We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Court Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here for three nights - we'd just come from Christchurch and wanted to see the Janet Frame house near the centre. It's conveniently on the main road and a five-ten minute drive or twenty-minute walk to the centre, where the attractions - apart from the many Frame connections - are the historical area, the harbour, Oamaru Public Gardens, and oh, let's not forget the blue penguins. The motel is clean, it's great value, there's a New World supermarket five minutes' walk away, the setting is fine, the owner very helpful and obliging, and there was free wifi. What more could you need?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyshaw14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    43
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
49
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Spacious and plenty of room in the bedrooms and sitting area. Kitchenette a wee bit small when there are four of you! We enjoyed the use of wifi but data used up quickly ? Staff friendly and helpful. Okay for an overnight stay. Needs some decor update but clean and tidy. The Lodge is situated out of town so no walking into Oamaru ... Which is worth a look around; it obviously prospered in times gone by.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadders58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great service, tidy rooms, friendly staff. Kid friendly .internet was problematic, but that would be my only complaint. Great that you could order from restaurant , delivered to your room. Clean and tidy!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omihi469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night only,room is clean and tidy,spacious enough ,receptionist was a temp ,we requested use of the wifi and were given a code however, we found is impossible to connect ,its very slow and receptionist says you cannot browse on net because its slow ,also its states 53tv channels available,we found the tv reception impossible we were able to view 4 channels but were so much disturbance,we turn the set off.so for us to stay there again we would want assurance that this matters have been rectified,because it was essential for us to have internet connection while away from home.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dealer39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heritage_oamaru, Owner at Heritage Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hello, Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that you had so much difficulty with the internet. Some days it is only as good as our server provides and other days it is great and fast. We had experienced a number of internet outages from our provider telecom over the past few weeks. I had not had a break for 8 weeks, so I booked the weekend away. I do not know which room you were in as the signal is weak in two areas of the complex and we are working with our computer technician to boost the signal a bit more. Currently workers are installing Fibre to the door in Oamaru, so I am hoping we will get to connect to that in the next 12 months.
The television reception is unusual though as it is all through the SKY decoder. The TV is set to Channel 1 and then you change the channel with the SKY remote. 4 channels is no where near enough, even the freeview channels are up to about 14 channels. Guest Select has 50+ channels which does include radio stations. I can only imagine that a guest before you decided to change settings on the television and for this I am very sorry, I do not get to check them every day. We have also recently trialled removing the movie channels from SKY as we have the complimentary DVD library. We have found that a number of guests are not concerned by SKY movies, as they can watch a DVD of their choice when they want. These sort of things always seem to happen when I am away and the minder is not familiar enough with everything that happens.
Hopefully you might give us another chance and I can make sure that it all works well.
Again Thank you for letting us know
Kind Regards
Tracey Donohue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Spent one night in sunny Oamaru. Hosts were friendly and nothing was a problem. Considering it is on the main highway my unit was very quiet. Great bed, bathroom with spa bath and a small kitchen capped off a nice unit. I had a nice meal bought to my unit from the on site restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BernieNapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very cheerful welcome in this motel, very large comfortable room, clean. Nice breakfast, even got to speak Dutch there! Good advice about our plans (Doubtful of Milford). Here you will get your money;s worth.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R0bbie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

my husand and I recently stayed for one night over the Christmas/New Year period and were pleased with the size of the room even though the walls were a bit dated (fake wood panels). The room and bathroom was clean and tidy and for $100 a night double we felt it was money well spent. We were provided with a small bottle of milk which was great as this is preferable over those UHT pods. We were in a ground floor unit which was quiet and the bed was comfortable. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catmad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
15.0 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#6 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.3 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#10 of 18 in Oamaru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.9 mi away
Colonial Lodge Motel
Colonial Lodge Motel
#12 of 18 in Oamaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ambassador Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Court Motor Lodge

Property: Heritage Court Motor Lodge
Address: 346 Thames Highway | Oamaru North, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heritage Court Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
27 Comfortable & Quiet, Budget to Luxury rooms to choose from, Super King, King & Queen beds, Luxury modern rooms upstairs and down, 3 x 2 bedroom, 1 x 1 bedroom & 23 Studios, situated just 2 minutes by car to the Town centre or 4 minutes to the Little Blue Penguins. SKY TV Guest Select - Sky Sports Channels. UNLIMITED FREE WIFI. Some Spa Bath Rooms, Some Family Rooms. Licensed Restaurant onsite (Open 6 days, Closed on Sundays) Room Service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Heritage Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing