We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ASURE Ambassador Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midway Motel(Oamaru)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Motel(Oamaru)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Avenue Motel(Oamaru)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Oamaru(Oamaru)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Internet
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveler rating
113
40
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
40
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh muffinson arrivalthe main roadtidy unitupon checkgenerous sizeroad noiselong drivelittle thingsguest laundrygreat hospitalitywalk into townspa bathvery pleasant staynew ownersowners were friendlyfree wifi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 157 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stopped over for one night in Oamaru - usually we drive right on through - but we were so glad that we stopped. Ambassador Motor Lodge is clean, friendly, comfortable and quiet and the homemade muffins were the cherry on top. A standout was the fluffy white towels and lovely crisp clean bed linen. I would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We found the Ambassador Motor Lodge a clean, warm and comfortable place, with friendly, helpful staff. Although situated on the main road of Oamaru the traffic noise was minimal, and the muffins on arrival were an unexpected bonus and delicious as well. Jennie & Neville were very obliging and super friendly, we couldn't have stayed in a better place, since we arrived in a cold snap the warmth of the room was very welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbugs269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Not having stayed at Oamaru on several earlier ‘passing through’ travels this was really a one-off for spouse and self. In deciding where to stay we took the 3-best TA reviewed motels the tossed a coin. This was the winner and won decisively. We knew we were at the right place as soon as Jenny’s muffins were handed to us on arrival. Cooked breakfast was tops and needed on unfavourable rainy weather for us in a strange town. Jenny was extremely helpful in making a hair appointment for my spouse on a Saturday. A small flower display in the room was an added touch. Our grateful thanks to Jenny & Neville for the great welcome and help given. Our unit was very good, clean, comfortable and with mattresses simply made for us. This motel is one a traveler would easily pass without a second look but behind that entranceway are hard working proprietors whom it was a pleasure to do business with. Thank you both.
Deciding where to eat in a strange town can sometimes be difficult but Neville suggested the Oamaru Club which seems to be the name of the Working Men’s Club so that’s where we dined. Beneficial is that the Club has a free shuttle bus which collects folk from around town and also delivers them back. Ask Neville as he can arrange all so guests can be picked up absolutely free, gratis and at no cost. Strangely, if the 0800 number given on the motel in-room menu is dialed, the call reaches the bus driver – not the Club. Go for it. We’ would stay here more than once again if the occasion arises though unfortunately it is unlikely to do so.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Probian9910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We originally booked 2 nights but extended to 3 as we really liked Oamaru.
The Motel is situated a fair distance from the centre of town and it was a good 15 minutes flat walk. Fortunately Neville picked us up from the intercity coach stop, although we had to get a taxi back to the stop. We received a lovely warm welcome both from Neville & Jenny who gave us loads of information about things to see & do in Oamaru. We were even given home baked muffins when we arrived. Jenny even lent us a pair of binoculars to view the penguins.
The Motel is situated on a fairly busy road that had lots of freight lorries and therefore does get a degree of road noise, but not enough to be a major problem, that said a lot of the other motels are also situated on this road.
The unit we had was a good size with a double & a single bed, a good sized kitchenette and a LCD TV with a basic sky package.
There was also heater and hair drier. The bathroom was good and the shower was a good temperature with a fixed head shower.
There was also a small table & 3 chairs inside and a table outside.
There was laundry facilities, but this was not available in the morning as were used by the motel staff for their towels.
The Wifi connection worked well.
The whole place had a really nice feel about it and was immaculately clean.
The only slight niggle was our bed was a bit soft & springy for our taste and definitely had that roll together feel.
That said we really enjoyed our stay in Oamaru and would recommend the Ambassador as a good choice, especially if you have your own transport.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Was comfortable enough, not my first choice however. Staff were friendly but upgrades are required.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEP_Morrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews