We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a stay and will be back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassador Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
219 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Worth a stay and will be back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Well presented rooms and excellent hosts. On arrival we even got a muffin each. They were very helpful with ideas on things to do. They wanted to know how our dining went at a new restaurant so they could pass that info on. The room was quiet even though the motel is on a main road. Bed was excellent. We have noted them in our phones as we will be back here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Voodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    37
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
64
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beauly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

This was a nice little motel on the main road out of Oamaru. The room was big enough with comfortable bed, was clean and had all the basic equipment you would expect of a motel room with kitchenette. I'd have preferred more comfortable chairs and a second armchair, but that's not enough to bring score down below a 5.

The owner is very friendly and cooks great muffins!

Room Tip: We were in room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith_Walker_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great hospitality, Great service, very friendly staff! I left my facial cleaner there, they are very patient to help me to find it. Accommodation was very clean and tidy would definitely recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Fresh muffins upon arrival. Warm and knowledgeable owners, who always made sure we were taken care of. Clean rooms and reasonable rates. After a long drive, we appreciated it all. We booked based on other Trip Advisor reviews and were happy with the results.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFan345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom family unit. By modern standards, this unit was enormous. We really appreciated how clean and spacious it felt; even the bathroom was huge. The freshly baked muffins are a great, personal touch - perfect with a cup of tea after a long drive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed there for one night was met by the owner who was most welcoming. Accommodation was very clean and tidy would definitely recommend this motel to anyone. The owner accompanied me to the room and made sure everything was to my liking. A very enjoyable stay very relaxing.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Upon check in I felt at home. I was walked to my room and provided a delicious muffin. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. I was also provided assistance in securing a room in Dunedin for the next night.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
14.7 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#7 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#9 of 18 in Oamaru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
AAA Thames Court Motel
AAA Thames Court Motel
#4 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#6 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Motor Lodge

Property: Ambassador Motor Lodge
Address: 296 Thames Highway, Oamaru, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ambassador Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing