We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wanted to like it, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Reviewed March 25, 2012

It was our last night in Auckland, and we wanted to end on a high note after four nights in an elegant downtown hotel. We wanted to like the Bella Vista. We really did. But it was disappointing in several ways.

First, the room seemed dated, something out of the Holiday Inns of the 1970s -- clean enough, but somehow depressing in its lack of sparkle. Same way with the bathroom -- large enough, but boring.

The hotel served a carbohydrate-intensive breakfast with terrible coffee. There was free Internet service in the lobby, but the speed was so slow that I finally gave up after five minutes of trying to load my home page.

On the plus side, the hotel is only about 5 minutes from the airport. Their free shuttle left right on time and got us there promptly. There was also a swimming pool just outside the front entrance, surrounded by asphalt parking areas and driveways. Not the most picturesque location for a pool, but better than nothing.

Bottom line: It was OK. But we had wished for more.

Room Tip: I suspect all the rooms are pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. I can understand your disappointment having stayed in a luxury hotel the previous night. We are a 3 star hotel offering an accommodation product and service that competes in the mid range accommodation sector. We offer an affordable airport stopover solution we do not pretend to be anything other than that and you we feel that you pay for what you get. The hotel itself is 6 years old so in hotel terms still fairly new. We are pleased that you found some positives from your stay that being our friendly staff and the convenience of our complimentary airport shuttle. The only other place we could have put our swimming pool is around the back, this is next to the motorway and like you so rightly point out, it's better than nothing and it is always a welcome treat to wary travellers in Summer! Many thanks again for taking the time to provide feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 855 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2012

Hotel needs a clean up and refurbishment looking fairly old and tired. Room had not been very well cleaned, nasty old pillows, sheets and towels, bathroom had mold. Breakfast choice was poor, internet really slow. On the plus side staff were friendly and there is a free airport shuttle.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. We are disappointed to learn that you felt your room was not up to our usual high cleaning standard for which we are usually commended. I cannot find any record of the highlighted issues being brought to our attention during your stay as I can assure you that if they were we would have done everything to ensure that they were dealt with promptly and to your satisfaction. As we do not have a restaurant or full kitchen facility, our continental breakfast offering is there for convenience rather than an experience. On a lighter note we are pleased to hear that you felt our staff were friendly and helpful. Thank you again for taking the time to share your views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I stayed here a couple of years ago and was impressed with the price and cleanliness. It was brand new at the time. After only two years, I was disappointed to find it looking tired and in need of upkeep. The breakfast was included in the price, but was so unappetising that we went out and found another place. Staff was friendly enough and the location is very close and convenient to the airport (with a free shuttle).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brightspirit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel on your visit to Auckland 'City of Sails'. We appreciate the good and 'room for improvement' of your feedback and general observations. We have had a recent change in ownership and management and therefore your feedback will go a long way in helping us understand the needs of our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed here one night before catching a flight to Dunedin.

Service was very good. Friendly, helpful, with a complimentary shuttle that took us both to and from the airport. They also had a nice pool and hot tub out front.

Price was fair, about the same as comparable places.

The problem was sleep quality. The sleeper sofa in the entry room was in bad shape, poor mattress, and numerous broken springs. We ended up just laying the mattress on the floor and sleeping there. We actually slept ok on it because we were very tired from the long flight over, but we advised the staff on check out that it was not up to standard. (we should have informed them before hand, but by the time we noticed it was broken, it was late, and we didn't want to change rooms)

Cleanliness was very good, the bathroom was spotless.

Location is very close to the airport, with a pub that is only about a 5 minute walk away, and a grocery store / shopping area that is about a 20 minute walk away.

Room was fine, it had a TV, and a kitchenette.

All in all a good place to stay if you need to be near the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flexabull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel, we agree that our property is a convenient, friendly, affordable and clean airport stopover hotel! and are very pleased to note that the majority of your stay met your needs and expectations. We are sorry to learn of your experience with the sofa bed and the inconvenience this caused you. We appreciate your constructive feedback and I can assure you that it will be put to good use to ensure that we continually improve our product and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the first night as our flight arrived in Auckland at 1am local time. This hotel was great, with free airport shuttle to the hotel and good clean accommodation! They also held our bags for us until we were able to pick up our rental campervan with no extra charge!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tledarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Bella Vista Express Hotel on your recent trip to NZ. We appreciate knowing when we do a good job and we are very pleased to learn that your stay met your needs and expectations. We hope the rest of your Journey around NZ was just as enjoyable and hassle free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We recently spent two nights at Bella Vista before returning home from a three week stay in New Zealand. The room was comfy and clean and the bath was great. We found the staff very helpful as we had to leave our luggage for a few hours after checkout and they cheerfully provided a safe room. The hotel breakfast was adequate: fruit, cereal, toast, etc. and we appreciated the bar/cafe in the lobby.The airport shuttle service was quick and courteous.

My only complaint was that we didn't think to ask for a quiet room and ours was right next to the motorway where there was traffic all night and it was a bit noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the expressway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelers058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel on your recent visit to the Auckland Airport Precinct, we appreciate the time you have taken to provide a review. If we were made aware of the need for a quiet room, we would have made every effort to ensure that this was made available to you at the time of your arrival. We are very pleased to hear that the majority of your stay met your needs and expectations and that you were met with friendly and helpful staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Chose this place to stay for 2 nights to facilitate an early flight to Wellington and late return to Auckland as I live in Whangarei. The room was huge, really comfortable queen beds, very clean, really really quiet, and great service provided - wake up calls, shuttle to/from airport. Price was excellent value for money and very competitive to what else was available ( booked the day before I checked in) Will absolutely stay here again

Room Tip: Free parking and shuttle service runs on half hour - much more convenient than parking at airport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheStewartClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel, Auckland Airport. We are very pleased to hear that our spacious and clean rooms met your expectations and needs. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.6 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1.2 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
0.2 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
1.4 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport

Address: 14 Airpark Drive, Mangere, Auckland 2022, New Zealand (Formerly Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
#5 Family Hotel in Mangere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mangere
Price Range: $133 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 5 minutes drive of Auckland International and Domestic Airport, Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport offers a convenient, comfortable, clean, affordable and spacious airport stopover accommodation solution for individuals, families or special interest groups. Other great benefits include FREE local phone calls FREE WI-FI FREE airport shuttle pickups and drop offs, friendly and welcoming yet informal kiwi style hospitality. Our property features an outdoor swimming pool and spa, plenty of onsite parking, conference facilities, a breakfast room and a lobby bar serving light meals and refreshments. For a more subtantial food offering there are several eateries within walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventura Hotel Airport
Ventura Hotel Mangere
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing