We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atiria and her kids are a gem”
Review of Avenue Motel

Avenue Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avenue Motel
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Atiria and her kids are a gem”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Stayed in the budget room for a night.
Great for a stopover in oamaru. A bit dated but everything was in working condition.
Quiet location off the main road, free parking directly in front of unit. No charges for below 2 year olds.
Free wi-fi!!
Extremely helpful owners, kids are absolutely lovely and adorable.
Ten min drive to the penguins.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
22
30
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Nice Motel. suit for family traveller. My family and i love it very much. Lovely enviroment. It's a family run motel. owener are very friendly and his kids is so lovely.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YF_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I booked a budget room but got upgraded to unit with full kitchen, Although rather dated it is comfortable and spacious with separate bedroom and comfortable beds. Although motel is on the main road the units are behind the owners accommodation, therefore blocking alot of road noise, we found it pretty quiet. Supermarket is only a short walk away. Enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Qld
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed at the Avenue Motel for one night only as we were in Oamaru to see the penguins. This is a basic motel which was good value and the owners are very friendly. The room was quite spacious and self contained; the motel is quite old but very comfortable. The motel is on the main road about 2km north of the centre of town and is about a 10 minute drive from the Blue and Yellow Eyed Penguin colonies. The traffic on the main road got busy from about 8am onwards so we couldn't sleep any later than this. Would definitely recommend as a good base for seeing the penguins.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanMish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This place is such great value for money. It is a bit dated, but extremely clean and spacious, and looks like it has just had a makeover. The best part was the owners. They are so lovely that you just really want them to succeed. The customer service was outstanding. They gave us a port-a-cot all made up for our baby, and even invited our other daughter around to see the rabbits they got for Christmas. We loved our stay there, felt really relaxed and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy01NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I stayed in the budget room. Apparently it’s called the budget room as it has a microwave instead of a stove. But that’s where the ‘budgetness’ ended. The unit was very comfortable with a large lounge, separate bedroom, kitchen and bathroom.

The unit was basic, but very clean, very spacious, and comfortable. The entire complex has obviously had a recent spruce up and looked very nice and tidy.

The owners were very accommodating as well and left a key out for me when I arrived very late at night.

The rooms are set well back from the street so was nice and quiet.

The only improvement I would suggest is a standalone ironing board for the laundry. The built in shelf setup sufficed, but was a little awkward to use.

Excellent value for money, basic accommodation. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QRHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We only stayed here one night as we were in Oamaru mainly to see the Blue Penguin Colony. Our room was lovely and spotless. It was outside of town a bit but not far and was great for our short stay there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keukarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
15.7 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#6 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.9 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#11 of 18 in Oamaru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Colonial Lodge Motel
Colonial Lodge Motel
#12 of 18 in Oamaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.3 mi away
AAA Thames Court Motel
AAA Thames Court Motel
#4 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.3 mi away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Motel

Property: Avenue Motel
Address: 473 Thames Highway, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avenue Motel offers 10 immaculate units at very reasonable rates. You have a choice of studio, 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom units. The accommodation complex of two main blocks has been designed so that all units are on ground floor for convenience with parking at your door and all units are away from the main road for privacy and quietness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Avenue Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing