We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Excellent Hotel for an overnight stay near airport. Rooms basic yet functional and clean. Cafe food passable, nothing wonderful, but in my package a free breakfast was included. Free shuttle to and from the airport excellent .

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the2ndhasapulse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 392 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2011

stayed here as a cheapie option as we had an early flight the next day. There was a shuttle, and it was on time, which was the most important thing. But -
The bed was broken in the middle
The sheets were bizarre - polyester that had been ironed so hot they were like crunchy plastic
There was brown....matter all over the bathroom walls.
The loo was filthy, and we wore jandals in the shower....enough said.

Avoid like the plague.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ripshitandbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Really cheap place to stay which is nice and close to the airport. Room was shockingly dirty and have never stayed anywhere this dirty. Carpets needed to be taken away and dumped. Curtains are thin with massive floodlight outside so room was like daytime all night long. Very strong wet musty smell coming from the rooms and corridors didn't help.

Restaurant food was fine, even know it took a long time to arrive and order was wrong.

If you can get it for under $60 a night and want to make use of the free shuttle/parking then it's hard to beat. If you have your own transport I'd stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akkadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

we stayed 11th may and again 17th may,1double 2 singles in room,very tidy,good continental breakfast.could have more seating in room but could not fault it.4 adults for 95.00 nz including breakfast.72.00 aust,would i stay there again bloody oath

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jeanjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

My plane arrived in late evening as scheduled, phoned for pick up shuttle but staff would answer phone. When I finally got them was told domestic runs were now closed I had to get myself around to international for a pick up. As there were no taxis running I had to walk in pouring rain with my luggage. Then had to wait for incoming flight for more people to be picked up and taken to hotel. Two and half hrs later finally checked into my room. Which was pretty average.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kuriPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

This place was dirt cheap and felt like a no frills dormitory, but that was OK because while planning our trip, all we wanted was a place to stay for one night near the airport after expecting to arrive in Auckland that night after driving up from Waitomo (after two weeks traveling all over New Zealand) for a flight out the next day. We had already spent 2+ days in Auckland on the front end of the trip, so we weren't expecting to do much that day, but as it turned out, we had 5-6 hours to kill so we drove out to Piha Beach. Thus, staying at Kiwi was entirely unnecessary and could've stayed in a more central location, but I would stay there again if I had an early morning flight out and didn't care much about the accomodations.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank TedW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Free airport shuttle 24/7, breakfast, the cheapest motel we have found. Good value for money.
Not too clean (food scraps on the floor). Some of the dishes in the kitchen were broken.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krivami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0 mi away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
2.3 mi away
Ibis budget Auckland Airport
0.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
2.7 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
1.3 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel

Address: 144 McKenzie Road, Mangere, Auckland 2022, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Price Range: $84 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! We're delighted you are considering a stay at the Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel. You'll be pleased you did - Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel located within 5 km to Auckland Airport and 17 km to Auckland City. Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel is the perfect choice for your accommodation needs to catch that early flight, stay after a long flight or visit friends or relatives near Auckland Airport and Manukau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel Mangere
Kiwi International Airport Mangere
Hotel Kiwi International Airport
Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing