We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here. The ladies on staff we encountered were friendly & helpful. We were happy with the clean room & comfy bed. The pillows were very thin which was an issue for us though. The wall heater & fridge were a bit noisy. Free wifi is always a plus when staying at motels & we utilised this service. We walked to nearby restaurants for lunch & dinners & also walked into the heart of town to observe the old buildings etc. Overall happy with this accommodation.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ekblund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 156 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

A tidy motel close to town.
Comfy bed with nice topper pad on, electric blankets.
Heating was a wall fan heater which was noisy and I had to turn it off on a cold night which wasn't nice.
Otherwise a nice quite small modern room with basic kitchen set up.
Would stay again, recommend ground floor if your not up to carrying bags up staircases.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbw1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We only stopped at this motel for 1 night on our way through. The motel owners were lovely, really helpful, the accommodation was very clean, lots of space and well equipped. Would definately recommend this motel for a stop. The location was approx 1/4 mile from the town centre, only a 10 min walk. Although not a great deal in the town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drucey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights while visiting family in Oamaru. What a great motel. The room was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. Motel is within short walking distance of the town. Wendy the owner was wonderful providing information on what to do and see and booked attractions for us. Would certainly stay there again and recommend it for anyone planning a trip to Oamaru..

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet0451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We spent 2 nights here and were impressed with the quality of accommodation. Some nice touches like fresh milk for tea and coffee, free Wi-Fi .Loved the town especially the Victorian district.The big attraction was of course the Blue Penguins.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isijef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

When I booked through booking.com, it was written that the motel has free wifi. Unfortunately, the wifi did not work at all. Instead I was offered to pay by myself to Zenbu. When I asked the staff to give me a partial refund, I was told it isn't possible. No other solution rather than going to the city library was given.

The room was upstairs, which is a bit unusual for a motel. Basically, it means you will have to carry your luggage up, which kind of defeats the purpose of sleeping in a Motel.

The room was small, but quite clean.

Overall, the value for money is extremely poor, considering the price and the fact that you don't have internet, having a small room and being on second floor.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Andrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We spent two nights here and again were very happy with the quality of the accommodation at the Bella Vista. Oamaru is a lovely victorian town and well worth a visit. Highly recommend a wander round the Woolshed if you're in to arts and crafts as there are some amazing exhibits here from painters,sculptors, carvers and more. We also took a trip to see the blue penguins here and paid extra for the premium seating which was well worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
0.4 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#11 of 18 in Oamaru
187 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#7 of 18 in Oamaru
36 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
345 reviews
0.6 mi away
ASURE Ambassador Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
AAA Thames Court Motel
AAA Thames Court Motel
#4 of 18 in Oamaru
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Oamaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Oamaru

Address: 206 Thames Street, Oamaru, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range: $70 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Oamaru 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oamaru is the hub of the Waitaki region and the perfect base for your adventures. From the moment you arrive you'll enjoy the convenience of being located in close proximity to the Oamaru CBD for business, shops, entertainment and other activities. At Bella Vista Oamaru we cater for all your business or recreational needs. We are easy to find on Thames Street, State Highway One just two hours drive south of Ashburton and one and a half hours drive north of Dunedin. We are the closest motel to the town centre, shops, restaurants, cafes, our beautiful Opera House and Historic Oamaru. We are only a very short drive to both Blue and Yellow-eyed Penguin Colonies. We have ample safe parking so you can leave your car, avoid parking issues, walk to work or explore. Unlimited free WIFI is available with a spacious work desk in every room. Units vary from just tea and toast making facilities to those with cooking facilities. You can be assured of a warm welcome at Bella Vista Motel Oamaru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Oamaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing