We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eager, helpful staff can't make up for the problems ....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Jaipur Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kookas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I'd so like to give a good review for this hotel because the staff generally tried so very hard to address the problems that we had.

First impressions were good - a beautiful, spacious lobby. Check-in was relatively smooth and we were greeted with a garland flowers to wear! The member of staff that escorted us to our rooms seemed uncertain as to which direction to take and appeared a little inexperienced.

A nice touch on arrival in the room was a selection of fruit, nuts and chocolates (see photo)

My brother and I had booked a King Size room each, however my brother's room contained two single beds very noticably 'joined' together. He complained to reception about this and they offered to move both of us to one of their villas - larger rooms, with four-posted beds and vast bathroom with separate shower cubicle, sunken bath and a 'garden'! (see photos). The first room I was in had extremely heavy, loud sliding doors to the wardrobes - the second room (villa) also had sliding doors (not quite as noisy), but a poor design as it means constantly sliding doors from one side to another in order to get to unload from a suitcase and transfer to the storage section alongside.

There were problems with hot water to both rooms which did get resolved, although it took a few visits from various people to do so. In my first room I'd had an iron and ironing board delivered - this was transferred to the 'villa' only to discover that the plug sockets in the rooms and villas differed! I requested an adapter, and both adapters they provided were wrong. Finally one of the housekeeping staff located a plug socket I could use - hidden behind the desk and only accessible by crawling on the floor and under the desk itself!

Moving onto the disaster that is the restaurant(s) at Le Meridien Jaipur.

Day 1 Lunch
The tables in the restaurant used for lunch are a ridiculous design, having a 'scalloped' design around the edge which means that anyone taller than around 4'6" can't get their knees under the table - at 6'3" I had to almost sit side saddle!! I ordered a light snack of Chicken in Ciabatta - when it finally arrived it was luke warm, and having been down with a bad bout of food poisoning only a couple of days previously I was not inclined to eat it. I pointed this out to the waiter, who took it away, gave it to the chef (in the 'open plan' kitchen) who promptly took it over to a salamander (grill) to reheat it. I called across and pointed out that I didn't want my lunch reheated, I wanted something that was properly cooked to start with. I ended up having a very average omelette.

Day 2 Lunch
After my experience with the Chicken, I decided to play safe and order pizza. I've had better pizzas from a discount supermarket. Despite on waiter claiming there was a pizza oven, the head waiter apologised for the poor quality by pointing out that they didn't have a pizza oven. He did, however, insist that the bases were all made by hand at the hotel, despite the fact that the base was clearly pre-made, had uniform 'fork marks' all across it and exhibited all the attributes of a cheap, factory made base.

Evening meals in the main restaurant
Pesto is, I thought, a pretty standard pasta sauce around the world (olive oil, garlic, basil, pine nuts) - evidently this isn't the case in India - they add cream to it - I had this in another hotel as well and thought perhaps it was an individual interpretation, evidently not! Way too stodgy, sickly. My brother ordered had to return a chicken dish, the food was generally luke warm. I had to return a lamb kebab which was cold. I ordered a dessert described as something like "xxxx infused baked coconut cheesecake" (I can't remember the supposed infusion!). When it arrived I started to laugh - when I tasted it, after all the other food 'disasters', I just broke out in hysterical laughter ... it was HOT! (picture attached). There were two little pyramics accompanied by a glass of jam (possibly coulis) and a glass of kiwi fruit chunks (neither of which were in the description). I have never, ever had hot cheesecake!

Breakfast - average - I've had worse, I've had far better. The worst things I can remember? Two extremely untidy poached eggs served on soggy toast, one egg with a hard yolk and one with a soft (but not runny) yolk. The worst thing? INSTANT COFFEE!! They serve instant coffee in a 5* hotel!! Not only was it instant, it was horrible. However, they will make an espresso for you (or latte, etc) ... regrettably, I think they use a mix of acorns and coffee beans in their espresso machine as that too was pretty dire :(

In general the restaurants were untidy. The first time we ate in the main restaurant we were seated at a table that had a small service table immediately adjacent to it where dirty dishes were collected ... and not removed until we complained. There were no discreet service locations in the restaurant, all dirty dishes were simply accumulating on a couple of tables located within full view of diners. Tables were not cleaned properly, the floor was dirty. We asked for drinking water - it arrived warm - we sent it back, only to get another warm bottle. Crockery at breakfast was mismatch - some of the saucers were the wrong size for the cups.

There seems to be a complete lack of attention to detail at the hotel. Something like mismatched crockery can be forgiven and forgotten if it's the only fault, but with everything else that's wrong minor things like this also stick in the head. The staff also seemed to be quite disorganised.

There was no attendant at the swimming pool - I had to go to the spa to request a towel.

At the spa I had a haircut - the chairs (fixed to the floor) were positioned directly in front of the joins between mirrors so it meant you were staring at a dissected face in the mirror whilst having a hair cut - did nobody notice that when they were designing the place?!

On the plus side, when there were problems they apologies, they tried to do better. The morning following the cheesecake 'incident' the restaurant manager spoke to me and asked how they could improve. We had a long discussion during which I pointed out that a 5* hotel offering an international menu needs to prepare dishes based on international perception, not local - thus Pesto without cream and cheesecake that's served cold! That afternoon a slice of cheesecake was delivered to my room - not baked, but far nicer than the previous evening's disaster.

On our last night, the head waiter took pains to ensure that our food was correct, and that it was hot - and indeed it was. Upon receiving our bill we found that we'd only been charged for drinks - they explained that they wanted to make up for the disappointment with previous meals.

As my headline title says, the staff are eager and they're helpful and it would be great to give a less damning review, but the management of the hotel are responsible and need to take on board not only my criticism but also that of other recent reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KerryKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMJaipur, Director of Sales at Le Meridien Jaipur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for a detailed and constructive review of our property. We sincerely regret that you had to encounter undesirable incidences and inconsistencies in our services during your stay. We are investigating the highlighted concerns and assure you that corrective actions will follow, as applicable.

We constantly strive to exceed the expectations of our guests and to build a long-term relationship with them, hence such constructive feedback is always appreciated. We will ensure that during your next visit we offer you a thoroughly enriching and memorable stay experience. Your kind comments about the ambiance and the amenities are sincerely appreciated.

We look forward to welcome you to the Pink City again and assure you of the best of hospitality and a true Le Meridien experience.

Warm regards
Rajan Malhotra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

666 - 672 of 930 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

Awful service by the staff in there only functional restaurant...nobody came to take the order for 30 minutes in spite of reminding staff about the same.
One restaurant was under renovation so they should have more staff in the only restaurant they were serving in but.........still no response....It looked like a dhaba to me....

We still had the patience to sit out near the pool and waited for someone to come and attend to us but........no one........

Overall no maintenance of the pool also.....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritz1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMJaipur, Director of Sales at Le Meridien Jaipur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
At the onset, let me thank you for having visited Le Meridien, Jaipur for your stay. It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us and sharing your feedback regarding the experience at our hotel.It is always disappointing to hear of our failures and particularly embarrassing for myself to learn that our systems and people failed to deliver on this occasion.

Please accept my apologies for your unpleasant experience. I have noted with concern your comments with regards to our restaurant services which did not meet your expectations. The matter has been taken up with our Food & Beverage Manager on a priority basis action has been initiated. It is our constant endeavor to exceed your expectations and to build a long-term relationship with valuable guest like yourself. I do hope that you will be able to put this one off experience deviation behind you and give us another opportunity to serve you. My team and I look forward to meet you in person on your next visit to the hotel. Please do give us a call, and we would be delighted to have you again with us. With regards, Rajan Malhotra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

One thing you expect from a 5 star property is to honour commitments to a corporate client. We were scheduled to oragnaise a big event at this property, and were given a deadline to confirm on our complete requirement. However, a good 3 days ahead of the deadline, the hotel managament calmly updates our team that the rooms have been released for a wedding, just cauz some moneybag got in cash on the spot. Hope this proves a blessing in disguise, and am sure not going to recommend any of the Le Meridien properties around.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank NaikSachin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMJaipur, Director of Sales at Le Meridien Jaipur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear Sachin,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on this renowned platform.
We find it regrettable to learn that you had to encounter an undesirable event during your business trip. We assure you that we will look into this matter and will investigate the turn of events. Corrective actions will follow the investigation, as applicable. We thank you for your review; we take guest feedback very seriously and believe that it assists us in further enhancing the experience we strive to deliver to all our guests.

We will be glad to host you during your next visit to the Pink City and assure you of the best of hospitality and a true Le Meridien experience.

Warm regards,
Rajan Malhotra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Reception were lovely and asked if we were celebrating a special event. It was our honeymoon and we ended up in a great suite with a rose petal bath and large pineapple cream cake which was lovely. The four poster bed was amazing.

They went the extra mile but sadly the hotel just felt a bit grubby and tired to me.

The pool area needed a good clean (lots of broken tiles and bird poo) & there seemed to be a large party of local children who filled the pool area and received all the attention from the pool man. I did eventually get a towel and sunbed but after a bit of a wait.

The bar area has been refurbished but has a limited menu (cocktails didn't exist but there were pages and pages explaining the history of all the wines). Sadly we were the only guests in there but it isn't signed and the first member of staff we asked didn't know it existed. Luckily we asked a second person.

The evening meal boded well as the menu was so long but the quality was average. Sadly we only had the choice of one restaurant and it was full of a very large, noisy group of school children.The breakfast quality the next morning was poor.

All in all on arrival first impressions were good, the staff tried hard and our room was impressive. The extra touches like the cake were lovely. Sadly though the whole place seemed like a good clean wouldn't have gone a miss & it was a bit of a trek out of Jaipur.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite - we even had our own garden !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynsey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMJaipur, Director of Sales at Le Meridien Jaipur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear guest,
We thank you for patronizing Le Meridien Jaipur for your stay. It was indeed a pleasure having you with us and sharing your valuable comments regarding your experience at our hotel. We are delighted to learn that your stay at the hotel met your expectations and I would be sharing the positive comments with our team as it is a great source of motivation for us.

Meanwhile I have also observed your comments and suggestions with regards to restaurant services and pool which cause inconvenienced to you, I have met with the concerned team members to initiate appropriate measures. My team and I look forward to meet you in person on your next visit to the hotel. Please do give us a call, and we would be delighted to have you again with us. Warm regards, Rajan Malhotra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Booked through Hotel.com and voucher clearly shows 2 adults 2 children and room description shows 1 King Bed and two single beds and I paid for this type of room nut to my surprise Le Meridien Jaipur does not have such room in whole of the hotel. Hotel staff refused to refund and adjusted in one room with hardly any space to stand. Will never book through Hotels.com The airconditioning system failed around 10 in the night and the staff asked us to wait in the lobby till they repair the AC. My kid was already sleeping and had to sit out for 40 minutes and after much arguments the hotel staff agreed to change the room and finally around mid night we were able to sleep. NEVER BOOK THROUGH HOTELS. COM

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pankaj b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMJaipur, Director of Sales at Le Meridien Jaipur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear guest,
At the onset, let me thank you for having visited Le Meridien, Jaipur for your stay. It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us and sharing your feedback regarding the experience at our hotel.It is always disappointing to hear of our failures and particularly embarrassing for myself to learn that our systems and people failed to deliver on this occasion.Please accept my apologies for your unpleasant experience. I have noted with concern your comments with regards to our air conditioning of your room which did not meet your expectations. The matter has been taken up on a priority basis action has been initiated. It is our constant endeavor to exceed your expectations and to build a long-term relationship with valuable guest like yourself. I do hope that you will be able to put this one off experience deviation behind you and give us another opportunity to serve you. Please do give us a call, and we would be delighted to have you again with us. Warm regards, Rajan Malhotra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel is very gud , the rooms are very big, the hotel staff is very cooperative. there are many activities in the hotel for both kids and adults. the only Draw back is the avg quality of food. The Area For breakfast is also very Small. It Looks like a heritage hotel (Very Different from Normal Le meridein hotels )

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikhil1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMJaipur, Director of Sales at Le Meridien Jaipur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear guest, We thank you for patronizing Le Meridien Jaipur for your stay. It was indeed a pleasure having you with us and sharing your valuable comments regarding your experience at our hotel. We are delighted to learn that your stay at the hotel met your expectations and I would be sharing the positive comments with our team as it is a great source of motivation for us.

Meanwhile I have also observed your comments and suggestions with regards to food quality which did not meet your expectations, I have met with Director Food & Beverage to initiate appropriate measures. My team and I look forward to meet you in person on your next visit to the hotel. Please do give us a call, and we would be delighted to have you again with us. Warm regards, Rajan Malhotra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Beautiful room with nice atmosphere.
Only service is very slow specially House keeping.
But overall nice place to stay in a reasonable price.
Big room with nice view and good food.
Specially swimming pool is very beautiful and great fun spot

Room Tip: Pool site room is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Navin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMJaipur, Director of Sales at Le Meridien Jaipur Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear guest,
We thank you for patronizing Le Meridien Jaipur for your stay. It was indeed a pleasure having you with us and sharing your valuable comments regarding your experience at our hotel. We are delighted to learn that your stay at the hotel met your expectations and I would be sharing the positive comments with our team as it is a great source of motivation for us.

Meanwhile I have also observed your comments and suggestions with regards to housekeeping services, I have met with the concerned team members to initiate appropriate measures. My team and I look forward to meet you in person on your next visit to the hotel. Please do give us a call, and we would be delighted to have you again with us. Warm regards, Rajan Malhotra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kookas
0 mi away
Fairmont Jaipur
Fairmont Jaipur
#3 of 11 in Kookas
1,136 reviews
9.8 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#14 of 411 in Jaipur
3,881 reviews
5.9 mi away
Trident, Jaipur
Trident, Jaipur
#13 of 411 in Jaipur
3,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
3.3 mi away
Lohagarh Fort Resort Jaipur
8 mi away
Lebua Resort Jaipur
Lebua Resort Jaipur
#64 of 411 in Jaipur
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Jaipur Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Jaipur Resort & Spa

Address: Number 1, RIICO, Kookas 302028, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Kookas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kookas
#2 Spa Hotel in Kookas
Price Range: $136 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Jaipur Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaipur boasts the most sumptuous, extravagant palaces in India. Le Méridien Jaipur too is an extravagantly regal hotel that pays homage to the grandeur of Indian architecture with peacock arches and gleaming white stone. Built upon resplendent acres of serene lush gardens with ambient water bodies, it features a world-class spa with massage and meditation rooms, two innovative restaurants and an award winning bar with an extensive collection of single malts and ‘wines of the world’, Le Cine a theatre seating 42 guests, the Art Corridor with frequent shows featuring masters and emerging artists, Penguin Club for young guests, outdoor and indoor games, spacious conference centre with state of the art facilities and magnificent banquet halls. The hotel has recently added a Presidential Suite covering 3500 sq ft and Nine Deluxe Suites offering 1500 sq ft of Limitless Luxury and served by exclusive butlers, private dining, dedicated lounge bar, a library and on call luxury sedans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Meridien Jaipur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Jaipur Hotel Kukas
Jaipur Le Meridien
Meridien Jaipur
Le Meridien Jaipur Resort & Spa India/Kookas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing