We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to visit if staying in nearby hotels”

Villa Maria Auckland Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
$93.12*
and up
Wine Makers Experience from Auckland
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Mangere
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our Auckland Cellar Door is open 7 days for wine sales, tastings and winery tours. Winery Tours depart from the Cellar Door at 11am and 3pm daily (Group bookings are available by prior arrangement).
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Need to visit if staying in nearby hotels”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nice Place and good sampling of wines

Good food with matching wines.
We can also buy good quality wines to take home at subsidised prices....

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    55
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very rude and unprofessional service”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

After 'treating ' my parents to a visit to Villa Maria before they boarded the plane back to the UK, they left Auckland with a bitter taste in their mouth. Can not describe how rude the staff were; we felt as though we were intruding and were pressured to finish our food and drinks as quickly as we could. Our bill arrived before our drinks, and half way through our platters we were summoned to pay the bill. At no point did any of the staff make us feel welcome, smile or display any niceties whatsoever. Needless to say we will not return, nor buy any of Villa Maria's wine from the supermarket - never before have we received such awful customer service. Take note Villa Maria and sort it out!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank andygraham63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMariaEstate, Manager at Villa Maria Auckland Winery, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi Andy,
Thanks for providing us with this valuable feedback, we're very sorry to hear about your poor experience. We've taken note of the points you've raised and spoken to our staff about how to be better in the future. We hope if you decide to visit again, you'll find your visit all the better for the feedback you've given us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“...Left with 3 bottles :)”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Winery itself was beautiful. We did have some trouble finding Villa Maria, but it was worth it when we found it. Missed the wine tour because they were scheduled times, if the person that greeted us had indicated that the tour was leaving straight away, we would have joined them, as that was what we were there for. But because we were not made aware of this, we missed the tour and then we were informed after our wine tasting that we had missed the wine tour and that there wouldn't be another one for a couple of hours. The host of our wine tasting, did seem very knowledgeable and she did let us try a couple of extra's, then helped us chose our bottles of wines. We even brought 2 Villa Maria Wine glasses. Unfortunate that we missed the tour, but still enjoyed the visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermaid Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rude!!!!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a good few hours spare before our International flight and found this vineyard by accident and driving in we were impressed ( as you have to drive through a Industrial area to get there).
When we walked in we were unsure of where to go but walked into the restaurant area and was approached by a lady who asked us if we had a reservation, we mentioned no and that we weren't here for lunch but to have a few drinks/tapas and the response was pretty much you have to make a reservation it is so busy blah blah blah and we replied advising that we want to try some of the wine, not the wine tasting as that area was packed but wanted to actually buy a few glasses or a bottle. Whilst talking to us trying to get us to go to the wine tasting area we were slowly being ushered out which was embarrassing and rude.

Who gets told they cannot buy a glass of wine at a winery? After this we left and will never bother trying the wine because the experience was ruined by some cranky waitstaff and being the last memory of Auckland I thought I would share

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Charek07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Paradise lost!!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Give yourself a treat and indulge in a long lazy lunch on a beautiful sunny day!! Staff were exceptional making guests feel very comfortable. Food was delectable!

Helpful?
Thank Marian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Maria Auckland Winery also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Mangere, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Villa Maria Auckland Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing