We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming owner, a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Charming owner, a great place to stay”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We can only echo the comments made by others - the accommodation is great, the owner is charming and we were made to feel really welcome. Highly recommended, as is the charming town of Oamaru. The penguins are well worth a visit!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LondonpairLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    66
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
202
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We arrived later than expected having driven down from Christchurch after our flight from Sydney.
We were very grateful that they had left a welcome letter and room key for us despite our oversight about making arrangements for an after hours check-in (and not having paid yet).

We were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the accommodation particularly given the reasonable room rate. Quite often they look better in photos. The Superior 1 bedroom spa suite was spacious, tastefully furnished and well-equipped with mod cons. Comfortable beds and quiet surroundings made for a good night's rest for two weary travellers. Everything was clean and tidy. Owners/Staff were warm, friendly and helpful. Excellent accommodation including double spa bath which I regretfully did not have time to enjoy!

Charming place to break your journey from Christchurch to Dunedin. I would have been quite happy to spend a few nights in this lovely accommodation to explore its equally charming city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stef G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
188 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great hotel/motel brand new and everything that you would want. We only stayed for one night. The owners were welcoming and friendly. The room felt like an apartment as it had a shared entrance with only one other room - very well kitted out and with a little balcony. Wifi worked and was ample for our needs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greeneggs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed one night at the Highfield Mews hotel in Oamaru on the South Island of New Zealand. It was on the main highway but most rooms are situated well off the street and are EXTREMELY QUIET!) Walking distance to a small market but a little longer walk to the historical center of Oamaru, which is VERY interesting. Many beautiful intact old buildings from the town's highpoint of the 1870's. The hotel is pristine with very nice beds and lots of hot water and powerful showers and nice jacuzzi tub. Definitely would recommend this hotel and would stay again if we returned.

Room Tip: make sure to get a room at the back for complete privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

It was a pleasure to stay at this motel which we found to have a very comfortable room and all the amenities that one could expect. The restaurants and shops were located within easy walking distance and the laundry facilities were spot on. We would certainly stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxwell b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Excellent motel with great rooms. Everything immaculate about the rooms, with the lager rooms having separate bedrooms and nice sitting area.
nicely located and within walking distance of main areas in the town.
Good comfy beds and good linens. Bathroom good and roomy with nice towels.

Room Tip: Get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Extremely friendly and helpful owner, very enthusiastic about Oamaru. Flats are brand new with all latest mod cons, bath and shower are amazing and bed is very comfy. Walking distance to town centre but most people have cars, or you can hire bikes for free! Best thing about this place is the friendly man who runs it though :) 10/ 10

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DollyAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
14.3 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#6 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#11 of 18 in Oamaru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ambassador Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
0.1 mi away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#7 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Mews, Oamaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Mews, Oamaru

Property: Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Address: Corner Thames & Exe Streets | GPS 26 Exe Street, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Highfield Mews, Oamaru 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and private executive Accommodation in a village like setting, Highfield Mews places you in the heart of Oamaru. Within easy walking distance of the town cafes, restaurants, shops and Historic Precinct, this new motel is ideal for both work and relaxation. Luxurious interiors complemented by unique design Highfield Mews is enhanced with many features and comforts including king size beds, double spa baths, 42" TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Highfield Mews, Oamaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing