We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, best down to the earth food on our journey”
Review of Restaurant O

Restaurant O
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Nysted
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $69
Description: At the harbour in Nysted, Lolland, is our restaurant. Decorated with personality and new and old things. We have seats inside and outside and can serve you in all kind of weather. Our food is honest and homemade and the ingredients is mainly local. The wines is carefully chosen and we are happy to guide you to pick the best wine for your food. We look forward to see you and let you taste our love for great food and wine.
Restaurant details
Description: At the harbour in Nysted, Lolland, is our restaurant. Decorated with personality and new and old things. We have seats inside and outside and can serve you in all kind of weather. Our food is honest and homemade and the ingredients is mainly local. The wines is carefully chosen and we are happy to guide you to pick the best wine for your food. We look forward to see you and let you taste our love for great food and wine.
Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

The atmosphere is amazing, the couple running the place so nice and friendly. The dibibg room is very cosy amd you immediately notice the love to detail. The view to the habour and castle is amazing, but the food is even better. There is a resonably priced menu with several options. We had a cold fish starter with a wonderful fresh and herbal salad. Afterwards a stunning, well aged ribey steak (approx. 300g) and we just came back from Japan, so this means sth.! It even topped our lamb dishes in 108 and other fancy places in some way.

The owners gave us the option to share very tasty local cheese (even a red smear cheese from Lolland) and homemade bread afterwards - great with the light dark beer- and have a creamy berry Pavlova as well.

This restaurant would even be worth a trip from Kopenhagen just to have dinner. To me it seems like a well priced, easy going, Family run * Michelin restaurant, which is not easy to find anymore nowadays.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank harrybaronharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJKBH, PR-chef at Restaurant O, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2018

Hi Adrian

We loved that you were so positive and happy. It was a pleasure to serve every single dish for you.
Thank you for choosing our restaurant and hope to see you back again.
Wish you a great trip back to Austria.

Love from

Søren & Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 109 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2018

This is a wonderful restaurant, the best in Nysted, and likely the best in the whole region. There is a limited menu with usually two items per course, but whatever is on the menu, it will be wonderfully prepared with love and care by Lehe from local, seasonal products. My wife and I live nearby and have eaten there about a dozen times especially when we have overseas guests. They have all enjoyed the experience of sitting next to our beautiful harbour, with the sun setting behind the castle, and being served by Søren who will make recommendations on their fine wines or local beers.
Last time we were there we had Fish Without Chips as a starter. This consisted of two small cod filets which had been breaded and fried to a golden crust. The fish was perfect and served on a bed of small salad greens and decorated with small circles of yellow chili sauce topped with a slice of fresh chili pepper. All starters include fresh, home made bread and olive oil for dipping. This was followed by a risotto with cod and asparagus. All were delicious. A couple of desserts are offered and i heartily recommend the chocolate cake.
This is not a place for a quick meal as everything is freshly prepared. Sit and enjoy the ambience of the place and your company. Enjoy the visual presentation of the meal and savour it slowly. I guarantee you will enjoy the experience. Go and enjoy.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJKBH, PR-chef at Restaurant O, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Hi David

Thanks a million for your lovely words. We really appreciate when you chose to dine with us and we look forward to see you again.
Happy to read you understand the concept fully.

Kind regards

Søren and Lea
Restaurant Ö

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2017 via mobile

Although the restaurant was fully booked for the evening, when we asked for a table meeting the owners early afternoon, they were so kind to still offer us a table when we would come early.
We had a very pleasant evening, did not feel rushed in any way and enjoyed the organic food that was served, mostly coming from local producers. Even the bread was very tasty, as was the Italian wine. We had smoked salmon as a starter, a delicate fish risotto, and some really great local cheese as a desert with a port wine. A memorable diner, may be the best during our three week holiday.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank 339carlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJKBH, PR-chef at Restaurant O, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2017

Hi Carl

Thank you so much for the great review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your evening. Hope to see you back again some day.

Warm regards

Søren and Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2017 via mobile

Relaxing atmosphere - cool staff - great service. The food ? Brilliant flavours in à nice mix. Perfect suggestion for Wine suited With our choice of menu. Recommended !

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank gregern2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJKBH, PR-chef at Restaurant O, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2017

Hi Greger N

Thanks a lot for your great review.
And not only your first stop on your Europe trip, but also your first review here at TripAdvisor.
Hope to see you again. Till then enjoy Europe <3

Søren and Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2017

The sun was shining so we decided to eat outside wrapped in a blanket. The lunch herring was delicious and the quiet view over the water was totally relaxing. There's also a larger lunch platter if you are really hungry.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJKBH, PR-chef at Restaurant O, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2017
Google Translation

Hej Brian

Tak for jeres besøg i weekenden og de gode ord. Dejligt i ville indvie vores udendørs areal i år :-)

Håber at se jer snart igen.

Kh

Søren og Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant O also viewed

 
Sakskoebing, Lolland
 

Been to Restaurant O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing