We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassador Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“clean and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

we stayed there for one night with a tour group, the rooms were pristine and the owners were efficient and super friendly in fact it was like staying with your grandparents they made us feel so welcome. the muffins are another story and have to be eaten to be believed. All in all it was a memorable last night to our tour

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    37
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
64
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We only stayed for one night (3 adults) but this motel seemed very roomy, clean and welcoming. As promised some freshly baked muffins were delivered soon after our check in.

We had a unit back from the main road which meant that traffic noise wasn't an issue.

Room Tip: Ask how close to the main road your unit will be (It's NZ, so not a huge issue but there will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CantyCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The motel was on the highway not too far from restaurants, the historic precinct and the penguins. Our rooms were clean and spacious and there were lovely flowers in the gardens. The managers were very nice and were extra helpful when I needed to get a lot of washing done.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieAdventurer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The motel is easy to find - right on the main road into Oamaru, a good point for travellers new to the area.
We were greeted with warm muffins on arrival which was a lovely touch - even if the motelier had left them in the oven a bit long!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteffAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We were greeted by delicious muffins. Host was very friendly and helpful with information. The family units was clean, comfortable & very spacious. The bathroom was especially large and had a long bath. I also receive complementary 30 min WiFi. Supermarket is 5 mins drive away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickFun35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were met with freshly baked muffins which were much appreciated. The motel is a standard style but with appealing extras: access to laundry, BBQ available, free wifi, helpful information and personal touch. The motel organized our taxi to dinner at Riverstone Kitchen (worth the trip). Although not luxurious, the units were quite spacious with kitchenettes. Comfortable queen size bed and perfectly functional bathroom. Very clean. 15 minute leisurely, flat walk into town. Historic precinct worth a visit. Whitestone Cheese factory 5 minutes walk. Good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_addict13_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is the only motel I stay at when I go over to Oamaru. Jenny and Neveliie always make me so welcome, they are never any different. I stayed in an Access Studio Unit for 3 nights. I was welcomed with a lovely fresh warm muffin. The unit had a spar bath which was great. It has a microwave and plates, cultery, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, shampoo and conditioner, soap, use of laundry in afternoons honesty box in laundry. This part of Oamaru is quite flat and it is a nice 25 minute into the Center of town. Dairy across the road and Bakery 5 mins walk same side as Motel heading into town, this bakery has a wonderful supply of pies etc. I ordered a continenial breakfast which was delivered to my unit the night before so no early out of bed for me. Rooms serviced daily and very very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gingermegs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
14.7 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#6 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#9 of 18 in Oamaru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.3 mi away
AAA Thames Court Motel
AAA Thames Court Motel
#4 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#7 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Motor Lodge

Property: Ambassador Motor Lodge
Address: 296 Thames Highway, Oamaru, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ambassador Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing