We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Midway Motel

Midway Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Midway Motel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Boston, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fine Motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Karen's motel "289 The Midway" on January 30, 2013. The owner Karen was awesome. She was extremely helpful in getting us oriented to Oamaru. We were interested in trying to see wild Penguins and Karen gave us some tips as to where and when to look. We did see some yellow eyed penguins on the beach at dusk thanks to her.

The motel itself is well equipped and very clean. Our room even had a small oven in addition to the microwave so we were able to go to the grocery store and get something that could go into the oven. Not all motels at this price in NZ had baking ovens. WIFI was good and free. The price was very reasonable. We felt that we got excellent value for our money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goattonsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    37
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
34
64
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I had the dis pleasure of staying at another motel in Oamaru and chose this place named Midway Motel to carry on my stay/s. I used to live in Christchurch and stayed in Oamaru on regular occasions and found Midway to be very friendly,comfortable,warm,inviting,exciting people,clean,spaceous and run by two of the most happy people I have ever met. Karen and Ken are so bubbly and full of information about Oamaru. They always had smiles on thier faces and were always very helpful to my needs. I would always stay here on my trips and suggest you do the same.

Room Tip: Rooms are all open to the west and get heaps of sun . Always warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Karen made us feel so welcome and comfortable in this clean and tidy 1970s era motel. She brought us fresh baked cake loaf and gave us free WiFi codes. The trampoline out front is perfect for jump-shot photos!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have a great stay in this motel. Accomodation was at a premium in Oamaru when we stayed and the owner found us a studio and an adjoining bedroom for the children. Very helpful with providing information on local activities and restaurants.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank alk3714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Got a really friendly welcome at the Midway which was appreciated as I was looking to change from where I was! Great value for money and just a short walk into the centre of Oamaru. On site parking too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our stay broke up our long drive and allowed us to re-charge our batteries. The owner was very friendly and helpful, the homemade cake was a lovely touch as well as delicious!
Good sized fully equipped rooms.
Play area for those travelling with children.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you have lots of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The owner is very helpful in giving tips about her town and even helped us carry our things to the room. She will spend the time to tell you the highlights and is very proud of it. The rooms are clean and homey. In our room there was only a shower which was just an ok one. We went during peak season so it is a bit more than I wanted to pay but that was the going price at the time. It was very good for a night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
14.3 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#7 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#11 of 18 in Oamaru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AAA Thames Court Motel
AAA Thames Court Motel
#4 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ambassador Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midway Motel

Property: Midway Motel
Address: 289 Thames Street, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Midway Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Midway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing