We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, new and a good place to start”
Review of Oamaru Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

This was one of the better motels that we choose during our 4 week stay. Nothing was missing - little kitchen was fully equipped, big bathroom. Everything was nice decorated and new. The motel is located on the main road and 15 min walk to town center. The rooms are quite good quietened and not too noisy. Wifi for two hours is a bit poor.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Gabriel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thanks for that. We only limit the free wifi to 2 hours per day to avoid the download of movies which is a significant cost to us. Most guests find this adequate on holiday (corporates receive unlimited free) however we are always negotiable !Cheers. Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 191 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Just what we were looking for. Spacious, clean, modern 2 bedroom family unit. We were a family of four.

The toilet was modern and clean as well- really impressive. The kitchen utilities are complete as well. The place was quiet with the double glazed windows.

The host was helpful and gave us a late checkout.

Would definitely come back if I come by oamaru again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Duffgleamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a lovely comment. Much appreciated. Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night between bluff and Christchurch, as it's just over half way. Spent the day exploring the Catlins so were tired when arrived. Greeted well by the female owner who assisted us with suggestions for dinner and seeing the penguins. Room was functional and clean and we got a 'grab-a-bed' price on line for 120 NZD. Traffic noise can be a bit noisy but that would be so with all the motels along the highway. We would recommend this place for a stopover.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank 2011Marg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thanks for the review. All rooms are soundproofed and double glazed and you are correct it is difficult on a main road. Hope you enjoyed your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This motel is exactly as seen and described on its website. It is immaculately clean, smart and efficiently run. A lot of thought has been given to ensuring you have everything you need, from toiletries and accessories in the bathroom, to tea and coffee provisions. The guest information is clear and plentiful and includes numerous menus from local cafés and restaurants. There is even a local restaurant that delivers full meals to your unit.

Our only problem was with the pillows, which seemed soft enough but overnight experience proved otherwise, leaving us with aching necks.

The staff are efficient and helpful and we would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you very much for the kind review. Our project last month was bed lights which we are currently upgrading. We will make pillows our next project - very valuable to get such comment, thank you. Cheers. Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is my second review of this motel with regards to our stay in November, as the original review showed an overall rating of 3 (average) for some reason when my intention was a 5 (excellent). Our stay was for 2 nights and we could easily have stayed longer if we had the time. Lovely modern motel, very friendly staff, good sized room, very comfy bed, great shower, and we couldn't believe how quiet it was, given that it is quite close to the main highway. Perfect for our stay, couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbiew100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

What can I say Debbie - you are a legend! Thank you for going to all this trouble to post this additional review. We owe you one - be sure you make contact with us should you stay again. Merry Christmas! Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Lovely modern motel, good sized room, very comfy bed, great shower, and we couldn't believe how quiet it was, given that it is quite close to the main highway. Perfect for our stay, couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Hello Debbie. Thanks very much for the kind review which is very much appreciated. 5 from 5 in all categories really pleases thank you -I don't know how to say this kindly though. The 3 from 5 overall score is the one that counts! Anyhow we hope you enjoyed Oamaru and thanks for staying. Cheers. Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I made a mistake with my reservations and got the dates wrong. However, Judy the manager was extremely accommodating and sorted out the rooms for us. She even manage to stay close to the original quoted price.

She was really helpful about local information and recommended a great restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamarthGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Hello. Thanks for the kind review. All in a days work for Jude and Marg on reception. They do do well and I'm pleased they were able to accommodate your booking alteration. Thanks for staying. Cheers Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
15 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#7 of 18 in Oamaru
39 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#10 of 18 in Oamaru
197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ASURE Ambassador Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
AAA Thames Court Motel
AAA Thames Court Motel
#4 of 18 in Oamaru
137 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oamaru Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oamaru Motor Lodge

Address: 391 Thames Highway, Oamaru, New Zealand (Formerly 391 Oamaru Motor Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range: $111 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oamaru Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oamaru's superior accommodation complex where "great value is only the begining!!" 15 stylish suites and apartments, double-glazed for quiet and warmth. Spacious studio units sleep couple or twin, double-corner spa baths, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom family apartments, access facilities. All units with tea/coffee-making facilities and microwaves with hotplates and frypans available.Some with fully equipped kitchens with electric range. Lovely bathrooms, king-size beds, electric blankets/heating, work stations, wireless broadband, phone, LCD TVs with 50+ Sky TV channels. Cooked and continental breakfasts. All units are non-smoking with ashtrays provided on outdoor seating directly adjacent unit door. Guest laundry available. Ample off-street parking. Pet friendly by arrangement. Courtesy vehicle. Restaurant 50 metres across road, choice of F & C shops, bakery and retail shops 100 metres from motel. Located on Thames Highway close to A&P showgrounds, Sports Stadium, high schools. Experience the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Oamaru Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing