We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Good location, basic but adequate, pitches fairly close together. Amenities ok but not as plush as some of the other top 10 parks we visited. Staff friendly.
Be aware that they have no washing up liquid, this was the first time we experienced this.
A word on Oamaru itself, it's weird, 1/2 the town is modernish with normal shops. The other half is like stepping back in time, with Victorian shops, but it's all very quiet and we never saw anybody buying anything. We expected to be able to choose to eat/drink at a number of bars and restaurants, but for the size of town there is very little choice. No bars to sit outside like a number of towns we visited, just a few hotel bars. Weird overall but kind of quaint.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lynnandbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    76
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
56
83
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a beautiful scenic journey from Mt Cook to Oamaru. Having stayed on a DOC site inour campervan, we needed to do a wash load and have a "proper" shower. The site suited our needs. We were able to pick our own pitch as we arrived mid afternoon, so picked a nice one over by the trees and river (not that you could see it) but we did have the ducks come to visit, from it, for breakfast, which was lovely. Although the site was next to the main road, our pitch being away a little, was no problem. Showers clean and laundry facilities good. We much prefer a scenic site, especially freedom or DOC sites, but this served us well on our journey. Oamaru town very nice, you must visit Steampunk if you go into town. Penquin tours available from the site. We wanted to see them in the wild so we didn't go, apparently very popular tho'. Quite typical of a Top 10 site but would only choose as a quick stop.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jools011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Bit old fashioned and on the evening we stayed, bit gloomy, but fine for a one night stay. Not much character either, as vans all lined up car park style and too close together. Though as the holiday progressed realised this was pretty typical of Top 10 sites.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Lovely top 10 site, within easy reach/ stroll into town through wellkept public park. As with all top 10's there is a number of accomodation options to choose form, all look very well kept. There are two shower/toilet/ kitchen blocks one is very new and is well laid out and extremely clean. There are also a number of washing lines to peg your bits and pieces out on...althugh no pegs are provided, I purchased some from a $2 shop. There are two BBQ's which are scrubbed spotless every day, and the tokens are free, and available from reception.
The older shower room for ladies had only two showeres and there was always a bit of a que in the morning (its worth walking up to the newer block, as most forget its there)
The camper vans are placed very close together, and have taps next to the electricity plug ins. The road behind the site does get busy in the mornings, and can be a little noisey. There is a good supermarket around the corner for all the essentials.

Room Tip: Ask for site backing on to the park....its much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cannygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincumber, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed one night after finding this accom on our way back from the motel recommended by the i-site which had no-one in sight who we could book in with. The cabin we were given was nearly new and very comfortable, with a separate bedroom. The property was on the edge of town adnd fairly quiet except when all the early bird camper vans departed next morning. Compared to our other NZ accom this seemed a bit over-priced.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from camper vans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here two nights on a powered site in our campervan. Cost was $21 each per nite. We didn't like our allocated site as it was right in the middle of the camp by the ablution block so requested to change to one near the trees, which was no problem. The facilities were clean, great untimed free showers. Quite a small camp compared to other top tens but still very nice. Close to town, right next door to beautiful parks and bird aviary, and little dairy across the road. Must have been pretty good for us to stay two nights. Wifi was good, and they hired bikes but by the time we asked for one they were all rented out already, so maybe get in quick if you want one.

Room Tip: The campervan sites by the trees are much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
724 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

we spent our first night in a motorhome in Oarmaru, the site is well loated near a park and the town, we went on the penguin evening trip which was excllent, it also include a tour and history of the town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandr268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
13.5 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#7 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#11 of 18 in Oamaru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.0 mi away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ambassador Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park

Property: Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park
Address: 30 Chelmer Street, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing