We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true homestay!”
Review of Homestay Oamaru

Homestay Oamaru
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oamaru
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homestay Oamaru
Ranked #18 of 27 Oamaru B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A true homestay!”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Staying here is truly like living in the host, Doug's home. We were the only guests then and stayed in the West Room. The room was fairly spacious, the ensuite bathroom was also huge and clean. It was a very comfortable and homely room. Doug was friendly and hospitable, and welcomed us with a drink and chat in his lovely lounge. Doug's place is situated on top of a slope (car required to get to town, though only a 5 min drive) so the view from his lounge is awesome - on a clear day, you can see the whole town and the sea. Doug was also very generous to let us help ourselves to any drinks in the fridge, though we didn't take any. Breakfast was freshly prepared in the morning and we ate with Doug at the dining room. While staying here feels like living in Doug's home, there was still lots of privacy. I'd recommend anyone who wants to experience a true homestay with a great view to stay here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trueillusion02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
351 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We only decided to stay the night at the last minute. Went to the tourist information and she recommended a few. This homestay was very reasonably priced so we decided to stay. Both the ensuite rooms were taken, so we got the double which shared a bathroom with Doug. Were a little apprehensive about sharing someones bathroom, but for 1 night, it was ok. It definately wasn't like sharing a bathroom in a hotel. This was a man's bathroom, but was reasonably clean, but not like a 'hotel' clean.Wouldn't do it for longer stays though. Doug lives on his own, is an interesting man who enjoys conversation. Our room was very small, only really a double bed, dresser and bedside tables. It was a little dusty but not too bad. There was an outside balcony off it, but no chairs to sit on. Bed sunk in the middle and made for a very uncomfortable nights sleep. Would be ok for a single person though. I did mention this to Doug, so perhaps he may buy a new mattress. The view from the lounge was spectacular. Breakfast was bacon and eggs with toast. Cereal was on display in the kitchen but was not offered. A pleasant stay, and would recommend, but only if taking the ensuite rooms. A little awkward sleeping next door to your host and sharing his bathroom! The other rooms were upstairs.

Room Tip: Go for the en-suite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapperswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I stayed one night in this homestay. Not for nothing is it called a homestay. I was made to feel right at home from the start. Cups of tea, glasses of wine, interesting conversation with Doug in his very comfortable lounge with a fantastic view of the harbour. The bedroom was clean and comfortable with en suite bathroom. Breakfast was just fine.
Not posh, perhaps, but very good value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chopper48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I spent a delightful weekend at this homestay in the seaside town of Oamaru. The room was clean, spacious, modern and private (with ensuite bathroom). The bed was one of the most comfortable I have had anywhere (in fact I slept better than at home..!). THe cooked breakfast ticked all the right boxes. Also the location is private on top of a hill with great views over the town and Pacific ocean, yet only a few minutes drive or walk to most attractions. Very highly recommended...!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
778 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

The view from the main room is amazing with at least 180 degree panorama. We were up above the town and could see waves beating over the harbor. Lovely. Doug was exceptionally friendly and welcoming and his choice of wine is excellent - thank you. This may not be the smartest place to say but is certainly the friendliest, was clean and provided a good breakfast. Room was a little cold - it was Spring - but that said we could have put on the heater that was provided. Excellent recommendations - including Fleur's Place at Moeraki.

When we return - since the penguins are a must - we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skippy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh Surrey UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

Doug welcomed us with a glass of wine and a fun-filled chat before giving us lots of info about the town and where to eat. It's not the poshest place we stayed but was one of our favourites for the personalities of Doug and Eric who , at that time, was his resident HelpX 'assistant'. Bargain price too!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englisholdies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2008

Pleasant rooms, good view of the town. Doug the host is friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — No tea making facilities in room.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catzmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
0.5 mi away
The Douglas
The Douglas
#2 of 27 in Oamaru
57 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
179 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#6 of 18 in Oamaru
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#10 of 18 in Oamaru
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#7 of 18 in Oamaru
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestay Oamaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestay Oamaru

Property: Homestay Oamaru
Address: 14 Warren Street, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular town, harbor and sea views from this property. Set high on a bluff, close to the town center, Homestay Oamaru offers warm hospitality, quiet comfort and a delicious full breakfast (included in room rate). Ample off-street parking and easy access. Southern walkway trail at gate. Host has detailed local knowledge and can advise on sightseeing, etc. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing