickly (think Michael Moore). She is very proud of the accomplishments of her fellow New Zealanders. The rooms, specifically advertised and rented as ensuite, are not by my interpretation “ensuite”. There are 2 bathrooms, at the end of a short hall, for the 3 rooms she rents. I have my issues with getting up a lot at night, so for me this is an important distinction, perhaps not for others. The bath tub was retrofitted with a shower, however, the shower head is fixed, and hits you at about your chest or stomach. The towels were definitely “scrunchy” (scratchy). The continental breakfast was very good, and included some homemade “sweet bread”, fresh fruit, cereal, toast, coffee and tea. We were there on one of our sunny days (lots of cloudy days) and sitting out in the yard overlooking Nelson with the ocean beyond, was delightful. Beautiful place!

Room Tip: Beware that you must exit your bedroom to go to one of the two bathrooms at the end of the hall, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sxmbeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed at Nelson over the New Year as part of a trip down the west coast of New Zealand from Picton to Te Anau. Te Maunga was a real treasure, full of charm. Our hostess Anne was considerate and friendly and interesting to talk to. Te Maunga has been in her family since its construction over 80 years ago and the house retains great style & character. It offers a commanding view from the top of the hill and we watched the New Year fireworks accompanied by Anne and a bottle of wine. We would highly recommend Te Maunga as interesting and quality accommodation, out of the ordinary and one of the best we stayed in in New Zealand.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadrunner2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Cosy, comfortable and homely. Lovely breakfast using homemade and local produce and beautiful room. Annie is a wonderful host! We stayed for 2 nights on our first visit to Nelson and after visiting Golden Bay and Abel Tasman came back for a second visit as it was so good the first time!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Wonderful location on top of a steep hill overlooking Nelson, but only 15 minutes walk from town. Friendly owner, good breakfast - lots of fresh fruit!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Annie was delightful! This historic house is gorgeous and charming. The drive up to the house is amazing and a little hair raising but well worth it. Everything is immaculate and beautifully maintained. Annie is a charming hostess with lots of tales. It was a delight to stay here for 2 nights. Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thefamilyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.0 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
670 reviews
0.9 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
4.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
484 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Maunga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Maunga

Property: Te Maunga
Address: 15 Dorothy Annie Way, Nelson, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing