We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing meal”
Review of Star and Garter

Star and Garter
Ranked #6 of 61 Restaurants in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Nelson NZ
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“disappointing meal”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Case of never mind the quality, feel the width, Philo pastry should be crisp, not soggy, filling was just a mush and too rich.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valmalcornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    127
    35
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An average experience, though not in a bad way.”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The food was okay - I had the steak. Service was fine, though the price was a bit high for what it was. There was a large selection of drinks on offer, though the same can not be said about the food menu.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Limestone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tea and toast - just the job”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

All we wanted was a cup of tea and some toast. Not many people ask for toast, it seems. But we got three pots of tea and three slices of toast in one portion, the best butter ever, jam and honey. The two ladies in our party had shortbread biscuits and asked for seconds.

We liked this cafe/restuarant.

a

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suspishio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dishes prepared close to perfection”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

I was there for two consecutive lunchtimes. First day was pan-fried blue cod and second day poached blue cod. The fish was prepared to the just right doneness, and drained of oil in the pan-fried case. Serving is generous - the smaller entry at $13 is sufficient for most but the biggest eaters' lunch needs. Potatoes roasted just right.

The only nitpick would be veggies taste a bit over-poached like you see on airline food. Other than that it's 10/10.

The host is friendly and not shy away from answering queries.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nzworldtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Seek it out - You will not be disappointed”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We called in without a booking and got a table OK. The place was busy, so we had a hint it would be good, but it turned to be better than just good. We had a traditional roast dinner selection which was cooked perfectly (big serve too!) accompanied by a good range of fresh vegetables. Wine list was reasonable but could offer a little more. Service was good and personable. We all enjoyed greatly

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bloom_New_Zealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star and Garter also viewed

Oamaru, Otago Region
 

Been to Star and Garter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing