We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good muffins”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ASURE Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The owner was friendly, and gave us some freshly home-baked muffins, which were delicious. The "free wifi" said it was 100mb, but in reality worked for maybe 20 minutes, even though we weren't using any video. After that we were supposed to pay extra. The room itself was clean and spacious, and included a bottle of water in the fridge. Overall, it was kind of dreary. It was a nice idea to have local art on the walls, but it could have used larger, more colorful pieces, and more of them.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Beckie_and_Jeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 151 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

On our three week motorcycle trip through new zealand, this was the cleanest sleeping all destinations. Definitely recommended, and when we come back to New Zealand we sleep definitely come back.The location is good for multiple trips to make. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LUC G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here as a result of Highfield Mews not confirming our booking, this motel was my second choice. We were absolutely delighted with our unit. It was quiet and private and beautifully presented. The home made muffins were a lovely touch and we were made to feel welcome straight away. Our hosts were really friendly and helpful. The spa bath was great and the bed was really comfy with good quality linen. We are definitely coming back to stay a bit longer next time!
Angela W

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Deciding to stop in Oamaru on a Friday night, my husband and I chose this motel for it's outward appearance, that the office lights were on and looked welcoming. What a gem of a find. We were offered a choice of room types and invited to have a look. Chose a spotlessly clean spa bath unit and settled in with our delicious warm muffins for supper. Flowers on the table, towel rails where you need them, tissues, wide hot drink selection, scissors & gladwrap in the kitchen - to name a few of the 'extras'. Heaps of space - wished we were here for a week, not a night! Spa bath was great and we had a sound sleep in a very comfy bed. Fullest information book I've seen in any motel unit. Looking for an excuse to return to this motel in Oamaru.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELG758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Wow what a beautiful, clean place to stay. We were greeted by Jenny who was so welcoming, including providing muffins for our afternoon tea. The room was immaculate and very well stocked with not just tea and coffee but hot chocolate and other choices. Huge bathroom which was very useful with 4 women in the travel party.
Jenny was very helpful and knowledgable about where to go and what to see around Oamaru and on our drive around the South Island - we ended doing loads more than expected thanks to Jenny's advice....
Highly recommend visiting Oamaru and staying here. Thanks Jenny!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank AngeM2381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed here as a result of the nearby Highfield Mews "losing" our booking confirmed by them nearly 6 months ago. They put us in the Ambassador and we were well pleased with the place.

The hosts were fantastic - they made us feel really at home as soon as we arrived. As others have said, muffins and a larger than usual bottle of milk were appreciated. The motel itself is an older property but very well maintained and immaculately clean. The in room breakfasts were very good - we stuck with the continental (corn flakes, fruit, toast, that sort of thing)and in in room menus for local eateries were a boon.

The hotel is on the main road through Oamaru but we had no problem with traffic noise during our stay.

Recommended - what more can I say?

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were recommended this hotel whilst finding out information about local penguin tours and were not disappointed. Our hosts were fantastic, the room was great, the artwork beautiful and we had freshly cooked muffins every day. Honesty system with the laundry which was great. All around favourite hotel of the 2 week holiday.

Room Tip: Room 9 has a great spa bath. Room 6 is next to the laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
14.7 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#8 of 18 in Oamaru
37 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#10 of 18 in Oamaru
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
AAA Thames Court Motel
AAA Thames Court Motel
#4 of 18 in Oamaru
135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Northstar
Northstar
#5 of 18 in Oamaru
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Ambassador Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Ambassador Motor Lodge

Address: 296 Thames Highway, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range: $95 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Ambassador Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bret and Christine welcome you to Ambassador Motor Lodge situated at the north end of the Oamaru Central Business District. At our 11-unit motel we strive to offer the best in comfort and hospitality, offering home-baked muffins to all guests on arrival. As we have both travelled extensively we feel we have good insight to travellers' needs and are happy to assist with itineraries if required. We are a Qualmark 4-star rated property and have been awarded 'Bronze' under the Qualmark Sustainable Tourism criteria Our room layouts comprise studio, 1 and 2-bedroom units, 6 with spa baths. All are ground-floor and smoke-free. Off-street-parking at your unit door. Cooked, continental and light breakfasts delivered to your unit on request. We provide free unlimited Wireless Internet for our guests, Sky 50+ channels TV and corporate charge back facilities from most of the popular local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your ASURE Ambassador Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing