We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet”
Review of Oamaru Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
256 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

A nice modern Motor lodge, all mod cons. Friendly staff and quiet. No road noise, so that was good. Room was tidy, modern clean, we stayed here for 5 nights over xmas, diary across the road and a decent fish n chip shop 1 minutes walk away, what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thanks for the kind review. I'm pleased the f and c's were good. One of the prime reasons why I pick a motel to stay in! Terrible eh. Thanks again. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    44
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
91
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

What a lovely place to chill out, the units we had, had a spa, lovely.... and the unit was so clean and tidy, and had up to date equipment, 50 sky channels, and the little extra touches made this place special! The owners were so lovely and couldn't do enough to help us out for recommendations around town while we were there. Was a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you very much for the kind review. Always a pleasure to host the domestic tourist having a look at our lovely region. Cheers. Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed for one night with our three children and wished we had stayed longer. The room was impeccably clean with new facilities. Although on a busy road, the unit was very quiet. The owners are lovely and helpful. We wished we had stayed longer in Oamaru to explore this beautiful little town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EliRPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for the cool review. Yes Jude and Marg are doing a great job in front office. And yes Oamaru is worth a couple of nights stay now as a lot of people are finding out. Thanks again. Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Very friendly owner, well maintained and clean room. The double spa bath was amazing! Also, pets are allowed which is a major plus for people travelling with them. The room was well laid out, nothing was missing and there were plenty of sky channels. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you very much for the kind review. A pleasure to host you. Cheers. Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottenhoefen im Schwarzwald, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

This was one of the better motels that we choose during our 4 week stay. Nothing was missing - little kitchen was fully equipped, big bathroom. Everything was nice decorated and new. The motel is located on the main road and 15 min walk to town center. The rooms are quite good quietened and not too noisy. Wifi for two hours is a bit poor.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for that. We only limit the free wifi to 2 hours per day to avoid the download of movies which is a significant cost to us. Most guests find this adequate on holiday (corporates receive unlimited free) however we are always negotiable !Cheers. Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Just what we were looking for. Spacious, clean, modern 2 bedroom family unit. We were a family of four.

The toilet was modern and clean as well- really impressive. The kitchen utilities are complete as well. The place was quiet with the double glazed windows.

The host was helpful and gave us a late checkout.

Would definitely come back if I come by oamaru again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Duffgleamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a lovely comment. Much appreciated. Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night between bluff and Christchurch, as it's just over half way. Spent the day exploring the Catlins so were tired when arrived. Greeted well by the female owner who assisted us with suggestions for dinner and seeing the penguins. Room was functional and clean and we got a 'grab-a-bed' price on line for 120 NZD. Traffic noise can be a bit noisy but that would be so with all the motels along the highway. We would recommend this place for a stopover.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 2011Marg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thanks for the review. All rooms are soundproofed and double glazed and you are correct it is difficult on a main road. Hope you enjoyed your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
15.0 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#6 of 18 in Oamaru
36 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#11 of 18 in Oamaru
181 reviews
0.7 mi away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ambassador Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Oamaru
143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
0.8 mi away
Northstar
Northstar
#5 of 18 in Oamaru
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oamaru Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oamaru Motor Lodge

Property: Oamaru Motor Lodge
Address: 391 Thames Highway, Oamaru, New Zealand (Formerly 391 Oamaru Motor Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oamaru Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oamaru's superior accommodation complex where "great value is only the begining!!" 15 stylish suites and apartments, double-glazed for quiet and warmth. Spacious studio units sleep couple or twin, double-corner spa baths, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom family apartments, access facilities. All units with tea/coffee-making facilities and microwaves with hotplates and frypans available.Some with fully equipped kitchens with electric range. Lovely bathrooms, king-size beds, electric blankets/heating, work stations, wireless broadband, phone, LCD TVs with 50+ Sky TV channels. Cooked and continental breakfasts. All units are non-smoking with ashtrays provided on outdoor seating directly adjacent unit door. Guest laundry available. Ample off-street parking. Pet friendly by arrangement. Courtesy vehicle. Restaurant 50 metres across road, choice of F & C shops, bakery and retail shops 100 metres from motel. Located on Thames Highway close to A&P showgrounds, Sports Stadium, high schools. Experience the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oamaru Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing