We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most value for money place I've stayed in South Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I just random chose this motel after simply want through the recommendation in tripadvisor, and it really went beyond my expectation.
Every furniture and facility here is super clean and brand new, the bed is very comfortable (I had the best sleep thoughout the whole trip), and each detail created convenience. Especially the unlimited internet is surprisingly FAST!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guessland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 298 of 349 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed for a Saturday night in a ground floor unit, which was absolutely lovely.
However during the night we got a sudden loud sound of running water, turned out to be the unit above us filling their spa bath along with the bathroom fan running, during the course of the evening we heard water draining, water being used, the toilet flushing and the bathroom fan. Such a shame that this happened because apart from that it was great, definately a design fault with the plumbing. We would recommend staying in an upper floor unit, so as you don't get this noise.
We mentioned this to the owner/operater at check out, but he did not seem that interested, we suggest that he try sleeping in a ground floor unit with someone above using the bathroom facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janbru_2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Lovely stay in the cottage unit.

Arrived late at night to a fabulous warm, spacious, beautifully furnished room. The interior style was very comforting and the appliances were superior.

Very friendly and helpful.

Would definitely recommend to those wanting a break away

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJM1980_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

This Motel has extremely pleasant well appointed suites. Double glazing ensures one a quite sleep on an otherwise very busy road. Spa bath is the ultimate luxury We only had two nights and hope to return for a longer stay. Thank you for your friendly hospitality.

Room Tip: Upstairs has a lovely balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambridgeAnnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Excellent rooms, well fitted out. Great hosts and would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahC23_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Absolutely and definately the best place to stay in Oamaru. Their rooms are lovely, spacious, immaculate, warm, service is friendly. Bedding is of high quality, I loved the spa bath and we enjoyed the ambience of the room We stayed as a family of three in a room and my daughter was impressed to sleep on her own permanent bed - it was not just a make-shift or fold-out bed. We had such a good time in Oamaru and as Oamaru is sort of a halfway spot between the in-laws and ourselves, we thought to meet up in Oamaru with the in-laws in April (a month afterwards).

Unfortunately their family is large (consist of 5 people) and HIghfield Mews could accomodate them but they had to stay in a family rooms, which is basically 2 rooms at a discount. The in-laws were not willing to pay for 2 rooms and as we were meeting them it made sense for us all to stay in a motel where they could have one big room for the 5 of them and were we could have stayed in a smaller room . Unfortunately we as family were so spoiled with the good experience we had Highfield Mews that we didn't enjoy the other motel that much and ended up comparing the two motels. Obviousy Highfield Mews were the complete winner.

We plan to return to Oamaru soon and will stay at Highfield Mews this time!

Room Tip: Discuss your requirements with Ross or Debbie
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babalela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

This new accommodation is of a good standard - you will certainly be comfortable here.

Unfortunately we couldn't find anything to do in Oamaru apart from go to watch the penguins come in (which turned out to be a disappointment as they never turned up!)

Review of accommodation: Excellent but I would be inclined to spend an extra night in another part of NZ as we didn't find that Oamaru had much to offer.

Off-street parking readily available.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattMatt0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
14.3 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#7 of 18 in Oamaru
36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#9 of 18 in Oamaru
190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ASURE Ambassador Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
0.1 mi away
AAA Thames Court Motel
AAA Thames Court Motel
#4 of 18 in Oamaru
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Mews, Oamaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Mews, Oamaru

Address: Corner Thames & Exe Streets | GPS 26 Exe Street, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range: $111 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Highfield Mews, Oamaru 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and private executive Accommodation in a village like setting, Highfield Mews places you in the heart of Oamaru. Within easy walking distance of the town cafes, restaurants, shops and Historic Precinct, this new motel is ideal for both work and relaxation. Luxurious interiors complemented by unique design Highfield Mews is enhanced with many features and comforts including king size beds, double spa baths, 42" TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Highfield Mews, Oamaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing