We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed sheets needed change”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Reviewed April 3, 2014

One recent reviewer was right about the noise when you stay at the ground floor. You can hear loud sound from people at upstairs. Then at bed time, we found the bed sheets smelled like sweat. So we asked for a new set of sheets and changed the bedding by ourselves. The mattress was sagging. The room was clean, but barely decorated. It could be rated as a 2 star motel if it were located in the USA.

Room Tip: Higher floor is quieter. Check the bed sheets once you get in the room. So that you can request fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 435 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed here the day of our arrival to New Zealand and the day before we left. The first time we were in an upstairs room and it was an OK stay.

The second time, we had a ground room, and it was terrible. The construction between the two floors seems to be thin plywood nailed to widely-spaced floor joists. You can hear every noise from the people above---talking, bathroom, and walking, which sounds like THUMP-SQUEAK, THUMP-SQUEAK, THUMP-SQUEAK.

I would only stay at this motel again if I were assured of an upstairs room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XenophonAnabasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Definitely clean rooms with reasonably good amenities and modern bathrooms, but the bed was just so uncomfortable that I had to knock off a star (not only was the mattress sagging and unsupportive, but the heating pad they had on it didn't really fit, so the plastic wires and controls came into the inner portion of the mattress where one sleeps and kept poking me awake when I shifted positions through the night). Other star knock down is for the noise level--it's right next to a busy street, so there's a lot of traffice noise; I'd recommend asking for a room on the top level in the inner area of the motel to try to avoid the noise.

Otherwise the hotel staff was nice enough & the rooms are equipped with microwave, fridge, stove top & basic utensils, so no complaints on that front. The hotel is also right in front of a great Kebabs place that's a hole-in-the-wall but quite yummy!

Room Tip: Upper level (2-story motel) & ask for a room on the inner portion (away from reception area) so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackSparrow22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Beautifully clean and tidy, comfortable bed, comfortable lounge chairs, helpful staff but road noise can be a bit of an issue Fri night. Was quiet on Sun am though which was important to us after a late night out at a concert.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room which was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I would never ever stay again based on the customer service from the Indian lady at the front counter.

It is a good location and not a bad motel however the Indian lady should re consider what she does for a job

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slim008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

This was the perfect location for us as we turned in our van nearby and the airport was just minutes away. It was an older motel and could use some updates for which we would put new mattresses at the top. The staff was friendly and ever so helpful and we got to do a load of laundry!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here for our first two nights in New Zealand and it was exactly as described. We had a deluxe studio which was spacious and clean and had everything you needed. The people who ran it were very friendly and helpful and let us use their courtesy bus to pick up our hire car from the airport. Very handy for buses into the centre of Auckland if you don't want to drive. Would definitely recommend for an airport hotel stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HermajestyStHelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.4 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1.8 mi away
Ibis budget Auckland Airport
2.2 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
1 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
0.5 mi away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge

Address: 205 Kirkbride Road, Mangere, Auckland 2022, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mangere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mangere
#5 Business Hotel in Mangere
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
Price Range: $104 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 4 minutes from the Auckland International Airport, New Zealand, Best Western BKs Pioneer Motor Lodge offers you quality, affordable accommodation. As our guest, you’ll enjoy our 24 hour courtesy airport shuttle service for the International and Domestic terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bks Pioneer Motor Hotel Mangere
Bks Pioneer Hotel
Bks Pioneer Motel
Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge Auckland/Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing