We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely new motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oamaru Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“lovely new motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed one night while touring the south island and enjoyed our stay. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Room was a king studio room, not a lot of room for suitcases etc. Did have a kitchenette which is handy when travelling but not much room for meal prepartion. Also the bed was very comfortable, which is important when travelling to get a good nights sleep. They did have foxtel 50+ channels which may partner really enjoyed as the cricket was on! They have a good deal going with one of the local restaurants "The Last Post" where you can order your meal from the restaurant and it is delivered to your room. Great idea. We did this and had a fanastic meal, they even catered for my gluten/lactose intolerant partner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miffcolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzzieservice, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks very much for the review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay - I will pass on your lovely comments to our reception staff. Cheers. Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    44
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
90
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed for one night whilst travelling in New Zealand having read good reviews on Trip Adviser. We were not disappointed. We received a warm welcome and an upgraded to a larger unit? The accommodation was so well equipped we regretted not staying longer to use everything - much better than most of the places we stayed and very good value for money. Despite being on the main road it was quiet and we had a good night's sleep.
The only negative was not really the fault of the hotel. We asked them to book us a taxi into the town and back so that we could go out for a meal without having to drive. The taxi arrived ok on the way out but failed to turn up for the return journey - apparently there is only one taxi company and only one driver on duty and he had received a better offer! Advice therefore is to stick to your own transport and forgo the wine with dinner!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thanks very much for your kind review - much appreciated. Sorry you had taxi problems. We do a lot of business with Whitestone Taxis and find them excellent. (They deliver the restaurant meals from The Last Post into the motel for our guests). They have several taxis working any one night and are normally prompt and efficient. I am sorry I can't help you further on that one and it is disappointing - its all part of the total Oamaru experience which should be top notch!. Cheers. Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had two rooms booked at this place, one for a couple, and one for a family of three. Everything was impeccably clean and tidy and well maintained. Nice touches were added such as a well equipped kitchenette, sky TV and a lovely high pressure shower. They were happy to accommodate early arrivals and were very friendly and welcoming. Comfy beds, and a great night sleep were to be had for both nights we stayed. Highly recommended, and easy access to town via walking or driving.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackenzie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you very much for the very kind review. Much appreciated. The girls do a great job so thanks for passing that on. Also thanks for staying 2 nights in Oamaru - we love people who take 2 days to explore our lovely region. Cheers. Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
116 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We arrived in the late afternoon for an overnight stay. We were told we were upgraded to a larger room - this had a king and a single so the room was wider. We had planned to go out but the weather was a bit dismal so we opted to stay and enjoy an evening in. The motel is easy to find and has places to eat close by (fish and chips next door). The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had a nice shower and was spotless. The units has decent kitchen facilities as well. WIFI was free for 2 hours. the price was extra 30 mins. $5/2 hours $10, 6 hours $20). Our unit was on the upper level so we had to carry our luggage but was not a big problem for us. There are staircases on either side of the building to use. My only issue with the unit we were in is that the main source of light, and the only entry into the unit, is the large patio door that opens onto the common verandah. There were people crossing right in front of the door back and forth so there was no privacy unless we closed the curtains - then there was only a little natural light from a small kitchen window on the other side of the unit. There are small table & chair sets on the common verandah for people to use but not right in front of each unit. I think there are some units that may have been more private but we did not bother to ask since we were only there for one night. Even though the motel is on the main road through Oamaru we did not experience any traffic noise.

Room Tip: Try to select get a room that will have a more private table/chairs outside and less traffic past th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianIslanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hello. Thanks for your review. Sorry you had privacy problems. The glass is coloured for privacy looking outside in. Also, the lovely shear drops we have can be pulled for additional privacy without the need to pull the curtains. I can assure you they do the job! Cheers. Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We came upon this beautiful Motel simply by chance as we were looking for accommodation in Oamaru.We ending up spending two nights .(March,2014).The motel was a short drive to the city centre and the senic spots in the area.The suite was very clean with all the essential amenities and was tastefully furnitured.The TV had a variety of channels to chose from.
We will not hesitate in staying at this Motel in the future and we highly recommend this accommodation to travellers visiting Oamaru.
Cecil S.
Alberta Canada

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thanks very much for the kind review. And we are pleased you stayed two nights in our lovely area! We appreciate you staying with us. Cheers. Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

The room was clean and tidy, modern and well maintained. The bed was comfortable this is the second time I Have stayed here and will return again. Easy to book and the staff friendly. Access to the town easy.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thanks for coming back. Hope we can host you again. Cheers. Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Highly recommend this motel, it is modern, clean and the bed was really comfortable.
There is a dairy across the road for those ice creams at night after a long day and the lady there the 2 nights we stayed was lovely and friendly, would definitely stay again :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenjnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thanks for the lovely review. Jude and Marg do a great job - thank you! Cheers. Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
15.0 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#7 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#11 of 18 in Oamaru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ambassador Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.6 mi away
AAA Thames Court Motel
AAA Thames Court Motel
#4 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oamaru Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oamaru Motor Lodge

Property: Oamaru Motor Lodge
Address: 391 Thames Highway, Oamaru, New Zealand (Formerly 391 Oamaru Motor Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oamaru Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oamaru's superior accommodation complex where "great value is only the begining!!" 15 stylish suites and apartments, double-glazed for quiet and warmth. Spacious studio units sleep couple or twin, double-corner spa baths, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom family apartments, access facilities. All units with tea/coffee-making facilities and microwaves with hotplates and frypans available.Some with fully equipped kitchens with electric range. Lovely bathrooms, king-size beds, electric blankets/heating, work stations, wireless broadband, phone, LCD TVs with 50+ Sky TV channels. Cooked and continental breakfasts. All units are non-smoking with ashtrays provided on outdoor seating directly adjacent unit door. Guest laundry available. Ample off-street parking. Pet friendly by arrangement. Courtesy vehicle. Restaurant 50 metres across road, choice of F & C shops, bakery and retail shops 100 metres from motel. Located on Thames Highway close to A&P showgrounds, Sports Stadium, high schools. Experience the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oamaru Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing