We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ASURE Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very welcoming hosts, free fresh muffins, tidy accommodation at a good price. Really nothing wrong. We stayed for one night in a room away from the road, so we did not have any noise problems at all. Oamaru was worth a visit, make an effort to see both yellow eyed and blue penguins.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gortstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 151 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

On our holiday we stayed in Oamaru for only one night unfortunately. The Ambassador Motor Lodge is on a main road but we didn't notice any noise. The two bedroom apartment we had was very clean, comfortable and cosy. We are a family of six, so three kids were in the second room, one older son was on the fold out sofa in the lounge and we had a huge bed in the master room. Very welcoming hosts and very helpful, Jenny greeted us with six muffins for our dessert, great homely touch and should be taken on by more! Good pricing I felt and well worth the money. We also loved their big fluffy pussy cat that came to visit us in the evening and the next morning for pats. Definately recommend if looking for somewhere to stay in Oamaru.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Wonderful clean rooms, very hospitable hosts, had a wonderful time in this gorgeous town yet again. Excellent pricing too. Our unit was right by the road and because of the layout the road didn't affect us as all...pleasantly surprised...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great value for the money. The best motel we stayed at during our vacation in NZ. Ask either Neville or Jenny (the hosts) for local tips and you won't be disapointed, and dont forget to ask about yellow pinguins ( our early morning trip was really worth the effort). And yes, the complementary muffins were deliciuos

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We highly commend this venue to fellow travellers. Spacious, well resourced with above average amenities it rated highly on our "DLASH" motel rating system with a score of 21 out of a possible 25. You can stay here with the confidence of knowing that you will be well catered for.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Danny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Fully deserving of it's high tripadvisor rating. On a road trip down the country this was by far the best accommodation our family enjoyed. Good value. Large, clean room. And best of all, a wonderfully friendly and helpful host. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granite62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a very clean, warm and modern lodge. It's situated near a park and there's lots to do and see in the area. Best of all were the wonderful hosts who provided exceptional service and are warm, friendly and incredibly helpful. This is such a great place!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
14.7 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#8 of 18 in Oamaru
37 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#9 of 18 in Oamaru
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
AAA Thames Court Motel
AAA Thames Court Motel
#4 of 18 in Oamaru
135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Northstar
Northstar
#5 of 18 in Oamaru
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Ambassador Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Ambassador Motor Lodge

Address: 296 Thames Highway, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range: $96 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Ambassador Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bret and Christine welcome you to Ambassador Motor Lodge situated at the north end of the Oamaru Central Business District. At our 11-unit motel we strive to offer the best in comfort and hospitality, offering home-baked muffins to all guests on arrival. As we have both travelled extensively we feel we have good insight to travellers' needs and are happy to assist with itineraries if required. We are a Qualmark 4-star rated property and have been awarded 'Bronze' under the Qualmark Sustainable Tourism criteria Our room layouts comprise studio, 1 and 2-bedroom units, 6 with spa baths. All are ground-floor and smoke-free. Off-street-parking at your unit door. Cooked, continental and light breakfasts delivered to your unit on request. We provide free unlimited Wireless Internet for our guests, Sky 50+ channels TV and corporate charge back facilities from most of the popular local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your ASURE Ambassador Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing