We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived up to promise and expectations.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oamaru Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lived up to promise and expectations.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

This motel is exactly as seen and described on its website. It is immaculately clean, smart and efficiently run. A lot of thought has been given to ensuring you have everything you need, from toiletries and accessories in the bathroom, to tea and coffee provisions. The guest information is clear and plentiful and includes numerous menus from local cafés and restaurants. There is even a local restaurant that delivers full meals to your unit.

Our only problem was with the pillows, which seemed soft enough but overnight experience proved otherwise, leaving us with aching necks.

The staff are efficient and helpful and we would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind review. Our project last month was bed lights which we are currently upgrading. We will make pillows our next project - very valuable to get such comment, thank you. Cheers. Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    43
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
89
2
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is my second review of this motel with regards to our stay in November, as the original review showed an overall rating of 3 (average) for some reason when my intention was a 5 (excellent). Our stay was for 2 nights and we could easily have stayed longer if we had the time. Lovely modern motel, very friendly staff, good sized room, very comfy bed, great shower, and we couldn't believe how quiet it was, given that it is quite close to the main highway. Perfect for our stay, couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbiew100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
What can I say Debbie - you are a legend! Thank you for going to all this trouble to post this additional review. We owe you one - be sure you make contact with us should you stay again. Merry Christmas! Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Lovely modern motel, good sized room, very comfy bed, great shower, and we couldn't believe how quiet it was, given that it is quite close to the main highway. Perfect for our stay, couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hello Debbie. Thanks very much for the kind review which is very much appreciated. 5 from 5 in all categories really pleases thank you -I don't know how to say this kindly though. The 3 from 5 overall score is the one that counts! Anyhow we hope you enjoyed Oamaru and thanks for staying. Cheers. Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I made a mistake with my reservations and got the dates wrong. However, Judy the manager was extremely accommodating and sorted out the rooms for us. She even manage to stay close to the original quoted price.

She was really helpful about local information and recommended a great restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamarthGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hello. Thanks for the kind review. All in a days work for Jude and Marg on reception. They do do well and I'm pleased they were able to accommodate your booking alteration. Thanks for staying. Cheers Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely stay here and would definitely recommend it. The room was lovely and modern and spotlessly clean. The bed was comfy and the shower was large. It was the little touches though that really made the difference - the hand soap in the bathroom which so many places don't have, and the maccona coffee and lovely hot chocolate. Plus helpful friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hello. Thanks for staying and for the kind review. It is the little extras that we tried hard with so we are really pleased you noticed these. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Family of 3 visiting New Zealand for the 1st time. Kind & helpful staff. Clean, modern, spacious accommodations. Stayed in a 2-bedroom unit. Nicely stocked kitchen. Comfortable beds. Despite being just off the highway, the property is very quiet! Short drive into town/penguin viewing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BearFam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks very much for the excellent review. Very pleased you visited Oamaru and enjoyed our town. Cheers. Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay overnight recently in a two bedroom apartment. The interior of the room was modern and everything was very clean. We were pleasantly surprised that, even though the motel is on a busy highway, the apartment was very quiet. Within walking distance are two or three take away shops. We enjoyed the Indian restaurant just a few more minutes walk north. Very handy when you've been travelling all day. There was even a small supermarket opposite the Indian restaurant and we were able to easily stock up on a few things. We would have liked to have stayed another few days but we had to press on. We would highly recommend this motel for a comfortable stay for a family at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FarmFam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzzieservice, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind review. Couldn't agree more! Its a pleasure to host considerate people. Heat pump about to be installed to improve things further. Cheers. Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
15.0 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#6 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#9 of 18 in Oamaru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ambassador Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oamaru Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oamaru Motor Lodge

Property: Oamaru Motor Lodge
Address: 391 Thames Highway, Oamaru, New Zealand (Formerly 391 Oamaru Motor Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oamaru Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oamaru's superior accommodation complex where "great value is only the begining!!" 15 stylish suites and apartments, double-glazed for quiet and warmth. Spacious studio units sleep couple or twin, double-corner spa baths, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom family apartments, access facilities. All units with tea/coffee-making facilities and microwaves with hotplates and frypans available.Some with fully equipped kitchens with electric range. Lovely bathrooms, king-size beds, electric blankets/heating, work stations, wireless broadband, phone, LCD TVs with 50+ Sky TV channels. Cooked and continental breakfasts. All units are non-smoking with ashtrays provided on outdoor seating directly adjacent unit door. Guest laundry available. Ample off-street parking. Pet friendly by arrangement. Courtesy vehicle. Restaurant 50 metres across road, choice of F & C shops, bakery and retail shops 100 metres from motel. Located on Thames Highway close to A&P showgrounds, Sports Stadium, high schools. Experience the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Oamaru Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing