We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Handy airport hotel”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a handy hotel for Auckland Airport. It's basic but adequate. The breakfast is taken in the lobby, many people having to take it at a coffee table. The rooms are fine if basic. They do run a good shuttle service to the airport including a run back after dropping off a hire car. I'd use it again but only for one night either just after arriving or before departure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. We are an 'express hotel product' offering hotel standard accommodation without the trimmings this helps us to keep our prices affordable. Thank you again for your feedback it will be put to good use.

Anne Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    553
    203
    55
    41
See reviews for
270
535
103
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed at Bella Vista on our last day of New Zealand holiday as it was near airport for our morning flight, room was good size but seemed expensive for condition but considering region and location to airport and that the Top 10 campsite cabins were the same sort of price we decided to go to Bella Vista.
Check in and out was fine.
Big gripe with the idiot family who arrived at 10.30 that night, made a ton of noise with noisy whingy kids, and then got up at 4.30am which really hacked us off - no consideration for other guests! This cant be helped and was not hotel fault although the rooms seemed to have a major lack in sound insulation especially between family suite rooms (where you would expect an element of noise)
That said, our son lost his new Kiwi bird toy in the room that night and we got a quick response from hotel who offered to post it back to us so all in all customer service was pretty good just a shame about noisy guests

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. We are sorry to hear that your stay was marred by the noise of other guests, but that your overall experience was a good one! I can only hope that if you brought this to our attention we were quick to respond. We hope the Kiwi made it safely back in the hands of your son! Thank you again for your feedback.

Anne Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed for one night following a really long commute from London. Hotel is ok, rooms are large, clean and quiet. However the hotel is in an industrial estate so the surrounding area is not too pretty.

Two tips, one: there is a supermarket which is about a ten minute walk away, was told by staff that you could not walk there and was put in a taxi for a 2 minute ride at 15 dolars - rubbish just walk it.
two: if you are hungry or want a drink there is a pub called the toby jug round the corner which is not posh but is nicer than sitting in the hotel lobby.

Overall liked the hotel and the staff were excellent but dont stay more than one night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaftlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. We are pleased to hear that your overall stay met your needs. We do not recommend that you walk to the Supermarket as you have to cross a two lane motorway in a 100km per hour speed zone and therefore not pedestrian friendly. Thank you again for providing feedback.

Anne Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin City, Montana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Bella Vista Express is the perfect choice flying out on an international flight the next day, as they provide a free shuttle service to/from the airport. For being at the airport the rooms were quit, modern, comfortable, and the bathroom was very clean. We experienced good, prompt and efficient check-in, with a very high service level. The only problem is that there are no restaurants within walking distance other then the one at the hotel, but if you have a car that is not a problem.

Room Tip: No restaurant within walking distance other then the one at the hotel, but if you have a car that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimZerbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. We are delighted to hear that your stay met your needs and expectations in terms of facilities and services. Whilst we do not have a full restaurant we do offer meals via the Lobby Bar until 9pm in the evenings. We are continually working to improve the services and facilities we offer and I can assure you that your feedback will be put to good use. Once again thank you for your feedback.

Anne Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed there one night, and found the room clean and the bed comfortable, the breakbast was more than enough to start the day. The staff were very friendly especially Maria who cleaned our room, she was obliging and a sweet happy maid. To contact the hotel at the international airport, there are telephones across from MacDonalds next to the e center.

I had a laptop and could pick up the wireless internet from my room, rather than take it to the lobby. there was an internet connection via the TV, but it was for a fee. I found the speed really slow.

We found a great place to eat about 8 mins. walk from the hotel, exit the hotel turn right on Airpark Dr., then another right, at the end of the road you will see an outlet plaza, The Toby Jug bar and kitchen is the place to eat.

The shuttle bus was fast and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skipper12312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. We are delighted to note that your stay with us was enjoyable and met your needs and expectations. Thank you for acknowledging our friendly helpful staff I can assure you that Malia will get a special mention for her efforts.

Anne Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, TX
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We used this hotel as it was close to the airport and had a free shuttle. The on site airport hotel was about $229 for a room where this one was $99. The lobby was extremely nice, and had an excellent bar and food area to get something to eat. In our case we had a 6:00am international flight, so we asked for a 3:00am shuttle to the airport. They were ready and we left on time.

The room we had included a double and a twin. Beds were really basic, but bathroom and room was clean. TV was great with movies to kill time. All in all, good value for what we needed.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kgwd000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport, we are delighted to hear that your needs and expectations were met on this stay. We are an Express Hotel offering hotel style accommodation without the trimmings therefore we are able to offer a great product at affordable prices. Great to hear that the shuttle was ready, waiting and left on time.

Anne Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kodiak, Alaska
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We booked the Bella Vista Express for one night between flying in from the South Island and our international departure the next day. They have a convenient airport shuttle and very comfortable rooms. Getting to where the shuttle can pick you up can be confusing and troublesome if you have very much luggage, but that is an Auckland Airport issue and not the fault of the hotel. We booked one of the standard suite rooms with continental breakfast included at a very reasonable rate. We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeliosNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was comfortable and that you found our services and facilities convenient and good value for money. Our shuttle instructions are located on the home page of our website which can be printed off for your convenience. There have been some changes to the Forecourt of the Domestic Airport recently so it is very important that you know where you need to be! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Anne Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
1.2 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
0.6 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
1.4 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport

Property: Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Address: 14 Airpark Drive, Mangere 2022, New Zealand (Formerly Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
#5 Family Hotel in Mangere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 5 minutes drive of Auckland International and Domestic Airport, Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport offers a convenient, comfortable, clean, affordable and spacious airport stopover accommodation solution for individuals, families or special interest groups. Other great benefits include FREE local phone calls FREE WI-FI FREE airport shuttle pickups and drop offs, friendly and welcoming yet informal kiwi style hospitality. Our property features an outdoor swimming pool and spa, plenty of onsite parking, conference facilities, a breakfast room and a lobby bar serving light meals and refreshments. For a more subtantial food offering there are several eateries within walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventura Hotel Airport
Ventura Hotel Mangere
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing