We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and spotlessly clean Oamaru Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Highfield Mews bills itself as the newest motel in Oamaru and I believe it. Everything is new and spotlessly clean. The rooms are spacious and have all the self-catering conveniences to make your stay comfortable. A clothes washer and dryer are available to guests at the motel. The room price is very reasonable. We wouldn't hesitate to return to the Highfield Mews.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomtravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 350 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is by far the best motel we have stayed in for a long time. I love the cleanliness and the hosts were both extremely friendly without being in your face or too talkative. The apartment was spacious and luxurious the spa bath was an excellent way to spend to end a long day. The shower pressure is awesome. Excellent value for money. I would defiantly reccomend to people and would love too come and stay again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BidzHopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Welcomed by a friendly host - rooms were nice and clean with all mod cons. No road noise as my room was tucked around the back. Shower had the best water pressure I have ever had

Would stay again

The hotel had good security, po box key return

Room Tip: Get a room around the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Highfield Mews is a new development of self catering apartments. We received a really friendly greeting on our arrival and were given some milk and maps to help us with our stay. We stayed in apartment 18 and couldn't have been happier. It was a beautifully appointed ground floor chalet apartment, with a living room/kitchen, bedroom and exceptional bathroom. The shower really showed what is meant by a power shower - it was like standing underneath Niagara Falls - amazing! The kitchen had everything we needed - refrigerator, hob, toaster and coffee maker amongst others. The apartments are about a ten minute walk along the street to the main part of Oamaru (passing a supermarket) and a couple more minutes to the harbour where you can see penguins coming ashore after dusk. The stylishness of these apartments and friendly welcome really set this accommodation apart.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonkatruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The accommodation is very clean and fresh and new. The kitchen area is well equipped. The bed is in a separate room which makes it all very comfortable. There was a proper table to sit at. We requested ice and it was provided. We recommend this well located motel highly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cacl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The motel was booked by the travel agent so you never know what you will find. We loved our room. It was spacious, super clean, excellent facilities and I loved the spa. The staff were very friendly and gave us great information on local attractions and restaurants. Would definitely stay there again. Loved the town and the accommodation.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank AnneB157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Excellent Motel. I had booked the wrong date, but it was no problem to change it. The facilities were of a high standard, had everything we needed and more.The owners were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in quite a few motels on our trip, this was by far the best.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
14.3 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#7 of 18 in Oamaru
37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#10 of 18 in Oamaru
190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ASURE Ambassador Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
0.1 mi away
AAA Thames Court Motel
AAA Thames Court Motel
#4 of 18 in Oamaru
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Mews, Oamaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Mews, Oamaru

Address: Corner Thames & Exe Streets | GPS 26 Exe Street, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range: $110 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Highfield Mews, Oamaru 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and private executive Accommodation in a village like setting, Highfield Mews places you in the heart of Oamaru. Within easy walking distance of the town cafes, restaurants, shops and Historic Precinct, this new motel is ideal for both work and relaxation. Luxurious interiors complemented by unique design Highfield Mews is enhanced with many features and comforts including king size beds, double spa baths, 42" TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Highfield Mews, Oamaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing