We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over nighting in Auckland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over nighting in Auckland”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Arrived in Auckland to over night before flight to Palmerston North, Staying at the Bella Vista, checked in, very good service, went to call a Wanganui number had problems with phone connection, reception was very good in sorting out problem .
Went to bar to order a meal and a drink, Duty Manager took order:
1/ Did not even know how to write the order.
2/ Did not know how to work the till.
3/ Did not know what the drink I ordered was, or how much it was.
I watch the bar lady (Juanita) show the Duty Manager how to work the till and show him what the drink was, I also watched her clear tables and keep her bar clean, tidy and she had a very re-pore with the guest, will the Duty Manager stood behind the bar and watched her. Maybe the Management has the wrong Duty Manager, I work in a 5 Star luxury lodge in Australia, this lady would get a job here any time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanganuiNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. I am pleased to read that you were happy with the service you recived from our staff. Juanita, who you seemed very impressed with, was asked to train the Duty Manager in the Food & Beverage area as part of our policy to ensure that staff who wish to upskill in areas of the Hotel where they wish further training and experience do actually get that training. That evening was his first evening of undertaking training. It was unfortunate that we neglected to ensure the Duty Manager had a "Trainee" badge on, for that we apologise. As you have worked in the Industry you will completely understand that everyone must start somewhere, as our Duty Manager was doing that evening. We thank you again for your review.

Gary Blackburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    549
    202
    55
    42
See reviews for
268
532
103
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Had the pleasure of a short stay in this hotel when a flight was cancelled. Reception coped well with having a whole busload of tired and frustrated travelers arrive wanting to get keys and into bed. It all went smoothly and the personal directions as to where to go from the manager was a nice touch.
Room was a good size with all the usual facilities. Except mugs for a decent coffee or tea. Only two little cups with about one mouthful in each. Do hotel people not think people need more than a thimbleful at a time.

Bella Vista is an airport hotel. A place to stay in transit. Do not expect a beautiful view unless you regard a main road and large car parks as the acme of all that nature can offer. The hotel has a service that allows you to stay a night and leave your car there at a small cost and pick it up at the end of your one or two week trip. Beats what is charged to use an airport carpark.

Location is 7 minutes from the airport by free shuttle so no worries about being held up in traffic.

Wake up call came exactly on time. At 4.15 am for the rescheduled flight at 6.00.


Can't comment on bars and restaurant or quality of food as they were closed by the time we got to the hotel at midnight and had not reopened by the time we left at 4.45 am.

Overall good value for a stopover night

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moggy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your great review of the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. I was delighted to hear that although your stay was very short you did enjoy the service provided to you.

As a direct result of your review we have just ordered enough Coffee Mugs to ensure all rooms will have these available to our customers. We are hoping these will arrive by 17th June.

It was a late evening/early morning for your group and the Hotel Staff certainly appreciated your groups' patience and sense of humour after the air disrupt you suffered.

Gary Blackburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Auckland Airport Is now well-provided with easy reach short-stay accommodation for the traveler. There is the Ibis, then Bella Vista, both a few minutes drive, plus the fairly new Novotel, which is within walking distance of the international terminal. I believe Bella Vista scores on all points. The Ibis, advertised at $NZ59 received dismal ratings on Trip Advisor. Novotel, though having good press asked for $NZ189, but Bella Vista at $NZ98, and having just as modern, clean and functional accommodation was an easy choice.

The last time we stayed here it was called the Ventura. Now it is Bella Vista, with an impressive 28 chain hotels throughout New Zealand. Such is progress. Gone is the included continental breakfast, but new is the small-meal menu, although with restricted hours. Arriving at 2.00 pm and hungry is not a turn-on, because with all its good points, this hotel is fairly isolated from any local shops. My advice? Take a pack of sandwiches if you need to eat before 5.00pm.

The included airport shuttle service is excellent. Because my partner is partially disabled we decided to taxi in to the hotel to avoid the trauma of bundling her into a van. Three minutes and $40 later we arrived. This information is included to help readers avoid the money-grabbing attention of Auckland taxi-drivers. Use the shuttle wherever you can – the driver is most helpful and considerate.

Thank you Bella Vista, for a very pleasant stay. The rooms are extremely quiet, beautifully maintained and with everything needed for an overnight stay. A word of thanks for the evening staff lady, who cheerfully supplied extra pillows.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

A good value 3 star hotel close to the airport with a free shuttle sevice, the staff are friendly and helpful.They serve up good food.we have stayed many times before and the room we had this time had a few minor faults , but would still recommend .

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. We do appreciate receiving reviews from frequent visitors as well as first time visitors, as it enables us to ensure we are providing a consistant service to all. I am pleased you were happy with the food on offer at the Hotel as we are trying to increase variety into our Menu.

I note that you said there were a few minor faults with your room. I would hope that you mentioned these issues to the Reception staff so they could be rectified.

Once again thank you for your positive review and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future.

Gary Blackburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Welcomed by friendly staff after a long day of travelling following a flight disrupt. At short notice they put on a great dinner for a large group of ~100 people. Continental breakfast the following morning was also nice. Great hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolcano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. It was great to receive your comments about the friendliness of the staff at the Hotel. It was certainly an interesting evening and late night for you all. The Hotel Staff appreciated the patience of your group. We hope to see you again in less trying cirumstances for you.

Gary Blackburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A great budget, airport hotel! We stayed here before catching our flight to the US the next morning early. Very close to the airport, decent food at the bar. The rooms were a little warm but the staff provided us with a fan! Wonderful nights sleep. elevators were great for all of our luggage. The free shuttle was wonderful early in the morning. Make sure you let the front desk know what time and how many people need a ride t o the airport. They almost didnt have enough room for us. Good thing we warmed them the night before.! There is nothing in walking distance from the hotel make sure you take some cards to play! Staff was very nice and accomadating!

Room Tip: With lots of luggage I would suggest a bottom floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. I am delighted that you you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff provided you with all your requirements to make your stay comfortable. It is always lovely to hear great comments about the services we provide and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Gary Blackburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

******************Close to the airport, handy to a good pub for a beer and bit to eat and a clean room with a spa bath and that's all we needed for an overnight stay before flying out first thing in the morning *******************

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 83_David_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. We do endeavour to provide a good quality Hotel to our customers. We are pleased you enjoyed possibly the "Toby Jug" Pub which is a favourite of our guests. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again on your future travels.

Gary Blackburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
1.2 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
0.6 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
1.4 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport

Property: Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Address: 14 Airpark Drive, Mangere 2022, New Zealand (Formerly Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
#5 Family Hotel in Mangere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 5 minutes drive of Auckland International and Domestic Airport, Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport offers a convenient, comfortable, clean, affordable and spacious airport stopover accommodation solution for individuals, families or special interest groups. Other great benefits include FREE local phone calls FREE WI-FI FREE airport shuttle pickups and drop offs, friendly and welcoming yet informal kiwi style hospitality. Our property features an outdoor swimming pool and spa, plenty of onsite parking, conference facilities, a breakfast room and a lobby bar serving light meals and refreshments. For a more subtantial food offering there are several eateries within walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventura Hotel Airport
Ventura Hotel Mangere
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing