We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ASURE Ambassador Motor Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Northstar(Oamaru)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Midway Motel(Oamaru)(Great Value!)
$88
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel Oamaru(Oamaru)(Great Value!)
$91
$88
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mill House(Oamaru)(Great Value!)
$75
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveler rating
114
40
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
40
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh muffinson arrivalthe main roadtidy unitupon checkgenerous sizeroad noiselong drivelittle thingsguest laundrygreat hospitalitywalk into townspa bathvery pleasant staynew ownersowners were friendlyfree wifi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 158 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Jenny could not have been more helpful upon our arrival, providing us with fresh baked muffins and a lovely smile. Our unit was big, clean and roomy with a spa bath (unit number one) and views across to the adjacent park. Oamaru is New Zealands best kept secret stunning turn of the century limestone buildings, people dressed in Victorian costumes everywere ( don't miss Annies Victorian tea rooms just wonderful ). And little blue penguins to see as well, good restaurants abound and be brave and put your two dollars into the Steampunk locomotive and get a surprise !

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a spa bath, room one can be recommended
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FerryQueenstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Just one night in Oamaru to see the blue penguins. Hosts were friendly and warm muffins on arrival were welcome. Motel style where you get what you pay for. Not the most comfortable bed and wide opening windows at ground level might be a security concern for some. Motel appeared fully occupied and while situated on the main road was reasonably quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Our family drove into town in from Christchurch, and we were greeted warmly by our host Jenny who had warm muffins waiting for us. She gave us tips about penguin watching and loaned us a pair of binoculars. We were able to go view both yellow-eyed and blue penguins the same evening.

Having traveled for 3 weeks in both Australia and New Zealand, this place was one of our favorites. It was very clean and comfortable. The place even offered 2 hours of free internet use, which gave us more than enough time to check through emails and look into lodging in the next town we were visiting. Almost all the places we stayed at on this vacation required payment (even for 2 hours worth) and the only other place that offered free internet only gave 20 minutes free. So the 2 hours of free internet was great!

If we ever travel to this area again, we would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oak2wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

When we arrived we were offered fresh, warm muffins - what a lovely start! Our hosts were very cordial and welcoming. The room was clean, spacious and well laid-out. They also helped us with our questions, in particular concerning the penguin colony and how to get to the elephant rocks. Appreciated the 2 free hours of internet access, enough to check our email and some websites (which was typical for many of the places we stayed). Kitchenette had fridge, microwave, sink but no cooktop in our unit (worked for us).

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve-Laura-Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I stayed for a long period in the hotel for work. The owners were really friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. The room was quiet, I was worried about traffic noise but this wasn't an issue at all. And the servicing of the room was also consistently good. I would definitely recommend this motel.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
Thank trish28_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews