We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST ACCOMMODATION I have ever stayed in!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Reviewed December 3, 2012

After 5 hours of travelling, arrived 2pm on the dot for check in, Reception was closed, sign on door "will be back in 5mins" Are you serious! 30mins later and the cleaner calling manager that we were waiting, manager finally arrived, no apology, and gave us a room next to busy main road. I dont think so sir, we changed to a quieter room location, however missing kitchen utensils, teatowels, no batteries in remote for tv and low on bathroom supplies. The pots and pans were still greasy and the kitchen smelt like mildew. I will never stay here again, and will make sure my friends and family never book in to this motel. What a disgrace to have "Kiwi" attached to this poor excuse for a motel.
You get what you pay for...cheap and nasty!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Char P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalend P, Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your reviews on your recent stay with us.

I had investigated this matter thoroughly and found that the staff went to help a disabled guest which took nearly 30 min to return to reception.

The room in which you stay was on renovation list which had been done now.

Please accept my apology and look forward to welcome you back into our new look rooms on your next visit to Auckland.

Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 392 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

The room was very spacious complete with kitchenette and large bathroom. Very quiet. And a great price with a basic breakfast included. The free car park while we were away was a bargain. Will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: 406 was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Room was clean but spartan, like kitchenette, but Bathroom had been re-done, huge shower area with constant hot water. Shuttle bus picked us up from Airport and on arriving asked whether we wanted shuttle bus in morning and a time was given to us to be at Reception. Realised that the dining room would not have opened for breakfast at 6.30am so asked if it was possible for us to be given cereal, milk, bread etc. so we could do our own but was told that was not possible. Now breakfast was included in our room deal and it is a simple matter of supplies being delivered to room in evening, if other motels/hotels can do that why not Kiwi.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel has long term parking of up to 2 weeks if you stay with them the rooms are very clean and comfortable thanks to housekeeping the reception staff were okay nothing great the hotel is not far from the motorways if you want to go somewhere. There is a 24 hr reception which is a plus the room price is reasonable and included breakfast and we would stay here again when we return to Auckland especially if we are flying out or in to Auckland.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatMacnz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Upon our late night arrival the staff couldnt be bothered to greet us. Female staff have attitude like they miss world and some staff have smiling issues and dont know how to welcome or greet their guest. i have booked with this hotel many times and have had the same issue always.The cleaners and room services staff were much friendlier and helpful then the front desk people.


The management needs to look into educating their staffs in customer service. Wearing the uniform and looking smart wont make you a provisional if you dont have the right attitude.

I have one last booking in December and i do hope to see some changes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shesal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed at this motel for the night before leaving on a 3 1/2 month trip, then again on our return because it was cheaper to stay the night there than fly home to Napier with Air NZ on that particular day.

On both occasions the staff were friendly, helpful and prompt with the shuttle. On the second trip we had time to try the complimentary continental breakfast which was fresh, a reasonable selection and it did the trick - we had much worse experiences with complimentary breakfasts in other more expensive hotels throughout Europe.

The room was large, tidy and clean. You wouldn't say immaculate but for a motel room it is very reasonable, and the cooking facilities are a bonus, though if you're planning to use them you need a car to get to the supermarket. The complex is pretty quiet and you can get a good nights sleep - though it's an airport motel so guests are coming and going at all hours - but every seasoned traveller should take ear plugs anyway.

The free 14 days parking, free shuttle and breakfast (within time period) is a great asset to this place, and the shuttle driver was good for a laugh. Recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here on our way back from Thailand and had exceptionally friendly service, even though we arrived late at night. Complimentary shuttle to and from airport is a great bonus. Rooms have been recently refurbished and is spacious and clean. Very comfortable bed. Continental breakfast is basic, but great for the price as it was included in our very low room rate. And you can easily upgrade the breakfast. Good start to the day in relaxing environment. This is our second stay with the Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel and they have been consistent in providing excellent service. Previous stay was with family, giving us adjoining hotel style rooms and this time we had fully self contained. Good to know they have versatile options.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VegasFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0 mi away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
2.3 mi away
Ibis budget Auckland Airport
0.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
2.7 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
1.3 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel

Address: 144 McKenzie Road, Mangere, Auckland 2022, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Price Range: $84 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! We're delighted you are considering a stay at the Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel. You'll be pleased you did - Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel located within 5 km to Auckland Airport and 17 km to Auckland City. Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel is the perfect choice for your accommodation needs to catch that early flight, stay after a long flight or visit friends or relatives near Auckland Airport and Manukau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel Mangere
Kiwi International Airport Mangere
Hotel Kiwi International Airport
Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing