We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grubby sheets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Airport Skyway Lodge
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My friend and i stayed here and we found that its location is pretty poor,with no descent shops, parks or restaurants nearby,just a busy road leading to the airport.
Not alot to do inside either as the TV was only showing two channels and no films/dvd player to use either. Very boring..
We also had our bed sheets changed as they where grubby. A young german guy who was working their at the time, told us that they are only changed if they looked 'dirty'..:(
I would add that the kitchen was very clean and with good equipment and many freebies left by other travellers.
In my opinion you are far better being in the city to enjoy it at your pleasure, (at a cheaper better place)
The cheap local bus does regular Airport trips from/to the city.:)

Room Tip: Away from the road, or don't bother staying in my view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LondonLoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 109 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have stayed at this spot several times during our travel around New Zealand. It was the perfect place to stay before and after our short trips out of the country. One time we left some bags here and another time we left our car while we were traveling outside New Zealand. The owners/managers were also beyond pleasant and helpful when arranging our storage and airport shuttle needs.

We stayed in several different rooms here and have been pleased with all of them. There is a great looking spa and pool but we did not have a chance to use either since we were always on the go. We did use the laundry facilities several times and they were perfect.

Because this is a budge accommodation, most rooms have shared bathroom facilities but they were clean and sufficient for our needs.

Check out the produce stand across the street for some great deals on fresh produce, not to mention the wonderful strawberry ice cream cones!

Room Tip: We would avoid room 1 next time just because it is near the front entrance. Many folks have early f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhatBoundaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here thinking I'd have one night near the airport before finding a proper place to stay, I was presently surprised with what I found.

The owner picked me up from the airport at 2am and told me about the area on the way back, the owners are very friendly and make it a great place to stay, they know everything about the area and are happy to share it.

The hotel has a massive comfortable lounge area with sofas and dining tables, its kept very clean.

I'd defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoBeachForMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Very nice couple that run this homely lodge. The rooms were quite big and comfortable, we just came form backpacking in Fiji and the room felt like 5 star to us. They offer a $5 transfer to the airport that beats the $20 - $30 taxi.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maverick-Lamont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The lodge good a clean and nice place , clean swimming pool ,24 hr hot spa and good transport form airport on whole day !!!! And owner also friendly and helpful :) , very lovely !!!! Thank you /:)

剛剛到Auckland 機場,老闆就準時來接我到旅館,其實當時已經是晚上了。他很熱情和向我講解當地的事情。我很喜歡這時有游池,Spa ,地方也相當潔淨,我最喜歡廚房不但清潔用品也很齊全。我離開Nz 前一晚也住這些,這是貪他的接送,不用安排太多,很可靠。

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a great stopover.

We booked here as we were originally due to fly out early next morning & the Lodge is close to the airport. Scott kindly picked us up & dropped us off at the airport.

The lodge itself is old but clean and definitely has everything you need in a short stay. Scott is welcoming and kind, helpful & informative.

I would definitely stay there again. Thanks Scott.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ufoundlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The lodge isn't much to look at from the outside and on first appearances, it does look like it could do with a bit of maintence, however inside it is very clean and inviting. We were greeted by the owner, a lovely lady who quickly checked us in even though we were a few ours early, she also upgraded our room to one with a bathroom for no extra charge. The hotel offer a shuttle service to the airport which is $5 per person and unlimited internet which is $7 per person - which I think is very reasonable - we were able to download a few movies and tv programmes from iTunes to watch on the plane, as there was no cap.

The lounge area is lovely, big comfy seats, wood burning fire, large tv and dining area, they also offer a book exchange and plenty travel guides which is handy. There is a nice swimming area and jacuzzi (which we didn't use as it was cold and rainy in Auckland) but it looked lovely. The kitchen was well maintained and we were able to cook our own dinner. The lodge is also located conveniently within 5 minutes walk of a bakery, a few restaurants and a store.

The rooms are a nice size, clean, alarm clocked provided and nice shower. There was also tea and coffee making facilities.

The only small gripe we would have is that we booked our airport shuttle for 7.30am and in fact we didn't leave the Lodge until just before 8am - Scott the other owner had already left to take other customer to the airport. His wife didn't apologise and explained he would be back in ten minutes, but it was nearly 30 before he arrived - we were very close to booking a taxi ourselves. When Scott did arrive he was very apologetic and got us to the airport ASAP, the hosts are lovely, but I would say as a piece of feedback - if you agree to take guests at a certain time, especially when they have flights to catch - stick to the schedule or rearrange the time. This late drop off meant we were caught in all the major check in traffic and had to rush through to departures.

In all and all, I Would still highly recommend this place. Great for a one night stay before flights :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelchicka2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.1 mi away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
1.3 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
2.2 mi away
Ibis budget Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
2.6 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Skyway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Skyway Lodge

Address: 30 Kirkbride Road, Mangere, Auckland 1701, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mangere
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Hotel Class:2 star — Airport Skyway Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Airport Skyway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Skyway Hotel
Airport Skyway Lodge Auckland/Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing