We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don,t believe what you see!!”

Auckland Airport Pacific Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auckland Airport Pacific Inn
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
hawkes bay
1 review
“Don,t believe what you see!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2009

We specifically stayed here for the "secure parking " 2which was an absolute joke May as well have parked on the roadside!!
The restaurant wasn't open and the rooms nothing like advertised
Should be a backpackers
Only hotel I've stayed at with a toilet with a broken seat (in the foyer)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tulip58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    31
    20
    8
    43
See reviews for
25
46
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Deep River, On CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2009

We read the reviews and still stayed. The staff were quiet and private at beginning, but not at all rude. The Korean owner was the one who came immediately (10 min) to the airport and picked us up at 11:30 pm when our plane was delayed. A man of few words initially, but this is not the same as rude. Our room was clean, the sheets were crisp enough for tired travellers, and the bed was comfortable and firm. Pillows were fine. Bathroom was a little colourful but fixtures were new and bathroom was clean. Faucet needed tightening, towels were quite nice. China mugs and lots of tea bags, a fridge with milk provided....now, i never did see anyone in the restaurant, so we are not sure about it.
On the down side of the room, we had to close the windows (ground floor - there is actually a lot of crime and theft in New Zealand, especially car theft. Watch in parks and remote locations, tourist spots) and they (windows in New Z.) are not made very securely. Likewise, the patio door (called sliders there?) needed a good security feature. Here in Canada, we cut the blade off an old hockey stick and use the oak shaft to jam the door closed by putting it in the door track.. This was recommended to the owners; even the windows in subsequent holiday park cabins had windows jammed closed with sticks to keep out prowlers. This closed room plus no air-conditioning made for a close night, but the temperatures in New Zealand are cool at night compared to Fiji and Australia, where we had just been. We were fine that night. As a budget hotel, this seemed normal; our B&B in the Blue Mts, AUS had no air conditioning, nor our cabins, condo on the Sunshine Coast, nor holiday flats. Normal means fans not air/con ..this is quite often, we found as we travelled thru. We hung a china mug on the handle of the window latch to tell us if was being jiggled in the night,from the outside and hoped for the best. The neighbourhood is fine enough. Just go to Google maps and see the whole street from all angles, as we did before arriving. We were facing the 'courtyard ' (the yard by N. Americ. standards) and so had no traffic noise. The internet was available at a terminal right in the lobby, so we could stay connected to family any time of the day. Hotel was easy to find, and we were back often. Because our van rental was so late, we ended up looking elsewhere while we were stuck waiting, and in the end, we rented a van from the owners of the hotel. It took us 4 adults and a mountain of luggage around most of the North Island. Having the hotel close to the airport is a plus, and the owner himself drove us to the airport after being absent with his van for a week. rather than staying at the hotel..he even did the luggage lugging :) His wife, Kim, was very friendly and fairly professional; her email beforehand when I was worried about the comments re. the hotel helped to balance out the facts. Shuttle, low rates, large room, and then the car rental - all as a plus: yes, we would go back. With a hockey stick yp travel with.
Arrived a reluctant guest, left as a friend (they had to trust us as much as us them)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2008

This is a rundown motel at the intersection of two busy roads. You have to park on the muddy grass, the two table "restaurant" was never open when I was there, and the staff is unfriendly. The beds are horribly old with lots of hard springs to torture you all night. This walls and doors let all the noise in.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sydau2nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mangere hotels

Bay of Plenty
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2008

Very disappointed!! Photos on their web-site were so misleading, rooms looked nothing like them - in fact, they were horrible. The whole place needed a good clean - no remote for TV - connection door between rooms did not lock and when I approached the desk staff about it, he said 'just jam a screw in the lock'. Bathrooms were not 'en-suite' as advertised. Rooms had to share showers and toilets located down hall-ways. Did not receive wake-up call as requested - will not be staying here again and won't be recommending it either.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank fayduckling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2007

Trip Adviser won't let me rate this no stars so it gets a very generous one. Dirty, suspicious-looking staff, smelly, noisy. Our room overlooked the car park (doors a-slamming) and main road - earplugs needed. The bathroom was unpleasant, the room hadn't been painted in over 20 years, the furniture was cheap and broken, the tv barely worked, the bedsheets horrible looking, the door looked like a flea could push it over... There is a "restaurant" and "bar" - for our sins we ate there as there is little else in the vicinity. Awful! Dirty cutlery, dirty plates. Unfortunately I had a good view of the filthy kitchen with its grease covered walls, food on the floor and cockroach crawling up the door frame. This place should be closed down - do NOT stay here, spend an extra $20 and try the (full) Best Western next door or just sleep on the airport lounge floor, it can't be any worse and you'll probably get more sleep. Without doubt the worst place I have ever stayed in and that includes 5 months in Indian and SE Asian budget hotels. AVOID, even for one night.

  • Liked — Leaving in the morning
  • Disliked — Dirty, felt unsafe, the authorities should visit this place and close it down
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank raskolnikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunedin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2007

This place is dreadful . I was robbed while I slept. The intruder came into my room through the ranch slider , he either had a key or the door was faulty and easily opened. The person in the office really didn't care that I was left without money, passport, camera and no way to get out to the airport . I was going to stay two nights but without any money or credit cards on a Saturday morning I was stranded.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank cheerfulsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2007

This place is a dump. There is a Best Western next door that appeared to be much clearner.

I felt like I was sleeping in my dead gradmothers living room. The furniture is very warn along with the rest of the hotel.

For the price there are better options. I have a feeling this place does not get many repeat customers.

We found out about this place from the Lonely Planet book for NZ. This was one of the rare cases that we are not happy with the review in the book.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank DELTABLAHBLAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.4 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
1.0 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
1.0 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
2.2 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Airport Pacific Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Airport Pacific Inn

Property: Auckland Airport Pacific Inn
Address: 210 Kirkbride Road | Auckland International Airport, Mangere, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auckland Airport Pacific Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auckland Airport Pacific Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Airport Pacific Hotel Mangere
Auckland Airport Pacific Inn Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing