We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highfield Mews, Oamaru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Being visitors to New Zealand, Oamaru with its old town and the Highfield Mews were very pleasant surprises. We only stayed in the area because it suited our driving schedule but would recommend it for a planned stay.
Highfield Mews is probably one of the best motels we have stayed in during our trip. The room spacious with an excellent kitchenette, clean and modern. The manager was friendly and helpful and provided free internet vouchers which were adequate for our stay.
Over all excellent standard and would definitely stay again


Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    62
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
42
199
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
421 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

After a friendly welcome, it felt great to stretch out on the comfy bed. It was my first chance to relax since starting my journey from Northern California. I didn't pause for long since I had reservations to view penguins. I appreciated the warm room and electric blanket after spending a lot of time in the cold seaside watching blue penguins. The hot tea service was also a plus. The next morning I was out the door before sunrise to see yellow eyed penguins. I sooo appreciated the great shower hardware and hot water when I got back from another cold wait. Overall, I would say that the hotel is furnished like a much more expensive property with the charming hosts one might find at a boutique property.

Room Tip: The road noise is not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinborough, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay - clean, spacious and well appointed studio room - with not one but two comfortable arm chairs!!, great bed, quiet - and close to the centre. Appreciated having our own numbered car park too.
Welcoming and helpful hosts.
We will certainly find reasons to visit Oamaru so we can stay at Highfield Mews again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

When we booked in we were advised that we had been upgraded from a studio apartment to a one bedroom apartment. What a great surpirse. The room was magical and we had a great night sleep in the bed. The apartment was furnished with flair and going back there after seeing the penguins just finished off a great day. I would recommend staying here if visitng Oamaru. The hosts were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Again picked this from the trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. Great welcome and introduction to the towns sights, and the room was clean and comfortable. Great choice to stay and close to everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bricari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We only stayed one night at this new motel but wouldve gladly stayed abit longer had we not been on such a tight schedule. We were had an upstairs unit, beautifully furnished, but really needed a table. The beds and pillows were first class. The owners were friendly and informative. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent two nights here, and it was comfortable, but even though there was a nice kitchen, there was no where to eat. We ended up sitting on the bed to eat. The bed was very comfortable and everything was very clean. No real complaints, but it was awkward.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
14.3 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#6 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#10 of 18 in Oamaru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
0.4 mi away
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ambassador Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Mews, Oamaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Mews, Oamaru

Property: Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Address: Corner Thames & Exe Streets | GPS 26 Exe Street, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Highfield Mews, Oamaru 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and private executive Accommodation in a village like setting, Highfield Mews places you in the heart of Oamaru. Within easy walking distance of the town cafes, restaurants, shops and Historic Precinct, this new motel is ideal for both work and relaxation. Luxurious interiors complemented by unique design Highfield Mews is enhanced with many features and comforts including king size beds, double spa baths, 42" TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Highfield Mews, Oamaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing