We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a very nice stay experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oasis on Orwell B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oasis on Orwell B & B
Ranked #1 of 26 Oamaru B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“a very nice stay experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Thank you Liz and Dave for your greeting when we stay there.
It's a memorable experience of B&B in NZ.
Very nice house, very tidy room, very lovely cookies, delicious banana cake, etc.
And also thanks to help us have a wonderful experience of Blue eye pengiun watching as well.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Owner at Oasis on Orwell B & B, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we enjoyed having you and your family stay with us. Our first guests from Shanghai! We are pleased you experienced Oamaru and all it has to offer and enjoyed your breakfast conversations with our German guests - lots of laughter.
Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
85
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I am getting lazy and haven't contributed any review for a long time. But I feel obliged to write this one as I wouldn't have stayed at such a lovely B&B without Tripadvisor.
Yesterday 6 of us stayed here for one night. Upon our arrival, Dave and Liz served us drinks and yummy home-made treats. We had reserved a 3-course dinner which was well-presented and delicious for just NZ$30. Breakfast in the next morning was equally delicious and we could order as much as we wanted. Naturally we were too full to eat lunch!
The town is not big. After dinner it took us only 5 minutes to drive to the Blue Penguin Colony to view the cutie tiny penguins returning home.
The house is around 80 years old yet it is absolutely clean, beautiful and well maintained. It is about 2,300 square feet. There are 3 rooms for guests. One en-suite; one with a queen size bed and a single bedroom attached; the last one is a twin bedroom so the house can accommodate up to 7 people. Each bedroom has different set of beddings and linens which are all lovely. The rooms were warm and quiet so we all slept well.
Thanks Dave and Liz for telling us the useful tips without which we could never have seen lazy seals sun bathing and lost penguins just 2 meters away; for sharing the secret recipe of the yummy goodies with me; for allowing us to take home the home grown pears, tomatoes and plums; and for listening to non-native speakers with so much patience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taiwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Owner at Oasis on Orwell B & B, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your very prompt response and appologise for the delay in replying.
We truly enjoyed your visit with us, meeting your Family and Friends (including TROUBLE) and hope you enjoyed the fresh goodies from our garden.
Would love to see you again when perhaps you can spend more time exploring Oamaru's treasures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

As we complete our 2 night stay here we totally understand why this accommodation is rated so highly. It is rare that one encounters such a gem in such a wonderful setting. We would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone travelling through this area. Liz and Dave's recommendations were spot on; from penguin viewing to dining options.

The breakfast and all the little extras were quite excellent.

Thank you Liz and Dave

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Exchangers1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Owner at Oasis on Orwell B & B, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments during your holiday in the South Island. It was a pleasure to meet you and hear about your previous adventures. We were so pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Light House at Moeraki and saw Yellow eyed penguins and Fur Seals . We hope you had a safe journey to Christchurch Airport ready for your next destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Dave and Liz have a stunning bed and breakfast in Oamaru. Our group of four stayed in their family room ( which had three beds) and also their guest bedroom (which had two twin beds). The house has been renovated in true Victorian style and every detail is lovingly maintained. Liz cooked a delightful breakfast the next morning and had many recommendations for sights to see and places to eat. We had a fantastic time and will definitely stay here again. You would be remiss to pass them up if you want to truly experience an Oamaru B&B.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CPAAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Owner at Oasis on Orwell B & B, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your prompt comments. It was great to meet you and introduce you to Oamaru.
Next time maybe the Alps2Ocean will be on the calendar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

From the moment we stepped into Liz and David's home, we felt cosy, looked after and welcomed. The room was gorgeous, we loved the little details like the homemade cakes that came with the complimentary tea and coffee tray - having a gas fire and electric blanket when it was pouring with rain outside was also appreciated! But it was the efforts that Liz and David made to ensure we made the most of our time in Oamaru that was beyond the call. If it weren't for them, we would have never gotten to know about the famous Fleur's Place seafood restaurant nearby or been able to get a table. Also, that evening, Liz and David packed us off to the penguin viewing wearing their coats, gloves, hats and binoculars. It was a real pleasure to meet them and spend time in their lovely B&B.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Owner at Oasis on Orwell B & B, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your speedy response and comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us .

Although the weather was not the best, we hope that visiting the penguin colony and Fleur's made up for it. We hope you got to see the Boulders, light house at Moeraki and the Fur Seals at Shag Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Dave & Liz.

We would like to thank you for your amazing hospitality over the three nights we stayed with you in your beautiful spacious,warm home for our daughters wedding. You were excellent hosts from the time we arrived especially for supplying a surprise birthday cake for Janice and providing delicious breakfasts every morning, baby sitting our two small grandchildren on the night of the wedding and sharing your home for the bridal party to prepare themselves on the day of the wedding.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Owner at Oasis on Orwell B & B, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for posting your comments, it was a special weekend for the family and we were pleased to be a part of the event. The family made the B&B their home for the duration of the Wedding. Preparations all went to plan with hairdressers, make up and flower deliveries the catering was prepared by Portside Restaurant, well done Oamaru especially with the Victorian Celebration week coinciding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a very nice accomodation hosted by a lovely couple, Liz and Dave who welcomed us warmly (they even had a special treat for us as a surprise). We spent a night in a twin room which was comfortable. The homemade breakfast was delicious. This accomodation is fully recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Owner at Oasis on Orwell B & B, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for making the time to comment on trip advisor. On arrival we knew that you were a honeymoon couple and asked if you would like the Master Bedroom with ensuit but you declined having requested the Twin Bedroom, with good reason as the Groom is a very restless sleeper.
Very considerate to his Bride. A lovely couple with a great sense of humour. It was a pleasure having you stay a while in Oamaru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
0.3 mi away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pen-y-bryn Lodge
Pen-y-bryn Lodge
#3 of 26 in Oamaru
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Douglas
The Douglas
#2 of 26 in Oamaru
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Happy Valley B&B
Happy Valley B&B
#5 of 26 in Oamaru
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Highway House Oamaru
Highway House Oamaru
#8 of 26 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis on Orwell B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis on Orwell B & B

Property: Oasis on Orwell B & B
Address: 46A Orwell Street | Oamaru, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and gracefully renovated 1930s character home. Master Queen bedroom with large en-suite, quality brass fittings, undertile heating, large walk in wardrobe. Family Queen bedroom with adjacent single bedroom. Private separate bathroom with large frameless sliding door shower, 1400 x 900, pedestal hand basin, toilet and undertile heating. All bedrooms have quality cotton linen, complementary Tea and Coffee making facilities with home made baking, electric blankets, TV, clock radio, free wifi and fridge. Guest facilities include large quality guest lounge with TV, free internet access and undercarpet heating. Breakfast consists of Fresh fruit salad, fruit juice a choice of cereal, from our menu a selection of one of three cooked breakfasts, toast and home made preserves, tea or coffee. All produce sourced locally where possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oasis on Orwell B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing