We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Midway Motel
Nearby Hotels
$88
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Northstar(Oamaru)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$82
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$99
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel Oamaru(Oamaru)(Great Value!)
$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Motel(Oamaru)(Great Value!)
$70
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mill House(Oamaru)(Great Value!)
$72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveler rating
93
41
10
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
41
10
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble glazed windowsthe main roadgreat place to stayone nightclose to shopshot showerupstairs roomlong drivegood sizepenguin colonycomfortable bedsmotelnzheatertownwifikeys
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 150 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Very pleasant stay in a well equipped and comfortable room. Ken and Karen were very helpful with information on local activities (including penguin watch) which were spot on. The balcony with table and chairs was ideal to enjoy the evening sun. Plenty of parking. On main road but set back, so quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Travelling solo on a motor cycle around NZ I arrived at the Midway motel on a wet afternoon. Karen ushered me into a dry parking area for the bike and offered to dry any wet clothing before I had even booked in. That was just the start of the great service I got from Karen and Ken. Nothing was too much trouble and Karen and Ken were a wealth of information about Oamaru and the local area. The Motel is not the newest motel but the rooms were extremely tidy and comfortable. My stay in Oamaru was greatly enhanced staying at the Midway motel and have no hesitation recommending this motel to anyone travelling in the area.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Karen & Ken so friendly and are so keen to make your stay a pleasant one. Our room had a nice veranda facing afternoon and evening sun, ideal an evening drink. Spotlessly clean,roomy and well equipped. Helpful directions to points of interest in Oamaru, which are many and very quirky. The Victorian precinct is full of interesting and arty shops. If you are moving on to the North their son runs a motel in Ashburton, and like theirs it is well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We went to participate in the North Otago A & P Show recently and just managed to book into Midway Motel, it was very clean and inviting. The owner Karen was aware that my wife had a problem with her back as she had fell off standing on a chair the night before and we still had to go to a job at Burnham Army camp that night, so she gave my wife some ointment and some painkiller pills which made the night easier and she told her to keep hold of them to use.. When we returned at 2am the lights had been turned on and homemade cake was waiting. So she went over and above the call of duty, needless to say we would return

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philnbev7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had another wonderful stay at the Midway Motel in Oamaru. What wonderful hosts Karen and Ken are! So thoughtful - last time when it was cold we came 'home' to our heaters on and this time when it was hot the curtains were closed to keep the heat out. What wonderful, thoughtful touches. We are always made to feel so welcome and told about the local attractions and things that are happening in the area. Thanks again for a great time!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews