We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chillawhile Backpackers Art Gallery
Ranked #17 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Oamaru
Utrecht
1 review
“Simply”
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Staying at Chillforawhile backpackers, you will find yourself in a very relaxing atmosphere and it gives right to the name of the hostel. CHILL! The hippie-style works very well in meeting new people and the 3 very clean kitchens make it possible to cook, without waiting for, or cleaning up other peoples mess!! If you feel like it you can grab a guitar, or just sit in one of the 2 shared rooms.
The bedrooms are very basic, but again clean and functional.

Although I was a little sceptic when I arrived, after 10 minutes I was really amazed by the vibe this place breathes. I can honoustly say: staying here is great and when I return, I'll stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joepvermaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    5
    5
    7
See reviews for
6
12
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Our extended family stayed at Chillawhile for for about 10 days at the end of 2010. In all there were 17 of us and we all had a great time. The park out the front was good for soccer and other games, We managed to cook a Xmas dinner for 25. My sisters and I grew up in Oamaru and we came back with our children to celebrate our mother's birthday and Xmas. It was a really affordable holiday and the large building where we could all be together was a huge bonus. It was the most relaxing holiday i have had as we were all in neutral space and so we did not feel as if we were imposing on each others lives.

Kelly let us have exclusive use of the house and I would recommend it to a large group any time. Chillawhile is very childs friendly and can handle a large number of people probably many more than our group of 17.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1811027Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2010

An amazing place to stay - friendly staff, friendly guests. The perfect place to stay for anyone, be it solo, or as a family. Even more perfect for artists and musicians, but don't let that stop you if you are neither, then it doesn't matter - anyone is welcome here. Kelly is a brilliant host, and will help you with all your tourist needs. Best place I've stayed at in New Zealand by a long way. Stay at Chillawhile. There's nothing to not like about it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qwerty41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We loved our stay here. We have 3 small children and they had plenty of space to play and the opportunity to paint their own works of art. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The kids enjoyed the communal breakfast area, getting to meet people from many different countries. Highly recommend Chillawhile to other families.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fone38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
97 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

We stayed with our 2 boys at this hostel. It is run by a very nice lady. The hostel is very nice. The room was big and even had a couch in it. The doors can not be locked which is quite special. However nothing went missing and it was a relaxing stay. The kitchen is not big but you can find what you need in it. The gallery part was fun to look at.
The lounge is big and there are enough games to keep the kids happy.
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane, australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2009

Most sociable, friendly backpackers I've stayed in. Very friendly staff. Enjoyed Goodbye Pork Pie!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohmiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

Hostels aren't my favorite places to stay, but Chillawhile is proving to be a good spot to spend some time and enjoy Oamaru. The property is housed in one of the town's early buildings, so it has a lot of character, and the current owner has added to the feel of the place with the art gallery, cinema room and lounge areas. The rooms are big and light, and the beds are comfy. It's not a huge place, so you don't have to compete for your share of space.

The perks here are really nice, too. There's free Internet and Wi-Fi access, so it's easy to stay in touch with home. Breakfast is also included - cereal, toast and tea, but it's better than nothing - and there's a wee park just out front.

The only downsides are that the building is a bit old, so the rooms aren't the warmest, and it is about a 20-30 minute walk from town. But the pros outweigh the cons, making Chillawhile a really good value for the budget-minded.

  • Liked — Nice free extras with stay
  • Disliked — Distance from town
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TradMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
15.2 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#6 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Backpackers
1.7 mi away
Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Waitaki Waters Holiday Park
1.8 mi away
Swaggers Backpackers
Swaggers Backpackers
#16 of 20 in Oamaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chillawhile Backpackers Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chillawhile Backpackers Art Gallery

Property: Chillawhile Backpackers Art Gallery
Address: 1 Frome Street, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chillawhile Backpackers Art Gallery 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chill-A-While featured on Getaway Australia as Oamaru's creative destination for artists and musicians and is highly recommended by Lonely Planet.Lonely Planet reviewUnleash your creative spirit at this funky and colourful hostel in a restored two-story Victorian residence. Guests are encouraged to draw and paint, or create sweet soul music on the hostel's guitars, pianos, didgeridoo and African drums. With all that creative energy, there's definitely a laid back social vibe, and Chillawhile is one of NZ's best and most unique hostels.Off street parking, secured bike shelter and bike hire, ZENBU WiFi. Age Restricted Dorms, Heated Rooms, Atomic Shuttle Bus Service drop off and pick up at Chillawhile.Official Check in 4pm-9pm, Late check out 11.30am - late self check ins are possible for our private rooms advance payment is required, free luggage storage for guests arriving early by bus.Age restricted dormitory rooms 18 years to 38 yearsHostel age restricted 50 years and underNo age restrictions for families staying in our family room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chillawhile Backpackers Art Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing