We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally found an AKL Airport hotel we'll return to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Finally found an AKL Airport hotel we'll return to”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

After years of staying 1-2 nights near the airport on our way out of NZ (we live overseas), we have finally found a place we'll use again next time. The rooms are spotless (rarely seen such clean rooms, even in 5* hotels), and the service was wonderful - friendly, efficient, nothing too much trouble. Free WiFi, Free shuttle to airport, genuine kindness towards our kids, free parking right outside the room etc. Our room was like an apartment/mini-suite - living room/dining table/ktchenette and kids' beds in large front room, and then a separate bedroom with queen size bed at the back. Great shower in very clean bathroom.
We were too tired to go out to eat the first night, so they gave us menus for nearby restaurants which we could call and have delivered direct to the room. They even recommended which specific dishes were good! (Chicken Saghwala was delicious, btw).
Next morning, we were able to have breakfast in the room - toaster and plates/bowls/cutlery etc provided. Very handy. Can also have a room service breakfast delivered, but we didn't do that.

The property looks freshly done-up and the rooms nice and big. But the real plus point is the staff - cleaning, reception, IT help for getting WiFi to work on our computer, and they guy who brought us to our room and helped with bags, and drove us to airport. Just great.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellTravelledChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rukhi P, Manager at Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Hi there, it was so nice to meet you and your lovely children and thank you so much for your kind comments. It is our pleasure to provide great service to our guests :) Great to hear everything was to your liking. Glad you enjoyed the chicken sagwala too, our guests really seem to enjoy the indian restaurant down the road ;)

Look forward to seeing you again.

Your hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    192
    68
    22
    8
See reviews for
89
195
36
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NEW ZEALAND
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the motel for one night recently and loved it, The room was excellent and clean and the staff were all friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable and the room was warm. We were within walking distance of resturants and cafes and were also close to the airport. The free shuttle service was excellent and made things easy. Thankyou very much to the hosts and the stuff for making us feel so welcome. You will see us again

Room Tip: Get the rooms with a spa they are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJoynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rukhi P, Manager at Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Hi there, thank you so much for the review! We love to hear from our guests, especially such great feedback, which we love to share with the staff.

As you mentioned, there are a number of nice conveniences located nearby, although some people seem to miss these.. so just a suggestion to other travellers: please ask any of our knowledgeable reception staff for some helpful tips and recommendations (we now also have a map on our website).

Glad you found everything to your liking and see you next time :)

Your hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsbeaMsbea
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Really nice place to stay pre flight. Spacious rooms with spa baths. Really nice helpful people run the place, and they also provide the free shuttle to the airport. would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsbeaMsbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Hi, thank you so much for your kind review :) Glad you found everything to your liking and enjoyed our services. See you next time!

Your hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papeete, French Polynesia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My search: for this overnight stay between 2 flights, I needed the internet, if possible free and airport pick up
Location: close to airport, to the Holiday Inn and local small restaurants
Airport pick-up: 24/24, free of charge, just dial 52 at the courtesy phones located by the "i" and wait at gate 4
Internet: free 200 MB, wi-fi
Rooms: very clean studio room (almost crispy clean), the rooms have been remodeled since my last stay, a year ago, new great bedding with extra pillows and blanket, well equipped kitchenette, coffee/tea/chocolate and fresh milk, large new TV
Staff: courteous and helpful
Weakness: the soundproofing, you can clearly hear people talking outside and the heavy traffic, which can rapidly destroy plans of "grasse matinee"
Will I stay there again: definitely

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are better if you have heavy bags (no elevator to the upper floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maramanocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Hi there, cheers for your nice review. Glad you enjoyed our services, we aim to provide executive quality rooms with all the conveniences, at an affordable price. Our bedding and room interiors have been upgraded, including LCD TVs and luxury triple sheeting, as shown in our new photographs (viewers please ignore the 18 or so old photos posted by other travellers... unfortunately we cannot delete them from our own page!). The units towards the back corner of our property are usually a bit quieter and we can try and fit you in there if requested.

See you again next time :)

Your hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Everything spotlessly clean and staff top-notch. We stayed one night at each end of our overseas holiday. Not only did they transport us to and from the airport but looked after our car for free while we were away for 2 weeks. Given the parking prices at the airport it was well worth the stay just for that.
The only disappointment was the lack of a decent restaurant nearby for an evening meal.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs make sure you ask for a ground-floor room as there was no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beauvoir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Hello, thank you for your review! Glad you found our facilities to your liking and enjoyed our free shuttle service and long term parking :) There are a few dining options within 2 minutes walking distance. We recommend Indian Express who also do Chinese. Our guests have also enjoyed the Bar & Baa and the Hotel Grand Chancellor nearby. You will see a couple of restaurants in the motels across the road from us but we have had many complaints from our guests about the food quality so I would not recommend those.

See you next time :)

Your hosts,
Rukhi and Ramesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

The walls are made of a very thin layer of probably cardboard and plaster. I could hear the kids next door though they were not being loud. Every little knock could be heard. I dont blame the neighbours but you can feel how thin the walls are. I knocked on it and was surprised how thin and weak it felt.

However, the room was clean, spacious and the spa was nice. We stayed in a spa studio.

The heating installed in the bathroom blows out super hot air that felt dangerous. There is no temperature or air flow control. No heater and aircon in the room, though which was odd. It didnt bother us as we were travelling during autumn. Best to check if you're there for summer.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubblery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rukhi P, Owner at Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Hi, thank you for your review and feedback, it is helpful. I am very sorry to hear you had noise problems through our walls. Normally we are able to ask any guests to be mindful of their noise if others complain about it. Additionally, we have hush-glass installed to decrease road noise.

All rooms are equipped with a portable fan heater located in the cupboard, in addition to the wall mounted heater in the bathroom which you mentioned. This fan heater is fully adjustable in both fan speed and temperature. We will try to make the location of the heater more clear so it is easier for guests to find. If you would like a room with full air-conditioning/heat-pump you can simply book one of our new "Superior" rooms for only about $10 extra.

Glad you otherwise enjoyed the room and hope to see you another time :)


Your hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

To kick start our holiday and be closer to the airport for our morning flight, we decided to stay here. It was clean and had everything we needed. We were upstairs and furthest from the road - which is constantly used by trucks. The bed was comfy and the spa bath was fun. Very friendly and helpful staff. Was able to leave car there and they dropped us off and picked us up at the end of our holiday

Room Tip: away from road to get a quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rukhi P, Owner at Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Hi, thank you for your kind review. We pride ourselves on great service, sparkling clean rooms, and extra value. Well worth a few extra dollars for a spa bath room, glad you enjoyed it :)


Your hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
0.4 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
2.2 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
0.9 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
1.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge

Property: Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge
Address: 205 Kirkbride Road, Mangere 2022, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mangere
#5 Business Hotel in Mangere
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 4 minutes from the Auckland International Airport, New Zealand, Best Western BKs Pioneer Motor Lodge offers you quality, affordable accommodation. As our guest, you’ll enjoy our 24 hour courtesy airport shuttle service for the International and Domestic terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bks Pioneer Motor Hotel Mangere
Bks Pioneer Hotel
Bks Pioneer Motel
Best Western BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge Auckland/Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing