We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super place with great atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chillawhile Backpackers Art Gallery
Ranked #18 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Oamaru
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“super place with great atmosphere”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

once i saw the last review i just had to comment, this place is great, what a hostel should be not too loud not too quite a place for people to have fun ! and i really don't know how close sacha is used to having a bath room though there is one with in 10m of every room, i think perhaps next time they should stay in a hotel and leave lovely places like this to real travellers !

Room Tip: they are all great pick the one that is right for you, though if your used to a hotel go to a hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    5
    5
    8
See reviews for
6
13
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Felt like a commune. Our room was on the main floor right next door to reception and incredibly loud until very late at night. Joint bathroom quite far from the room, and kitchen standard can barely be ranked average. Would not choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sacha423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillawhile, Owner at Chillawhile Backpackers Art Gallery, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Chillawhile Hostel radiates a communal environment, not quite like a commercial venture.

Sometimes when experienced older backpackers stay with us whom backpacked the world when they were young - they tell us that they are astounded because they found some where like it use to be.

It is what so many people love about Chillawhile, however if that is not what you are looking for - then perhaps you may not get the most out of staying at Chillawhile Backpackers Art Gallery.

There are 3 kitchens at Chillawhile Backpackers Art Gallery and we are a small hostel of 29 guests, so plenty of room for cooking and baking for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oamaru hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Chillawhile Backpackers is in a beautiful Victorian house.There's an art gallery and very nice communal area. I really liked the atmosphere of the place, it was so relaxed and homelike. One of the best hostels I've evere stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SleepingMona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

A truly unique place - fantastic welcome, amazing staff, enormous room for our family. We enjoyed the true "backpacker" community spirit at the Lucky Pot Supper. The building has wonderful character and the artwork is varied and displayed beautifully. There was a wealth of information shared about the local area and we immediately felt "at home" here. The kitchen was well equipped and the keypads on the door meant that we didnt have to worry about lost keys! The late check out made a welcome change also. Would love to return here to explore the area further - Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyworld2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Staying at Chillforawhile backpackers, you will find yourself in a very relaxing atmosphere and it gives right to the name of the hostel. CHILL! The hippie-style works very well in meeting new people and the 3 very clean kitchens make it possible to cook, without waiting for, or cleaning up other peoples mess!! If you feel like it you can grab a guitar, or just sit in one of the 2 shared rooms.
The bedrooms are very basic, but again clean and functional.

Although I was a little sceptic when I arrived, after 10 minutes I was really amazed by the vibe this place breathes. I can honoustly say: staying here is great and when I return, I'll stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joepvermaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Our extended family stayed at Chillawhile for for about 10 days at the end of 2010. In all there were 17 of us and we all had a great time. The park out the front was good for soccer and other games, We managed to cook a Xmas dinner for 25. My sisters and I grew up in Oamaru and we came back with our children to celebrate our mother's birthday and Xmas. It was a really affordable holiday and the large building where we could all be together was a huge bonus. It was the most relaxing holiday i have had as we were all in neutral space and so we did not feel as if we were imposing on each others lives.

Kelly let us have exclusive use of the house and I would recommend it to a large group any time. Chillawhile is very childs friendly and can handle a large number of people probably many more than our group of 17.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1811027Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2010

An amazing place to stay - friendly staff, friendly guests. The perfect place to stay for anyone, be it solo, or as a family. Even more perfect for artists and musicians, but don't let that stop you if you are neither, then it doesn't matter - anyone is welcome here. Kelly is a brilliant host, and will help you with all your tourist needs. Best place I've stayed at in New Zealand by a long way. Stay at Chillawhile. There's nothing to not like about it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qwerty41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
1.4 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#11 of 18 in Oamaru
181 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#6 of 18 in Oamaru
36 reviews
1.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
340 reviews
1.8 mi away
Swaggers Backpackers
Swaggers Backpackers
#16 of 20 in Oamaru
18 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chillawhile Backpackers Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chillawhile Backpackers Art Gallery

Property: Chillawhile Backpackers Art Gallery
Address: 1 Frome Street, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chillawhile Backpackers Art Gallery 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chill-A-While featured on Getaway Australia as Oamaru's creative destination for artists and musicians and is highly recommended by Lonely Planet.Lonely Planet reviewUnleash your creative spirit at this funky and colourful hostel in a restored two-story Victorian residence. Guests are encouraged to draw and paint, or create sweet soul music on the hostel's guitars, pianos, didgeridoo and African drums. With all that creative energy, there's definitely a laid back social vibe, and Chillawhile is one of NZ's best and most unique hostels.Off street parking, secured bike shelter and bike hire, ZENBU WiFi. Age Restricted Dorms, Heated Rooms, Atomic Shuttle Bus Service drop off and pick up at Chillawhile.Official Check in 4pm-9pm, Late check out 11.30am - late self check ins are possible for our private rooms advance payment is required, free luggage storage for guests arriving early by bus.Age restricted dormitory rooms 18 years to 38 yearsHostel age restricted 50 years and underNo age restrictions for families staying in our family room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chillawhile Backpackers Art Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing