We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ranui Retreat never disappoints”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oamaru
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ranui Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 28 Oamaru B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed again at Ranui Retreat, this time for 5 nights. We keep going back. Sheryl and Ken give such a warm welcome and are great fun. And Sheryl's cooking is sublime. A great place to stay to look around Oamaru and to explore the surrounding coast or country. The Pondings at nearby Bourton on the Waitaki River are a great place to fish for trout or maybe even salmon.

Room Tip: The downstairs room is en-suite
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunhatNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Ranui Retreat Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 19 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

"Can a second visit ever live up to the promise and excitement of the first? It can. It DID! The accommodations at Ranui Retreat are every bit as lovely as we remembered and our hosts Sheryl and Ken as generous and friendly as well. The surprise this time was joining them for a potluck supper with some of their friends and being incorporated into a true New Zealand at-home experience, lending a hand in the kitchen and feeling that we had become friends as well as guests. It says far more about the friendliness and openness of our hosts than that we ourselves are so special. Again, enjoy a unique experience and treat yourself to a few nights at Ranui Retreat with the Laramans."

Room Tip: Room with ensuite is very private, with excellent access but out of the way of our hosts' daily...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PamelaNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Our second trip to this B & B and well worth it. Excellent furnishings and a very warm greeting that made us quite at home in NZ. Their tour of their upcoming olive oil harvest made our stay very personable. They made sure to let us know of the best restaurant nearby for our dining requests.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doughare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

You are made to feel welcome as soon as you arrive at Ranui Retreat.Sheryl and Ken are very friendly and work hard to make their guests happy.I have stayed twice and feel as though I am treated as one of the family.The decor and effacts are interesting and quirky and there is a large garden which is pleasant to stroll around.
Their home is situated a few kilometres south of Oamaru and is in a peaceful location.
I can thoroughly recommend a stay at Ranui Retreat.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rover5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We wish country and quiet B&B, not city center. By rent car, it is easy to access.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s993597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Be prepared for a gorgeous experience. Sheryl and Ken are artists, and their work adorns their house and gardens. Ken's mosaics are visible on the bathroom tiled floor and garden paths. Sheryl's amazing fabric art is exquisite, from the comforter cover on the bed to wall decorations, lampshades, and pillows in the living room. Breakfast was delicious, with homemade preserves as well as homemade bread and yogurt. Ken's advice proved invaluable in our visit to Dunedin, as he recommended a very special second--hand bookstore near the university and a wonderful restaurant by the harbor. Our only regret is that we only stayed one night with them. Their house is about 7 km south of Oamaru, a manageable distance and one of the loveliest homestays we have visited.
Pamela Nelson and Kit Olmsted

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamelaNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We re-visit Ranui Retreat each time we're in NZ and for several nights, which says a lot. The self-contained room has a fantastic bedspread made by Sheryl. Ken and Sheryl are fun hosts and Sheryl's cooking superb, so consider the DBB option. Steam Punk Exhibition in Oamaru was amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunhatNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
6.6 mi away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
182 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
6.0 mi away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#11 of 18 in Oamaru
187 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#7 of 18 in Oamaru
36 reviews
6.0 mi away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#6 of 18 in Oamaru
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranui Retreat Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranui Retreat Bed and Breakfast

Address: 27 Woolshed Road | 8DRD, Totara, Oamaru 9492, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Oamaru
Price Range: $91 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranui Retreat is a warm comfortable retreat in a peaceful, natural environment. We are close to Historic Oamaru and the main highway to Dunedin. Our character rooms are richly furnished with colorful, handmade quilts and embroidered fabrics. Wander through the tranquil garden of native and exotic trees, an olive grove and enjoy panoramic views to the mountains. Delicious breakfasts are served indoors or outside and we specialize in home made, locally grown and organic fare. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing