We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,232)
Filter reviews
1,232 results
Traveler rating
304
598
224
62
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
598
224
62
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttleauckland airportone nightnext morningcomplimentary breakfastshuttle servicean overnight stayindustrial areaspa bathgood sizecar parkingthe ground floorearly flightlate checkafter midnightwake up callchecking in
Filter
Updating list...
822 - 827 of 1,232 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013

there is free shuttle between airport gate 11 to the hotel if you make a call at the information. so good and fast,the shuttle bus is big enough and take us 5 mins to the hotel. the maori staff is so nice , the room is good. there is a restraunt in the lobby ,but there is nothing nearby . the nearest supermarket locate at the airport.if u walk to there almost 30 mins ,if you take the shuttle bus 4 mins. it's a good hotel for transit people. our route China-auckland (night) -Christchurch (morning)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexlcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. We are delighted to hear that your needs and expectations were met on this occasion. We are pleased to hear that you found the shuttle service and pick up instructions clear and helpful. We are a great accommodation option in terms of product, price and location when in transit to and from Auckland Airport. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Anne Lawson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here whilst in transit through Auckland Airport.
Handy location being a three to four minute ride from the domestic and international terminals. Free airport transfers; very prompt and efficient service.
Seemed to be many long-term car parking so those living in the wider Auckland region who are driving to Auckland for their flight may want to check this out.
The Bella Vista is fairly new so rooms are modern and comfortable, and are clean and tidy. The outlook of our room was the back of a warehouse.
The Bella Vista is located in a warehousing / light industrial area so is isolated and there is little incentative to go for a walk.
Restaurant is located in an open lobby area and has a limited menu. We walked to the nextdoor hotel to eat there; menu and ambiance better than the Bella Vista.
The small swimming pool is located in front of the main entry so unless you have a body to die for, you may feel to be more like a frolicking whale tourist attraction.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. We are an 'express' hotel product that offers hotel style accommodation without the trimmings. By limiting the services we offer, ie: basic food & beverage, no porter or concierge services; we are able to keep our prices competitive and affordable. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback it is greatly appreciated and we are very happy to learn that your stay met your needs on this occasion.

Anne Lawson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at the Bella Vista after getting in to Auckland Airport at Midnight after a flight from the UK, so we just needed somewhere to crash and have a wash. This did the job fine.

You can call the hotel and shuttle bus from the "i Centre" in the airport for free. You definitely need the shuttle as it is too far to walk with cases etc. There were obviously a lot of people staying there that night as we had to wait for a second shuttle to come, but at least the driver had a handle on who was next in line. When we got to reception, the staff seemed very nice and helpful and booked us a time for our return shuttle to the airport in the morning (to pick up our hire car).

The room was basic but functional, not much choice in tv channels, but this isn't something we needed. Then the trip back to airport was on time and fine.

The hotel is in the middle of an industrial estate, and isn't the prettiest in the world, and I have no idea who would actually use the swimming pool in the middle of the roundabout in front of the hotel, but it did the job we needed it to.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. We are delighted to hear that our 'express' product that you describe to perfection met your needs on this occasion and that we have achieved what we set out to; that is offering hotel style accommodation without the 'trimmings'. Our basic, no frills product with limited services and facilities is reflected in our very affordable prices. Thank you again for taking the time to provide a review.

Anne Lawson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We got in at after midnight. Very tired. Then no AC. Called front desk but all rooms full. So we put up with it. I figured they might at least offer a free continental breakfast or something to compensate . I would never stay their again. Very very poor customer service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. We are sorry to learn that you experienced a problem with regards to maintenance in your room and also sorry that we were unable to assist you due to being full. Whilst we try our very best to ensure our rooms are clean and maintenance free it is not always possible to detect things like air conditioning units not working. I am sorry that you felt our customer service was poor, this is something we have gotten very good at and therefore it is disappointing to read. We are continually striving to be the very best in the 'mid range' accommodation category and can assure you that your feedback will be put to good use.

Anne Lawson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have stayed at Bella Vista many times before but it is obvious there have been some changes , not for the better mind you
.We had dinner the night we arrived, we had to wait for nearly 1 hour for this to arrive!
Breakfast is now served in the lobby area.Though we were entitled to a full breakfast which we asked for when we were seated, we had to ask for this from one of the wait persons .We asked about a gym and were told it no longer existed.
The room was adequate but my husband found a hair on the shower wall.While still in the room the next morning we had cleaning staff knocking and entering the room.
I looked round the room for the usual survey forms, none to be found
On our return from an international flight we phoned for the shuttle. We were told he would be there in 10 minutes.After 30 minutes we were still waiting. Another phone call followed and the shuttle eventually arrived
Sorry Bella Vista, I think our days of staying have come to an end

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValerieR-E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. We are disappointed to learn of your experience on your recent stay with us and very sorry for our shortfalls and failings on this occasion; I can only hope that if any of these issues were brought to our attention that they were dealt with in a friendly and efficient manner. We are continually striving to be the very best in the 'mid range' accommodation category and can assure you that your feedback will be put to good use.


Anne Lawson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews