We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok apart from the ants”

Kiwi Airport Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kiwi Airport Backpackers
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Room was spacious and the location of the motel was OK in relation to the international terminal. Quiet too, no aircraft noise apart from the odd helicopter flight. One real drawback. We found that when we woke in the morning there were ants everywhere. In the beds and all over our belongings.
Spoiled what would have been a reasonable room at a reasonable rate

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Kiwi Airport Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 42 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed in a 4 bed dorm which was my own for the duration of my stay (2 nights). In fact only one other person shared the whole hostel block of around 40 beds for my first night! Bathrooms are what you would expect from a fairly low-standard motel, but for a backpackers this is amazing in my books! It's out of the way, and the bus to the city takes around 50 minutes. However for a $5 transfer fee from the airport (still a little begrudgingly paid as motel stays get it free..) and the fact that I arrived at nearly 1am was ideal for me. Decent kitchen facilities, though I don't think I would say that if the hostel were full. Nice lounge area and tv, was pretty clean. If you arrive late into Auckland airport and don't want to make the trip to the city immediately (it takes a little while) then I would recommend this place. Around $25NZD a night, not bad at all. I wouldn't want to stay much longer as it is so far from the city, so a good stop-gap :)

Room Tip: The 4 bed is the same price as the larger dorms, so may as well treat yourself!!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuslostinaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed in this hostel for three nights and therefore saw how the staff "cleaned" the rooms. They cleaned the floor. Thats it! I NEVER saw them changing the bed sheets and they never even had clean ones with them. I think the hostel managment tries to make most money with least effort. As most people just stay there one night, no one would notice that, because it LOOKS clean. Moreover the kitchen was poorly equipped! The shower always turned from hot to cold to hot to... automatically :( The shuttle bus to the airport costs 5$, not that much, but when you're already paying over 30$ per night and for the motel and hotel guests its free?!

The only good thing I can say about this hostel is, that the staff at reception was nice.

FAZIT: STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stubbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ne gaspillez pas votre argent, leur service est totalement irrespectueux de la santé de leur clientè...
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 323aurelie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
Thank caro c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016
Thank alpo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nur die Zimmer im Erdgeschoss haben eine Klimaanlage
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g_nterf641999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
2.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
0.0 mi away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
1.0 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
1.5 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
1.4 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi Airport Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi Airport Backpackers

Address: 144 McKenzie Road, Mangere, Auckland 2022, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mangere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Mangere
Price Range: $20 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kiwi Airport Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Kiwi Airport Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi Airport Backpackers Auckland/Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing