We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was a bit of a let down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Was a bit of a let down”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Yes, the Bella Vista was an affordable motel close to the airport, but it could have cost us more than a very nice room across from the International Terminal. It was the only hotel/motel we stayed in while visiting New Zealand that did not have a microwave in the room, but they did accommodate us by microwaving our dinner in their kitchen. The room did have a tea kettle and refrigerator. Thirty minutes of free WIFI is available in the hotel lobby. If you want WIFI in your room or need more time, you can sign up on the television at a cost of $35 a night. We stayed two nights and were charged an additional $70 for a service we did not sign up for or use. However, there was no problem correcting the bill. We were also travelling with bicycles in plastic cases. Upon check in we were informed that they may not have room for us in the shuttle to the airport. Fortunately they did have space. The queen beds were soft and worn and the room, in fact the motel, showed wear and tear. It looked as if they couldn't keep up with the maintenance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Followthesons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. We are an 'express hotel product' that offers basic hotel standard accommodation without the trimmings. Hotels traditionally do not offer Microwaves in their rooms, however our one bedroom suites do as an alternative option. We recommend that if something like this is important that you advise us when booking as there many options available to you. Thank you for your feedback, I can assure you it will be put to good use.

Anne Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    549
    202
    55
    41
See reviews for
268
532
103
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokoroa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013

So close to the airport. Rooms comfortable and clean, just over $100. Meals available. Shuttle service excellent. The shuttle saved us over $20.00 in parking fees at the airport for 2/3 hours.Parking available free for a week. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobynTokoroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. We are pleased to hear that your stay met your needs and expectations on this occasion. Just a small correction, parking is only complimentary depending upon what package you select, therefore please choose carefully as there are many options/packages available. We are continually working to improve the services and facilities we offer and I can assure you that your feedback will be put to good use. Once again thank you for your feedback.

Anne Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My partner and I went to Auckland to attend a sporting event in the nearby suburb of Onehunga. As we quite frequently stay in Auckland we thought we would give this hotel a try as it was in the perfect location.

Upon checkin I was asked if I was okay with a shower only in my bathroom yet I had booked through the Wotif website a room that had a bath. I declined and was moved into a room with a bath however it was right in the corner beside the main housemaids cupboard and we were woken every morning to them crashing about in there through the walls.

Upon return at night there were no carparks anywhere close to the entrance and a hike through the carpark was endured upon return (two night in a row). As we came back on the first night I opened the fridge to find a half eaten packet of toffee pops left from the previous guests. I didn't bother with it at the time but after having a shower and finding two towels with marks on them (unclean marks I might add) and no bath plug I went to reception with the biscuits and towels and approached the Night Receptionist with my concerns.

He rudely asked me who's biscuits these were (im sorry but as if I would bring my own biscuits down to the desk) in which i had to reply multiple times that it wasn't mine and pretty much had to demand I get new towels delivered. I also asked for a bath plug which this seemed to inconvenience him and also a guest comment card as the room had none.

He had the towels and plug delivered to me however no sign of the requested card. On return to the room (which was on the ground floor) i happen to notice the side door to the Main road was left open (it was now 1230am on a Friday night in Mangere, Auckland). This same door was left open the whole time we stayed there. Obviously not security conscience.

Both my partner and I have previously worked in Hotels for many years becoming managers until different career opportunities were presented to us and we have since moved out of the hotels. This has given us the opportunity to stay in many hotels and motels around New Zealand and by far this was the worst we have ever encountered. Never staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kelnornz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. We are sorry to learn of the experiences you encountered during your stay particularly in regards to cleanliness which we are more often than not highly commended.
It is very surprising to learn that you felt unsafe as I can assure you that safety and security is a top priority. We offer a 24 hour shuttle service to meet the demands of Auckland International Airport and therefore the front door is generally not locked because of the regular half hourly trips made to the airport and more frequently between 4 - 7am. The back door is generally locked at Midnight, however the dedicated smoking area is located just outside this door and is often left open by guests. Given the limited number of staff available on the graveyard shift it is not always possible to ensure the door is locked at all times. We offer 24 hour CCTV surveillance of all entrances and exits to the hotel as well as the car park, we employ external security during the hours of 7pm - 7am which is logged and we have never had any reason to question or review these security measures. Thank you once again for your feedback, I can assure you that it will be put to good use.

Anne Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here twice, at the beginning and end of our trip. Their free shuttle bus takes you the 10 minutes to and from the airport, at any time. The rooms are huge and clean, with big comfy beds. It's very quiet, so no trouble sleeping. There's a bar, and they serve reasonable food, too. Although the swimming pool is really surrounded by car park, it's just the job after a long flight. Their computers were down on our second visit, which delayed our check in, but otherwise, no problems. It's much better than staying in central Auckland if you have a very early flight, as the airport is at least 45 minutes out of the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. We are delighted to hear that your needs and expectations were met during your stay. We are continually working to improve the services and facilities we offer and therefore we appreciate knowing when we do a good job. Thank you for your feedback.

Anne Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have spent a few nights at Bella Vista Express in Auckland, each time without incident. In fact, the hotel is generally in good conditon, the room tidy, the staff have never been the stars of the show, however it's reasonably priced for the night plus airport transfers and free parking.
My last trip (March 2013) there was to stay the night and leave my car parked for 5 days, upon returning to my vehicle there were 100's of ants swarming all over and inside my car. Looking at the bark gardens they were completely infested with ants.

Upon bringing this to the manager and his off siders attention they more or less treated me like an idiot - did I stay here? Did I have a bag of sugar in my car? Am I sure I parked in their carpark? Was I sure I stayed at the hotel?

They did not want to know about it, they offered to spray some fly spray in my car, but not clean it up even though they have a pest problem and the carpark and grounds are infested with ants - total bill for pest removal and cleaning of my car - $241.

It is very hard to speak to someone at the top when offered only an email address of how to contact someone and all of the staff speak english as a second language - disgusting treatment and disgraceful service - never staying there again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank for your taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland, We are pleased to hear that you find the hotel is kept in good order, that your room was tidy and that you felt you receive value for money as this is what our business specialises in. We are somewhat surprised to hear of your unfortunate experience regarding ants in your vehicle upon your return, it is important to note that no other cars parked in our entire car park (and there were many) experienced any similar issues which suggests that this incident was isolated. It is common knowledge that ants search for food, therefore it is not unreasonable to ask this question. Gathering evidence and facts is all a part of finding a suitable resolution. I came to know of this incident via our daily communications diary in which it states assistance was offered but declined. It does not matter what language you speak but from my experience it is difficult to satisfy or find any suitable solution when met with untoward behaviour also noted. Thank you for your feedback.

Anne Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This clean accommodation was fully booked the morning we flew in, so we were not able to get an early check in. But they did have us on a list that we viewed, and if possible would have received a room early. That was the only negative as we came from overseas.
The positives were the cleanliness, including of the bathroom. Sheets were not stained. Beds while not luxurious gave us a good sleep. The internet that we purchased for 24 hours was not working well. I mentioned it to reception and she did not charge us. That is good customer service. Other reviews complain about paying-but really?! At less than $90 a night, I would expect to have to pay for internet. And it was quite reasonable for 24 hours.
The breakfast they offered, although, was overpriced and no local new zealand offerings. We decided to go elsewhere for that.
I would stay here again if flying in to Auckland.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley_ducky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. We are pleased to learn that the majority of your stay met your needs and expectations. We live in a user pay's society and what we pay for unfortunately has to be passed on to the consumer. $14.95 for 24 Hours of WIFI with the ability to connect 4 wireless devices for one low price we feel is extremely reasonable. By offering basic 'no frills' facilities and services which is typical of an express hotel product we are able to provide affordable accommodation options. Thank you for your feedback.

Anne Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were two couples staying in a room with LOTS of luggage. It was very comfortable and we did not trip over the luggage or each other. The only amenity that we used was the shuttle bus at 6 am. The shuttle was prompt and the driver was very nice. The checkin and and out was quick and simple. The one thing that we found to be an extra bonus was that our car rental allowed us to drop the car off at the hotel and not take it back to the car return saving us some time. We saw the pool outside looked inviting and the bar in the lobby looked great. I would most definately recommend this hotel especially for a stop over.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Canadian_Gwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. We are pleased to hear that your stay met your needs and expectations and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We are continually working to improve the services and facilities we offer and therefore we appreciate knowing when we do a good job. Thank you for your feedback.

Anne Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
1.2 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
0.6 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
1.4 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport

Property: Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Address: 14 Airpark Drive, Mangere 2022, New Zealand (Formerly Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mangere
#5 Family Hotel in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 5 minutes drive of Auckland International and Domestic Airport, Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport offers a convenient, comfortable, clean, affordable and spacious airport stopover accommodation solution for individuals, families or special interest groups. Other great benefits include FREE local phone calls FREE WI-FI FREE airport shuttle pickups and drop offs, friendly and welcoming yet informal kiwi style hospitality. Our property features an outdoor swimming pool and spa, plenty of onsite parking, conference facilities, a breakfast room and a lobby bar serving light meals and refreshments. For a more subtantial food offering there are several eateries within walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventura Hotel Airport
Ventura Hotel Mangere
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing