We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I chose this place as it was ranked 1 on Tripadvisor and it was a great choice. Friendly greeting on arrival, modern unit, well appointed, tastefully decorated and fantastic shower water pressure. So often its a drizzle but this was superb.

Room Tip: All rooms looked good, they are a mix of free standing 1 and 2 level buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aztec007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    64
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
44
200
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Excellent motel in every respect: clean, spacious, quiet, great bathroom, cofortable bed. Hosts are friendly, helpful and nothing sems too much trouble. Highly recommend. Bean on Thames is great place for breakfast or brunch - excellent food and coffee (closed Sundays unfortuately). Portside is v good for dinner. Ensure you spend time in the Victorian Precinct and enjoy the magnificent buildings on Thames St.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandNZ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a one night stopover in Oamaru in April. Not having booked any accommodation we were lucky to across upon Highfiled Mews. We discovered new, tastefully designed motel accommodation which suited our requirements perfectly. The bathrooms have been tiled and finished to a high standard. There was only one problem .... the bathroom extractor fan always came on with the light and was quite noisy. Otherwise, we had a very comfortable and stay and would not hesitate to recommend Highfield Mews to others searching for a motel. Oamaru has many new and not so new attractions which we would have liked time to explore. We plan to spend an extra night next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TaupoRiveGauche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bearsden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Fantastic place to stay in Oamaru. Spacious room with kitchen area and separate bedroom. Lovely bathroom with spa bath. Very clean and handy for the town centre and especially whitestone cheeses. Definately the place to stay if stopping in Oamaru!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Highfield Mews bills itself as the newest motel in Oamaru and I believe it. Everything is new and spotlessly clean. The rooms are spacious and have all the self-catering conveniences to make your stay comfortable. A clothes washer and dryer are available to guests at the motel. The room price is very reasonable. We wouldn't hesitate to return to the Highfield Mews.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomtravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppers Crossing
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is by far the best motel we have stayed in for a long time. I love the cleanliness and the hosts were both extremely friendly without being in your face or too talkative. The apartment was spacious and luxurious the spa bath was an excellent way to spend to end a long day. The shower pressure is awesome. Excellent value for money. I would defiantly reccomend to people and would love too come and stay again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BidzHopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
255 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Welcomed by a friendly host - rooms were nice and clean with all mod cons. No road noise as my room was tucked around the back. Shower had the best water pressure I have ever had

Would stay again

The hotel had good security, po box key return

Room Tip: Get a room around the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
14.3 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#6 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#12 of 18 in Oamaru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ambassador Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
0.1 mi away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#7 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Mews, Oamaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Mews, Oamaru

Property: Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Address: Corner Thames & Exe Streets | GPS 26 Exe Street, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Highfield Mews, Oamaru 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and private executive Accommodation in a village like setting, Highfield Mews places you in the heart of Oamaru. Within easy walking distance of the town cafes, restaurants, shops and Historic Precinct, this new motel is ideal for both work and relaxation. Luxurious interiors complemented by unique design Highfield Mews is enhanced with many features and comforts including king size beds, double spa baths, 42" TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Highfield Mews, Oamaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing