We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Motel I've Ever Stayed At!”

Airport Garden Inn Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Airport Garden Inn Hotel
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Reviewed January 7, 2008

I can't warn you enough about this place. The rooms were worn down and very unattractive. There was a big tear in our curtains, and in my Mom's room there was a tile missing in the ceiling, causing a big draft. Service was shocking. Our maid left us a nasty note about keeping our room clean! (we did some laundry and had it on the couch). The t.v. was very small. Overall the Airport Garden Inn was very uncomfortable and unappealing. It is not central to any shopping or restaurants, and it really isn't that close to the aiport. We switched to the Ventura which is closer to the airport, new and excellent rooms and service for only slightly more money.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WamDy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 66 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2007

We stayed just the one night & found the value for money spent was very reasonable. We've just travelled through UK & Europe & this place must have been a 10th of the cost for a similar standard. Transport to & from the airport was also free. In England we were paying more than 3 times the cost of this hotel just to get to the airport. Staff were quite friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Brent61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2007

We select this hotel as we had good experience in other Best Western inns during our weeks tour of New Zealand. Though the advertised room rate was $80, we were charged $120 on account of this being a 3 bed room and a double was not available. The room was cold, and dingy, with badly stained and warn carpets, and a bathroom more inkeeping with a 2-star establishment. As we had paid for the room without viewing it first and it was only one night, we decided to grin and bear it. My comments on checking out that the room was of a very poor standard recived a "sorry about that" reply (in other words
"we won't see you again anyway, so why should we care"). My advise to
any one seeking accommodation near the airport is to try the neighbouring establishments first.

Stayed: June 2007
Thank Globetrotter44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2006

We stayed there for 1 night since our flight was leaving the next day. They advertised laundry facilities but the dryer didn't work and it took 5 hours to dry our clothes. Reception did not help us at all with the dryer situation. The room was very very stinky. The shower nozzle barely worked (it must have been built in the 60's). There were also loud arguments heard from our patio from the neighbors behind the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to others, did not have a good experience. There must be better hotels by the airport and I would suggest looking at those. The only good thing was that there was an airport shuttle.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2006

Old-fashioned and a bit dingy, everything works ok and it's quiet for a one-night stop after a long flight. Food's ok, too. You wouldn't want to stay the extra night, though.

5  Thank Chorizogolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2006

We booked this hotel as it was priced reasonably and offered a free pick up from the airport. The hotel seemed to be quite a distance from the airport considering it is advertised as an airport hotel, but the free pick up makes up for this. I found the staff helpful, they let us use their phone to sort out a hire car.
The decor was a bit dated throughout the hotel, the pond seemed fine to me! I found the room to be clean and comfortable although there was a rather strange and unpleasant smell that I could not place. On the whole I would say you get what you pay for so don't expect the Ritz!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Suzannah_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
327
Reviewed January 11, 2005

Admittedly, we chose this hotel for its low price (about $90 NZD in January 2005). It's close to the airport, which is a plus, but their shuttle only runs once per hour. The whole facility needs major remodling and updating. Our hallway and room was musty, with mold patches on the walls and peeling wallpaper everywhere. The fake silk plants hung in the rooms and halls did little to cover up the tasteless decor. The outside gardens were not well maintained and I felt sorry for the goldfish desperately trying to thrive in an algae-infested, dirty pond along the outside walkway. The television remote did not work, and the bathroom was mildewy. The furniture was cheap and rickety. The washing machine, though free to guests, was old and required a call to maintenence to get it to work properly (and then it stopped four times due to load imbalance). The doors to the rooms were hollow and cheap (with inadequate locks), so we heard every word from our neighbors six doors down the hall. So much for getting some sleep before our long flight! Most disgustingly, after 5 minutes in our room, a trail of dozens of ants had made their way to my bag of muffins, which I had placed on the bedside stand. Gross. Creepy. A mistake for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
2.0 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
0.6 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
1.7 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
2.2 mi away
Ibis budget Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Garden Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Garden Inn Hotel

Address: 10 Tidal Road, Mangere, Auckland 2022, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mangere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Price Range: $51 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Garden Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Airport Garden Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Garden Hotel Mangere
Best Western Auckland
Airport Garden Mangere
Airport Garden Inn Hotel Auckland/Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing